Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
71
4.6 out of 5 stars
How to Solve Cryptic Crosswords
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 June 2017
Really good book - gradual introduction of tips and hints, with plenty of practice crosswords to do. Good explanations of answers, so you can build up your skills
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
Arrived very quickly and is just as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2017
Good for a beginner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2003
If you want to learn how to solve these "bizarre" crosswords, this is a very good book. What I particularly liked was that after you had been taught a certain technique, there was a whole crossword devoted to this particular type of clue. After a few chapters there was then a revision chapter and revision crosswords, covering all sorts of clues taught to that point. A brilliant introduction to solving cryptics.
0Comment| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2003
The way this book leads you through the minefield of the different types of clue gives you the confidence and skills to have a successful attempt at a "real" cryptic crossword. A very good book for taking the interested beginner into the fascinating and totally-absorbing world of cryptic crosswords. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 November 2002
The learning curve of this book is pitched just right. Easily the best feature of the book are the sample puzzles, with answers explained on the following pages. There are 2 difficulty levels, tabloid and broadsheet, and this works well.
He explains the various tricks of the trade clearly and concisely.
Recommended.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
This is the book that helped me to crack cryptic crossroads - before I worked my way through it, I was completely mystified and cross when I failed to understand the clues. Now they are my favourite type of puzzle which gives me a lot of satisfaction when I complete one. I bought this for someone else who loves crosswords but doesn't know how to tackle the cryptics. Buy it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2016
Received yesterday as promised. Looks interesting. Im sure it will be a good help. Sarah
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
Bought as a present but have been told it is an excellent guide to solving cryptic and a good size to take on journeys as fits easily into a handbag or pocket.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
Good book easy to follow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)