Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
87
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2017
Great album, grunge, rock, punk genre! Punk lyrics, rock instrument sounds and overall grunge feel. Tracks with attitude in the lyrics! First heard this year's ago, i liked it then and bought it on cassette even though i wasn't too sure about the spacey/echo like/short delay effect on the lead vocal microphone recording but i appreciate this much more now than i did when i bought the tape!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
Wicked 20th anniversary addition of this great punk rock record. It was this record along with green days dookie and nofx's punk in drublic (all 1994) plus rancids 1995 release and out come the wolves that put 90's punk rock on the map.
Smash has always been a great record and the box set vinyl addition is really cool. Comes with a nice book full of great pictures and stories from that time. Well worth the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2006
It seems like a good time to look back at one of the biggest selling punk albums in the nineties. In approximately nine days, it will be ten years since the release of Smash. So what better time than to write a review on it? :-)
Smash to The Offspring is what Definately Maybe is to Oasis, despite ten years of great music, Dexter and the rest of the group have never managed to make an album that is as consistently great as this one. I know many people might disagree with me here, but even if Pretty Fly did get to number one, it never matched the sheer class of Come Out and Play.
The album begins with a tongue in cheek introduction telling the listener to lean back and enjoy the melodies. However, this is not the type of album you can just relax to, and that is pointed out from the moment Nitro kicks in. The music is much more faster and rawer here with songs like Genocide, Something to Believe In and Not The One.
However, there is also the type of music that most people will know The Offspring for like the poppiness of Gotta Get Away and Killboy Powerhead. But it also delves into anger and paranoia with the dark Bad Habit and the twisted Self Esteem. If this does not get my point across then just think after you play this album, Pretty Fly will become less and less in your most played list.
Here's to ten years of classic songwriting, catchy hooks and brilliant riffs. :-) Buy It!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2000
"It's time to relax", the opening phrase of the album, not a good idea. If you relax for one second you will miss some of this awesome, punk rock masterpiece. The whole album gels together to provide a pivot for the Offspring's bid for world domination. Opening track Nitro is punk rock fury at it's best while Bad Habit contains, THAT line, you know, the screamed one about the stupid motherf... Anyway, the album continues it's high standard, especially on the punk rock singalong that is genocide, and then track seven, Come Out and Play. Wow. What a track, the catchiest, generally amazing song you will ever hear. Undoubtedly the albums highpoint. It continues with Self-Esteem, another highpoint and goes on laying waste to all pretenders to the punk rock throne. Ending with a title track of positively epic proportions, you will soon be singing "I'm not a trendy asshole, do what I want, do what I feel like" to everyone you meet. All I can say is buy this album, you won't be disappointed, unless maybe you are one of those trendy assholes that Dexter Holland so despises.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2000
Yes I know you liked Americana! But be prepared for a surprise because this is from back when they weren't some mainstream punk rock band. They were one of the best underground punk rock bands around with their style of controlled aggression. They can still be seen as sell-outs but at the moment they are, from their official website, letting you download their new album 'Conspiracy Of One' (before it's proper release) for an MP3; but they'll also enter you into a draw to win $1,000,000 (that's 667,000 english pounds). Any way back to this album; I became a real (The)Offspring fan after hearing this. I couldn't get enough of tracks like 'Self Esteem' or 'Smash'. You'll love every single song on this album and if you own 'Ixnay on the Hombre' you'll recognise the intro to 'Change The World' (the best intro part ever!!!). I hate to say this though but some of the tracks do sound a bit the same (the high pitched guitar part for 'Genocide' is the intro to 'Change The World' speeded up). But put that aside and you'll love this album; it's much better than that namby pamby Green Day in comparison. But don't get me wrong Green Day WERE good as well.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2002
I own all the offspring albums, and this is by far their best. Although it does have an element of repitition, in that some parts are identical, they have there own world, of fast paced rock... agression, and excellent lyrics, which no other punk band has ever got close to. Before they started to go soft on their material (Americana & Conspiracy of one- I'm not saying these are poor- just not as good.) They really show what punk is about with songs like "Come out and play" and "not the one." But of course the best and most true songs of all are "smash" and "Self Esteem." I strongly recomend this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2001
So we have heard a number of the offspring albums and they are all sounding of the highest class, but when it comes to smash it is really gonna be top of your cd rack and the case always open (your gonna be playing it so much). I play the guitar and learing and playing along to some of these tracks is just an amazing atmosphere that fills your ears.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2005
This album is the best Offspring album out there. There just too many good tracks on this CD to name. From "Bad Habit" to "Self-Esteem". They are all beautifully crafted and are quite possibly the album which is one of the best albums of the 90's. All fans should listen to this album!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2000
Smash by the offspring really brought out their talent. The album composes at times hardcore punk action on 'smash' , 'self esteem' and 'bad habit'.Also has the more poppy songs like'what happened to you'and 'nitro'. I give this album 5 stars because it landmarks a period in my childhood when i idolised this punk bandand still do. The album also has some amazing tracks like 'genocide','come out and play'. This album is a MUST buy. It'll give you hours of hardcore enjoyment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here