Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2017
Nova, a pilot for the Union, is a woman of action in a futuristic, often corrupt male-dominated world.
Unflinching in her duty and overcoming many odds both in aerial battles, on the surface and in her personal life, she succeeds on her own terms and equals her father's glory. A must-read for sci-fi fans!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Well written, involving ,and surprisingly tense in parts. You care about the main protagonist and her plight. It's a wee bit over arching in parts , but keeps you reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
I received this ebook free to read and review.
An exciting tale which also develops the characters well Nova Whiteside the main character is a pilot fighting the rebels. While there are many action sequences that are well written and exciting it is more a story of Nova's personal relationship between the various soldiers, including a bit of romance.
I liked the way the different alien races were described and the way that Nova stood up to her own values where it would have been easier to just go along with what was happening.
It is difficult to say more without giving away the plot but it is a good exciting read and I look forward to the rest of the series. Although it is the first of the series and there are loose ends to pick up it does stand well by itself with Nova going on to different things in the next book.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
I have not read any science fiction for awhile and found myself picking up this edition of the Targon Tales 1. My first impressions were that after the first chapter I had a lot of questions, but that is not necessarily a bad thing, a good book should open with a hook that draws you in and wanting to find out more is a definite attraction. The problem I had with ‘Sky Hunter’ is that it never got anywhere near answering my questions.

To begin with this is not a science fiction story, it is more a futurist tale as there is no scientific principle being considered in the narrative or acting as an impetus to the plot. It is set in a human future that is undetermined and follows the adventures of one Nova Whiteside, a female pilot in the Air Command; the armed forces division of a governing body referred to as the Union of Commonwealth Worlds. Nova is aiming to attain a hunter class rating as a pilot and decides that getting a posting to a world where there is considerable rebel activity is the way to do it.

I got the character’s motivation easily enough but it remained just about the only clearly defined part of the story. The planet of Bella Tau was left indistinct with limited reference to its’ history, culture and peoples. It reminded me of Tatooine, or at least that is the image I ended up with. This approach was also taken in reference to other alien species such as the Centauri. Are they really aliens? They all seemed to be variants of homo sapiens with the occasional extra digit, peculiar hair and eyes, and different coloured skin. I saw them as similar to the kind of ‘alien’ you see in Star Trek.

I was also disappointed to realise that the author suggests that today’s consumer based capitalist economy is going to continue into the future and form the basis for human expansion into the galaxy. The Union of Commonwealth Worlds is all about trade and discovering new markets on worlds that are as yet un-initiated into their fraternity. They are opposed by the rebels, apparently disparate groups who all, generally, oppose this greed motivated expansionism. Not only does capitalism remain but it also appears that humanity has hardly evolved in the interim either. Issues like genocide and sexual assault are enacted for the same reasons and treated in the same deplorable ways as they are today. Very disheartening.

This lack of gravitas results in ‘Sky Hunter’ being quite a lightweight novel. In that capacity it is a good read, however. Chris Reher is an accomplished writer and on the level of a simple action story she moves things along very well. Nova Whiteside is an okay character, lacking some of the more interesting idiosyncrasies of ‘Battlestar Galactica’s’ Starbuck perhaps, being something of a loner her character suffers from a lack of opportunity to develop due to limited meaningful interactions with other characters. The background story of developing Skyranch Twelve also gets lost as the more immediate story of a concerted enemy attack takes over.

In conclusion, ‘Sky Hunter’ is an enjoyable read but it could have been so much better with more attention to the fabric that forms the backdrop to the story. I remained unconvinced of the galaxy it moves through and unsurprised by the plot device that wraps up the few other threads to the story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
The story jumps about a bit but there are interesting pieces of action, I may come back to the series at some point, but not yet.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
I received a copy of Sky Hunter from the author.

Nova is a pilot for the Union, and the only female pilot on her squad, which is garrisoned on a planet where the Union is still fighting Rebels. After a run in with Beryl, one of the officers, Nova is deployed to do ground work and ends up captured by rebels. While captured she helps with the medical care of all of the injured people with very little equipment or supplies, and in doing so she meets Djari. After escaping and returning to base, Nova's squad is sent to the new Sky ranch, where Djari has applied to work, and the two quickly begin a relationship. But things aren't always as straight forward as they seem, and soon Nova uncovers things that she wishes weren't true.

Link to Goodreads
Link to amazon

I'm so frustrated right now! One of the major things that I liked about this book and I can't even hint at it because it could spoil a pretty big plot point! Though along the same vein, the relationships between the various characters that Reher has created are so believable and detailed that I couldn't help but be drawn into them. And that goes for relationships, friends, enemies, working relationships...the lot!

Still on the subject of characters; Nova. Now, I've made it pretty obvious that I love strong female characters, and Nova was certainly one of those! Fiery, determined, and brave, she never let anything bad stop her from getting her job done. Just the kind of heroine I like!

I'm still undecided as to which 'side' was in the right, the Rebels or the Union. But I thought that Reher did a fantastic job of making a point that there is good and bad in ever side, particularly in regards to Beryl and his cronies, which I think definitely counts as a skill!

My final point about Sky Hunter is just at the inclusion of a romance. It may not sound like a big deal, but one of the reasons I avoided sci-fi for so long was because of the tendency towards masculine story lines (well and a lack of female characters). Thus making Sky Hunter a good sci-fi choice on multiple counts!

Sky Hunter was action packed, with a lot of other things thrown in there too!

Blog: [...]
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
This is more of a tale as seen through the eyes of Nova Whiteside a young fighter pilot. Whist it has adventure and aliens I would say that the character and her interactions within an army situation has greater prominance ..... together with romance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
Very good space adventure without giving to much away
The main character kept you interested in the story from start to finish
Would recommend this book .
Looking forward to the next addition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
One of a series of books centred on a female-ish heroine in a Cold War Time-shifted. They are okay and deserve success. As a YA certainly more to the A than the Y.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2017
Good story, about a female space cadet, the wars that she gets into, and out of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse