Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
73
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 June 2017
Great DVDs thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
Enjoyed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2009
i thought this series of skins was amazing!
there was alot of bad vibes goin around about it before it was even released on the tele (and i'v got to admit i was alreadi dislinking it because i didnt like the first two series) but once people started watching it i think we all fell in love with it.
but i have to admit the whole cook, effy and fredy thing got abit boring in the end and the last episode was an anti-climax from the weeks before episode with the twins, but i this had to buy this to watch it over and over again because i jst fell in love with the rest of the cast(pandora and thomas, naomi and emily, jj and katie). i jst can't wait to see the next series!! (:

you have got to buy this people!! (: (:
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2009
had not seen the series on the telly and was a bit nervous because of the new cast but it really is brilliant! I loved the first and second series and series 3 is as good if not better as them. Kaya Scodelario, Lisa Bakwell and the new cast are fantastic. The DVD extras are pretty good too!

Even if you haven't seen the previous two series it doesn't matter, you can still laugh, cry and have fun with the characters!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Great product great value :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
I choose this rating because I love skins good value great product am very happy with it thanks very much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
After S2 this season managed to bring back some much needed fun and youthfulness. The Naomi/Emily story was handled perfectly, the fear of admitting your feelings, Katie's bullying of Naomi and the desire to be true to yourself was all worked in very well. The love triangle between Effy and the boys seems a bit of an obvious theme to build a series around but there were enough twists here to keep you interested and as the characters were fresh and new it worked well. My only complaint is that Thomas, Pandorra, Emily and Katie were used a little bit like supporting characters and didn't appear at all in the finale. The parents were funny and memorable, the music was great as usual and they toned down the colour quite a bit too which I preferred. In my view the strongest episodes were 5,6,7 & 8. Yes the use of a love triangle is beyond cliched and the characters are a bit 2d when we first meet them, the party animal, the laid back stoner, the geek, the Ice queen, the squabbling twins.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2017
I absolutely loved Skins and series three is the best so far. The series brilliantly mixed hard hitting teen drama with elements of surrealism and comedy while also depicting teenagers as they actually are, indulging in sex, drugs, alcohol, profanity and sexual promiscuity.

I particularly loved the Emily and Naomi romance, a brilliant and moving portrayal of forbidden love in the modern world. I thought that the chemistry between actresses Lily Loveless (Naomi) and Kathryn Prescott (Emily) was absolutely dynamic and totally gripping.

Even as a straight man I was totally moved and mesmerised by their troubled romance and found that I could totally empathise with the pair of them as they struggled with sexual confusion and homophobic siblings and parents. I thought that both actresses did a fantastic job and showed a lot of maturity in what must have been very difficult roles for two such young and inexperienced actresses considering that both actresses claim to be straight in interviews

My only criticism (as it’s a very minor thing) is that the script was a bit patchy in places and the acting occasionally faltered but for a bunch of inexperienced kids they were still superb. The friendship between Cook and JJ seemed a bit implausible. It’s unlikely that a scally such as Cook would have been mates with a geek like JJ. But it’s still some of the best British TV in a long time. It’s just a shame that series four was a disappointment by comparison.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2010
The third series of the popular British drama initially caused outrage as the cast from the first two series had been cast aside and were replaced with fresh new faces and new stories. I confess to belonging to that group; particularly as the second series had many unresolved questions but the realisation hit, that was how it meant to end, now let's see how this new series pans out, which was blissfully well.

The first episode begins with an "everyone" agenda, broadcasting all the stars and faces in a collective story. Freddie (Luke Pasqualino) skateboards around the streets of Bristol showcasing his talent. There are some very clever stunts and quick camera work to generate an intrigued view, the bit with the policeman is great. Right as we sit with the characters enjoying pints we know we are in for more of the same teen style life.

Then we're introduced to some of the other gang and as soon as Effy appears nonchalant in her dad's car the motive for the entire series has been set, three boys and one girl.

Speaking to friends and fans it seemed series two was respected but dived too much into a serious tone, a more dramatic realism. There wasn't one character who didn't fancy another main character kind of soap styled storytelling. I loved it but the humour certainly suffered because of its justification to high drama. Thankfully this series brings the humour back.

As Cook steps up in assembly to show everyone his tattoo his character is defined as is the cheeky styling of the show. In J.J's episode we have tremendous youthful humour in his magic and his constant revealing secrets. Freddie's episode with his sister is a brilliant mock up on reality television, a sharp parody of the formulaic drivel that is broadcast these days. The main comedy comes from the main characters, which balances perfectly with the girls more dramatic stories such as sister rivalry (Katie and Emily), sexual orientation (Naomi) and the power of love (Effy). I was very surprised and happy to see Pandora (Lisa Backwell) return after her brief stint in series two. She evens the playing field out with her complete lack of modern day socialism. Performance wise all the teenagers are on form, though their characters struggle to match the refreshing nature of the previous group.

The stories this time address less significant world issues as the first series. Now it seems drugs, sex and alcohol form into everyday happenings without addressing the ramifications which is good as it lets the story flow. The dynamic has shifted somewhat in these three series. The first revolved around teens dealing with parental problems, their futures and jobs. This series is youthfully exuberant. There are pyjama parties, magic tricks and granny piggy back races. And whilst all good, have a feeling of too young and immature for a story also involving drinking, crime and drug abuse.

The features on the DVD are good. The behind the scenes of each episode are a particular favourite of mine and are certainly worth checking.

With its flamboyance and comedy Skins has revamped its comedy form from the first series and doesn't lose sight of its hard teen drama.

With the new series imminent this is certainly worth checking out.

9/10
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2012
Firstly, I must admit that I am not usually a Skins fan-as a teenager, and student, I actually find the drug and promiscuity-related storylines to be TV at its lowest but, after hearing everyone at school talk about Skins 1 & 2, I thought I would give series 3 a go and, having watched it on television, 3 years later, I have bought it for £5.99 on DVD.

Admittedly, there are few things that appeal to me in the series, HOWEVER, there are a couple of storylines and pieces of casting in this series that are exceptional. Firstly, the character of JJ is one that draws the viewer in and makes them understand people with conditions such as JJ's more-something that I feel was perhaps intended by the creators and, certainly, is worth a considerable amount of praise. But that is just one thing.

The Naomi-Emily storyline (sometimes dubbed 'Naomily') is what has, undoubtedly, made this series what it is. The casting of all three actresses involved (both Prescotts and Loveless) is nothing short of fantastic and the storyline is captivating and beautifully told and really is worth repeat viewings. The stand-out episode is by far 'Naomi' and I am sure that there is not many who would argue with that.

Skins 4, however, destroys the good work that was created in Skins 3 and, therefore, if you love what Skins 3 represents then do not go for Skins 4!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)