Sleepers Awake! has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Sleepers Awake!

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £12.99 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Now with Amazon Music
Sleepers Awake!
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 2 Dec 2016
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 3 months free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get three months free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases

Product details

  • Audio CD (2 Dec. 2016)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Hyphen Press
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 223,471 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Buxtehude: Cantata ‘Wachet Auf, Ruft Uns Die Stimme’, Bux WV 101
  2. Sonata In C Major For Two Violins, Viola Da Gamba, And Basso Continuo, Bux WV 266
  3. Ciaccona Aria ‘Quemadmodum Desiderat Cervus’ For Tenor, Two Violins, And Basso Continuo, Bux WV 92
  4. Cantata ‘Wachet Auf, Ruft Uns Die Stimme’, Bux WV 100
  5. Philipp Heinrich Erlebach: Sonata No. 6 In F Major For Violino Piccolo, Viola Da Gamba, And Basso Continuo
  6. J S Bach: Cantata ‘Wachet Auf, Ruft Uns Die Stimme’, BWV 140

Product description

Product Description

A small anthology of works by Dieterich Buxtehude which puts in context one of J. S. Bach’s masterworks – his Cantata ‘Wachet auf’. This piece is associated with Advent so this is a timely release. 'Wachet auf' is interesting on many levels, not least of all as it features the rare piccolo violin. Behind J. S. Bach stood Dieterich Buxtehude, the pre-eminent German composer of the seventeenth century. The two are reunited here in their settings of the text ‘Wachet auf’ – sleepers awake ! The text of this cantata tells the story of the wise and foolish virgins, used in the Lutheran calendar for the 27th Sunday after Trinity, which falls just before Advent, when this CD will be released. The CD also serves as a small anthology of works by Buxtehude: in addition to the two cantatas, there is his glorious chaconne-form aria ‘Quemadmodum desiderat cervus’, and a trio sonata. Bach’s ‘Wachet auf’, with its heart-stirring opening movement and touching dialogues of soprano and bass, provides the culmination of the programme. Bach’s score specifies a piccolo violin, and the use of this rare instrument suggested another piece here: a sonata by Erlebach for piccolo violin and viola da gamba. This is another Bach Players recording to treasure.