FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Snake Ropes has been added to your Basket
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Snake Ropes Paperback – 13 Dec 2012

4.2 out of 5 stars 67 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£8.99
£0.01 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£8.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Sceptre (13 Dec. 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1444737856
  • ISBN-13: 978-1444737851
  • Product Dimensions: 13.1 x 2.2 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (67 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 467,930 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

Jess Richards's debut is a cornucopia of secrets and surprises, written in a bright, sassy style. The author is exuberantly inventive in creating a bitter-sweet world of magical transformations. (Independent)

Visceral, evocative . . . haunted by the influence of Angela Carter and Margaret Atwood. (Observer)

A terrific story, quirky and wildly original. (Joanne Harris)

Richards handles her ambitions with aplomb. SNAKE ROPES is partly an extended meditation on trauma and healing, and the trauma is handled so well that the reader is exactly as upset as she needs to be to follow through . . . SNAKE ROPES reminds us that the act of storytelling is in itself a form of resolution. (Guardian)

Richards skilfully alternates between Mary and Morgan and their stories, touching on themes such as the transmission of folk wisdom, the creation of myths and violence against women. (Financial Times)

From the islanders' subtle creole to their myths of sea and sky and earth, Jess Richards has nurtured a remarkable community, their home glimpsed in the sea-mist like a new Avalon. Angela Carter or Laura Esquivel would have been proud of this. (We Love This Book)

A mystical book where a harsh self-sufficient lifestyle meets myths, legends and magic . . . an unusual, haunting debut novel. (thebookbag.co.uk)

Book Description

Stunning fiction in the vein of Angela Carter and Margaret Atwood from debut author Jess Richards.

See all Product Description

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
'Snake Ropes' is the story of Mary and Morgan, two very different girls who live very different lives on a isolated island, Mary lives with her Da and her brother, Barney, while Morgan lives with her parents and her twin sisters in a house surrounded by a large fence which is locked from the outside world and Morgan and her sisters are not allowed outside. Mary lives for Barney, while dealing with The Tall Men who come from the mainland to trade. Everything changes for Mary when Barney is taken by the Tall Men and as Mary searches for Barney, secrets are revealed and fears faced.

I bought and downloaded 'Snake Ropes' in December 2012 and then got the paperback copy from my husband for Christmas the same year (much to my own embarrassment I had forgot to tell him I already had a copy). It took me a few attempts to get into 'Snake Ropes' but I am glad to say by the third attempt I was engrossed in the story. 'Snake Ropes' is a well written and quirky story, I loved how Jess Richards described the island, bleak but beautiful. Mary's dialect is difficult to read at first but the more you read, the more you understand it. Mary and Morgan are interesting characters, they are both determined in their own ways, brave, independent and great to read.

Beautifully written and highly recommended. I am looking forward to reading Jess Richard's next book 'Cooking with Bones'.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Woweeeee, what a book. Have had the busiest few weeks but have snatched any time I can to read it, as it is the most fantastically involving and inventive book I have read in a long time. Just had to put everything else to one side to finish reading it, and am now in that post-book state of wishing I hadn't finished it yet!

Snake Ropes is something quite beautiful, magical, creative and transporting. Transporting because I felt like I'd opened a little door somewhere and entered into another, more wondrous, reality. The characters are so real, beautifully and truthfully drawn, and the writing poetic and vivid. Jess Richards has a deftness of touch, dealing with some raw, painful subjects with the lightness of a poet. And the world of women was tenderly evoked, creating the a space where women have autonomy and weave a web of stories, magic and legend. Having worked with women in labour, it would be the lovely character Kelmar I would want by my side in that moment. In fact, if I ever work in that capacity again, I'll channel her I think!

The watery world of the island is vivid, a place where stories and folklore are tangled in the seaweed. I read the book whilst at home on the cliffs, with rain lashing down and waves crashing on the rocks below, and felt at times like I really had slipped through that portal to join Mary and Morgan...

This is a beautiful book and a real pleasure to read. It's so refreshing to find a debut writer with such a unique voice and I'm sure this writer has a long career ahead of her - I'm looking forward to the next book already!
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I read "Cooking with Bones" (Jess Richard's latest book) a couple of months ago and was completely captivated by her style and approach to writing and so had to read this one. Again it is mythical, mystical, magical. Mary's little brother disappears from the isolated island they live on. The islanders are visited by men from the mainland to trade regularly and it is during one of these visits that Barney goes missing - are the traders involved? Some of the items traded are hidden from some of the people of the island. Wrong doers - some of them at least - are put in the Thrashing House but what does it really do to people.

It is hard to do justice to Jess Richard's style of writing in a review given her mix of real life family issues and the magical aspects thrown in. The descriptive aspects of her writing are captivating - the mystical ones are often thought provoking. If this kind of thing appeals to you - try it - I am looking forward to the next one!
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
Tap the title into Google, and you see that there's quite some literary buzz around this novel. Having just finished it, I can see why - Jess Richards' first novel is one of the most exciting debuts I've read. Set on a remote, fictional island somewhere out beyond St Kilda, it owes as much to folk and fairy tale as it does to modern speculative and slipstream fiction.

Told by two young girls in alternate first-person narratives, the island's mystery and history gradually unfold over more than 300 enthralling pages. Local girl Mary is in her teens, motherless, traumatised by the loss of her baby brother Barney, the latest of several of the island's young boys to mysteriously disappear. Meanwhile, over-educated Morgan is imprisoned by her incomer parents behind the fences of a makeshift fortress, confined like Rapunzel and made to clean like Cinderella. She and her sinister twin sisters are kept barefoot, isolated, their heads crammed with stories from the books that are the only relics of a mainland they can't really remember.

In this matriarchal society, wrongdoing is dealt with by committee in the 'weaving rooms', whose culture is an echo of Scotland's 'waulking' tradition. Lost in time, these islanders survive by bartering fish and handicrafts with the "tall men" who bring supplies from the mainland every month. Magic is commonplace in this pre-industrial world; words are trapped in metal, trees can move, female ghosts become avenging owls and artists gather dreams like fallen petals. The lives of the people are intertwined with stories, myths and legends, their dreams and imaginings as relevant as objective world of the outsiders. And as Morgan plots her escape and Mary seeks her lost boy, the truth at the kernel of all the stories begins to work its way to the surface.
Read more ›
Comment 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback