Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
55
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2013
I really enjoyed this thriller. Like many foreign films that make it to DVD release in the UK, it really is worth checking out (as I did via Love Film). It's well plotted, well acted and has believable characters who carry the story and lend it a credibility that will stay in your mind. There's also a black sense of humour behind the plot that again the main players, including a teenage schoolgirl, pull off with aplomb. If you have enjoyed films like the French Tell No-one (Ne le dis a Personne) or Hidden (Cache) this is as good as the first and better than the second. Recommended.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
The Co-Director of the first two [REC] films (Jaume Balaguero) presents us with this disturbing psychological horror which mostly takes place in a Barcelona Apartment building.
Cesar (Luis Tosar from 'Cell 211') is the caretaker with a chilling presence.A man who has failed to find happiness in his own life and so 'enjoys' inflicting his pain onto other people.
His attention is mainly focused on Clara (Marta Etura,also from 'Cell 211') the attractive thirtysomething resident with whom he has a friendly chat to every morning before she rushes out to work.
What Clara doesn't realize though is that each night she goes to sleep Cesar is only inches away from her,lying silently beneath her bed.
But this isn't the usual kind of stalking you may have seen in many other films of this type.Cesar feels no love and has no longing for this woman.He doesn't want to be with her for the rest of his life-but he does have a plan.
Unlike his previous outings Balaquero keeps us waiting for the gore to arrive,but when it does it is chillingly and shockingly horrific.
The dramatic conclusion to 'Sleep Tight' has left some viewers a little confused but believe me it does make sense.
I highly recommend this dark thriller from Spain, best to check under your bed afterwards though,just in case....
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
Cesar (Luis Tosar) is the concierge/super for an apartment building. He seems like a normal helpful person, however under it all he is not a people person. At night he has chloroform sex with Clara, an unsuspecting tenant. He confesses his misdeeds to his mother, who is bed ridden, unable to speak, only cry. He is also being blackmailed by a young girl (Iris Almeida) who espies him coming out of Clara's room (Marta Etura).

The film is not overly graphic and goes easy on the "perv" factor. You are drawn into the film to see how far Cesar will go to make everyone miserable. It is a well done production, unlike so many "B" films in this genre.

The film lacks any real good "B" horror. At the same time it is a "B" movie subject. I would imagine the niche is narrow for a fan base in this slow moving tale.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, brief sex, brief nudity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 March 2015
Looking like the unhappy love-child of James Nesbitt and Nick Cave, Luis Tosar plays Cesar, the concierge of a modernista apartment building in Barcelona. Cesar believes he is incapable of being happy and in a quiet but determined way sets out to make as many others in the building unhappy too. The unfortunate focus of this obsession is the sunny Clara, who he is stalking with creepy efficiency.

The first part of the film sets itself apart from run of the mill thrillers by showing Cesar's point of view. There is no suspense in terms of trying to guess who the stalker is but rather wondering how long he can get away with it - the building owner has his doubts about Cesar and the precocious child in the neighbouring apartment to Clara is definitely onto him.

For a while, then, it seemed to veer towards the more obvious devices of the genre with creepy music signalling the next event and more melodrama, before pulling it back completely with some neat twists that put Cesar in peril as much as his victim and keeps you guessing where it will end.

In Spanish with English subtitles - the original title Mientras Duermas (While You Sleep), this is good taut story showing rather than telling, with good interior shots, dark humour and tension.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
Cesar (Luis Tosar) is the concierge/super for an apartment building. He seems like a normal helpful person, however under it all he is not a people person. At night he has chloroform sex with Clara, an unsuspecting tenant. He confesses his misdeeds to his mother, who is bed ridden, unable to speak, only cry. He is also being blackmailed by a young girl (Iris Almeida) who espies him coming out of Clara's room (Marta Etura).

The film is not overly graphic and goes easy on the "perv" factor. You are drawn into the film to see how far Cesar will go to make everyone miserable. It is a well done production, unlike so many "B" films in this genre.

The film lacks any real good "B" horror. At the same time it is a "B" movie subject. I would imagine the niche is narrow for a fan base in this slow moving tale.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, brief sex, brief nudity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
Now then, we have a real gem on our hands here!

'Sleep Tight' is tense and twisted, funny and frightening and delivers the goods in a major way. Luis Tosar plays Cesar, a very depressed character who lives for making people as unhappy as him.

Tosar is supreme and hats off to Director, Jaume Balaguero who doesn't take the easy route of making Cesar a sterotypical 'baddy', but instead portrays a human (and it must be said witty) side to this most disturbed of men.

The detail of the plot doesn't need to be spelt out as you'll enjoy it all the more; what impressed me most though was the almost unbearable tension in a couple of key scenes. A difficult art, but masterfully executed. Because we know Cesar quite well by this point you find yourself rooting for him in an odd way....sounds crazy I know!

Perfectly paced, just the right level of 'action' and a class ending; I can't find fault with 'Sleep Tight' at all. I had to write this review to award the 5 stars and also for my own benefit; I wouldn't want to risk forgeting a great film like this!

There's so much more to 'Sleep Tight' than I could possibly write in a review; I just hope you find this useful and will be willing to give it a try as a result. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
5 years later and I still find this film creeping into my thoughts every now and again. Just like the concierge, this film seeps into your fears and thoughts and doesn't let go.

Truly chilling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It’s hard to talk about Spanish thriller Sleep Tight without giving too much away since it’s a film that draws much of its power from the way it slowly reveals its plot and motivations, but suffice it to say it’s the kind of film that Hammer’s misfired The Resident should have been, with a dash of Pacific Heights thrown in for good measure. Seen through the eyes of Luis Tosar’s concierge in an apartment building, it’s as much character study as thriller - it’s chills are of a slow burn nature, it’s shocks more sudden realisations that you’ve misinterpreted events by taking them at face value rather than moments to make you jump, though there is one terrifically tense set piece with one character locked in an apartment with an unwanted visitor and no key. The residents are the usual mixture: a lonely old lady and her dogs, an attractive young woman getting anonymous texts and letters, an enterprising and thoroughly evil blackmailer, the manager who is just looking for an excuse to fire him, and each in their way add to the unhappiness of a man who is unable to be happy himself and can only take comfort in the fact that others are equally unhappy. Jaume Balageuró’s direction eschews showy visuals and underplays in a way that manages to enhance the drama rather than making it disappear in an impressively unsettling little sleeper that’s better seen than talked about.

Sadly the UK Blu-ray and DVD releases have no extras - the US Blu-ray includes a 107-minute making of documentary, twelve minutes of deleted scenes and trailer - but has a good 2.35:1 widescreen transfer with burned-in unremoveable English subtitles.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
Highly entertaining film with a cracking story and great suspense. Very different from the boring zombie fests. Twisting and turning with some good surprises along the way. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
'Sleep Tight' (Spanish: 'Mientras Duermes') is a Spanish psychological-horror thriller film that released in 2011 to a fantastic widespread response.

The movie centers around César (Luis Tosar) who is the head concierge in charge of a block of flats. The movie shows how he makes all the residents lives a misery in order to cure his unhappiness, which has been with him since birth.

The film starts in a calm manner indicating that we're in for a generic drama/thriller or something even less. Boy, was I wrong! The film gets creepy, sinister, weird and hits you on the head like a juggernaut. I was compelled with this fascinating cinema. The tension/suspense hits a high with so many twists. Combined with some humor, which oddly works, you're in for a thriller treat.

The feature only works because of Tosar's award-winning, vicious and disturbing performance. He became my favorite Spanish actor after his powerhouse acting in 'Celda 211' (Cell 211), which released in 2009. He does bad things in this movie, I mean really bad things, still you don't want him to get caught. The way he acts with his hypnotic eyes, the audience gets behind him, which shouldn't be the case ethically. In the end, like me, you'll end up being complicit in his crimes. That for me is a proper actor, one who has complete power and control over the audience (or just me). Marta Etura who is the lead actress, is beautiful and a joy to watch as the happy and innocent Clara. Another actor worth a mention is Iris Almeida who enacts the role of Ursula, the cheeky schoolgirl. She's Tosar's nemesis in the film. Their exchanges and mind games are a delightful watch.

The direction by Jaume Balagueró for me was of Hitchcockian style that flourishes. Some pivotal scenes have been executed with brilliance and leave a lasting impression.

There are negative points, first aspect is César's motives in what he does and to what lengths he goes to. I wasn't convinced with the extremities of his actions. The other point is the background music score by Lucas Vidal. The score sounded like you're watching a feel-good romantic comedy or something. In short, wrong kinda music, unless the makers were being intentionally deceiving for some reason.

'Mientras Duermes' is unsettling with a top villain making sure you'll never sleep tight again.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)