Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 5 November 2014
This beautifully crafted film perfectly illustrates the hazards - nay foolishness - in an older man's infatuation with a younger woman, especially one from a completely different background. I only have to think of the soundtrack for eyes to get teary. I won't say more for fear of spoiling the plot, but I just love the film and having worn out my VHS, I have finally invested in a Blu Ray. No problems with the quality or soundtrack. What a master Truffaut was!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2015
An excellent thoughtful film which is a pleasure to watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2014
Brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2011
I agree with most of the other reviews - this is Truffaut at his best, or close to it, and shows almost all the skills he acquired from Hitchcock, not least casting. Francoise Dorleac ( who was Deneuve's elder sister, and who died tragically) inhabits this fragile sixties world as few others have, and Desailly, with minimum change of facial expression, instantly embodies self-importance and vulnerability. But this is the worst black and white DVD transfer I have ever seen - unstable in contrast, focus, and failing even to maintain constant black or white within a single scene. I saw the original UK release in the cinema. This is a travesty.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERon 8 June 2007
La Peau Douce/The Soft Skin is a very pleasant surprise indeed. There's a tendency in much of Truffaut's later work to be over-literate, often throwing in narration that plays more like a prose recital than thought or dialog to convey what he should be doing without it, but there's none of that here. Instead, its illicit romance is told in purely cinematic terms and telling details and, despite the potentially hackneyed material, plays beautifully, whether its the title sequence of two hands caressing in the darkness, a mix-up with room keys as a prelude to seduction or the kitten and the breakfast tray that would make such a memorable comeback in Day for Night.

There's humor and humanity there too, and the hero's painful fallibility on his disastrous dirty weekend in Reihms is one of the great don't-know-whether-to-laugh-or-to-cry moments. The ending seems a bit contrived and unlikely despite being based on an actual incident, but he somehow manages to pull that off too.

Sadly, while the previous UK DVD issue from Tartan included archive interviews with Truffaut and Francois Dorleac, these have been dropped for Cinema Club's DVD, although it does includes an excellent commentary from co-writer Jean-Louis Richard.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2016
This is really a rare true classic. So sad that FD could have made much more movies. The movie is very fantastic. I've watched it 6-7 times and never get tired of it. This one is from the innocent beautiful 60s. 1964. When the world was not spoiled yet. On Danish television they hav shown it almost 8 times the last 5 years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2006
This film is a wonderful exploration of what it means to have an affair with someone and the consequences of that decision. Pierre Lachenay the central character begins an affair with an air hostess on a flight from Paris to Lisbon, the interesting thing about his relationship with the girl is that it is based not upon common ground (he is fascinated by literature, quite willing to discourse for hours in a cafe to her about it, she is not having not even read his books and only knowing him as a tv personality) but upon the excitement of mutual attraction. Truffaut realises that what Pierre really wants is not a soulmate, but a woman to enliven his life, a change. To write more about it would be to spoil it, and Pierre's choice comes back rightly to haunt him, leading him to acts of emotional cruelty towards his wife and to a brusqueness that eventually dooms him, but Truffaut here captures something of the quality of sudden love and also something of its blindnesses- in truth Pierre is less in love with Nicole than with an idea of Nicole. Altogether this film is remarkable because it tells you all this but remains subtle and thoughtful- if you are interested in human relationships and how they work and should work, this film will give you confirmation of how subtle and selfish the human heart and mind can be.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2003
Truffaut filmed La Peau Douce immediately after the international success of Jules at Jim. Released at the heyday of the nouvelle vague, critics and audiences panned the film as a futile resort to bourgeois classicism after the unconventional antics of his previous masterwork.
They could not have been more mistaken. Time has treated La Peau Douce better than most of his later efforts. It is definitely a triumph of direction with each scene being carefully planned and meticulously structured, not unlike a Hitchcock movie. In practise, Truffaut transposes Hitchcock's mechanisms of suspense into a seemingly trivial story concerning the illicit love affair of a distinguished editor/author with a younger stewardess and its withering consequences. The characters and the milieu of the story are effortless evoked, but the main joy is derived from the visual inventiveness that Truffaut shows in scene after scene. It's a triumph of a purely cinematic mode of expression, which Truffaut was one of the few who had really mastered it.
The DVD does full justice to the film with its excellent transfer and its very insightful commentary (in French with English subtitles).
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2010
Having been influenced by fellow Amazon customers to buy this, I had two categories of problems. The first was that it's just not compelling cinema. Even speeding through a lot of parts it was interminable. The second category of problem was technical and I'm not sure who to blame for this. But due to the complexities of living in the Czech Republic and having this delivered to a friend temporarily working in the UK, I'm stuck with it. The technical problem was that the dvd stuck in about six locations of the movie. Usually I had to completely exit the film and come back to a rough approximation of a spot beyond the sticking point. Maybe I was very unlucky and got the only bad copy. Maybe there are a few more bad ones. Having this kind of problem is my main fear of buying used. But I've never had a problem with used dvd films.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)