Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

2.1 out of 5 stars
9
2.1 out of 5 stars
Snow White (2012) DVD
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.31+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 August 2017
An interesting take on the great old story, but so badly done it was hard work to watch and did not get any better. Very disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 September 2014
If this movie didn't have 'Snow White' as the title, or if the misleading picture on the DVD's cover, you probably wouldn't be here looking at the reviews now. It's a very strange one, with some awful acting, and bares no resemblance to the classic fairy tale. As for being certified a 15, it should probably have been given a 12.

The only similarities of the fairy tale here is that the leading lady is called Snow, and she has a nasty stepmother, that is all. Wisely, prolific talent Eric Roberts' name has been put on the cover, he plays Snow's dad, but his appearances are so brief and infrequent that if you put all of his screen time together, it would probably only be just over five minutes of footage.

The plot sounds interesting on paper, troublesome young girl clashes with her demented stepmother, the latter is so jealous of her relationship with her father that she packs her off to an isolated discipline camp. There she meets seven fellow teenagers, and learns about a series of unsolved murders that took place there, and now it looks like the murderer has returned. But in reality, whilst you'll probably be able to see it through the end, it is very slow, tiresome, and becomes so ridiculous towards the end that I didn't really care anymore.

The acting from Maureen McCormick as Snow's stepmother is hammier than a sandwich, and just not scary, or even threatening in the slightest. The teenagers aren't much better, although Snow actress Shanley Caswell is okay considering the poor script. The end result is an oddball movie that just isn't for your older teen or adult, but more suitable to younger ones to give them their first taste of horror. Perhaps they were the targeted audience?, but the certificate and cover suggests otherwise.

The fact that it is almost shot almost like an 'adult' movie only adds to the comedy for this farce. It really isn't very good at all, but as I said, the younger ones might just enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
What the other people who have reviewed this product probably haven't noticed, is that the feature film itself is a 12. This means the language is going to be pretty much clean, and there isn't going to be a lot of violence, or blood.
The box states "Overall category raised to (15) due to additional material being classified as a higher certificate than the main feature".

Keeping in mind that the film itself is a 12, it does slasher horror well. As I said in my title, it's a great film to show to your little ones to judge whether or not they're mature enough to handle something else.
Yes, it's creepy in places... yes, the camera work isn't the best during "night" scenes and it is light, but that's part of what makes it so great for kids.
The film has a lot of parallels with the fairy tale - Snow's mum dies, dad remarries the wicked step-mother, Eve, who sends Snow off to a camp where a kid was killed 25 years ago, and it's now a discipline camp for troubled teens. Snow meets Cole (Who makes a joke about being Prince Charming), and the cute moments between them are cute.

Yes, the twist at the end might not make much sense to some people, but without revealing too much, it will allow your kids to feel some measure of safety afterwards, hopefully without the nightmares some are prone to (like my little sister!).

I haven't watched the extra's on the disk yet so I can't comment on them, but I bought the film in the full knowledge that it was rated a 12 and I was not disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2012
Plot. Teenage girl is forced to go to a discipline camp. Years earlier the camp was witness to several unsolved murders. Has the killer returned.
This sounded interesting. Putting the fantasy creation into a new situation and a horror one at that. Sadly it wasn't to be and the film was nothing short of being dire rubbish.
There's Eric Roberts in this, except it's like 5 minutes worth and he looks like he's asleep for most of that time. The box says it's a certificate 15, but it's really a PG13. So that's going to limit the amount of blood on screen to zero. The title of this has been changed from the longer Snow White A Deadly Summer to just Snow White. Probably a marketing ploy to sell this to people who don't want it.
It's an awful film and the way the plot is played out the whole thing becomes meaningless at the end with the twist some idiot decided that would be clever. It was stupid and unnecessary. This film isn't much of a slasher. People die but we hardly see anything. Finally for a film found in the horror section, there's no horror at all.
Extras nil just a trailer. UK Release.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
I had anticipated a modern/gothic take on the Snow White legend. This set out to be that, and that promise lasted for nearly 5 minutes. After that time, a non-existent storyline, ham acting and plain stupidity - coupled with a 'Dallas Flashback' finish - meant that this film was a complete waste of time and money. I suggest that you buy yourself a coffee with the price - it will give longer-lasting enjoyment.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2012
Brought this other day worst film i have ever seen it was so boring, the acting was terrible was no special effects or anything wanted to turn off whole way through managed to get to end but was almost asleep at this point. I brought it thinking would be horror version of snow white with killing and blood. Well was total oppisite no blood at all you dont really even see any murders jus a scene when they are laying dead and that is it. When its meant to be day or night time in the film you get the same still image of the night or day and its the same cutscene everysingle time was driving me nuts, when its meant to be nighttime and they do show the dark sky and moon when it cuts back to acting it is still daytime or still very light. I dont see how its classified a horror and a certificate 15 no way. i advise anyone who wants to buy this not to as is a total waste of money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
I dont know if I liked this or not it was a really weird movie

Its one of those TV movies that watch because it looks interesting but then you watch it and think wow thats really bad acting and what the hell is really happening.

Wont spoil it but the ending was weird but not even a good weird.

Guess Ill have to watch again to see if I change my mind

This is not anywhere near the Snow White story that you will know I have now Idea why its called Snow White??
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
i bought this film because the cover looked interesting . But don't know who the girl is on the cover. And the film was not interesting at all. I found the film boring. And did not get the ending at all. This dvd is a waste of money. I wish i had not bothered. Do not buy. Waste of money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
i really enjoyed watching this film i found it great. big thank you to the seller for this item i recommend this to friends and family and all horror fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)