Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
181
3.7 out of 5 stars
Skinny Weeks and Weekend Feasts
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£13.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 23 August 2015
there are some good recipes in this book,although some of the ingredients are difficult to get hold of. would be nice to have a calorie count for the feasts as well as the skinny meals. the recipes i have triedhave worked well and been tasty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2017
Best recipe book ever - Persian chicken soup, best thing I've ever eaten and made!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2017
useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
I found this a easy read with a lot of recipes I will use. Well presented and looking forward to trying some of the many tasty delights, thanks :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
What a disappointing book - I loved Gizzi’s Kitchen Magic – a great book full of yummy recipes so had high hopes for this book. I also read an article before buying it where Gizzi was annoyed about being lumped alongside domestic cooks and was keen to impress that she is a CHEF, not a cook. Well this is the least cheffy book possible, unless the skill involved in putting avocado on toast is more complicated than I imagine.

It is beautifully presented, Gizzi looks fab as always and it's a very quality publication but here praise ends - it's the epitome of style over substance.

As mentioned previously the concept is a selection of low cal recipes for weekdays and then a section of weekend goodies and feasts. The low calorie recipes are totally unoriginal and unimaginable and TOTALLY UNINSPIRING- there's absolutely nothing wrong with them but nothing you haven't seen before. I made the the yogurt chicken curry and it was nice, nothing special. Some of the recipes in the 'feasts' section look tasty. In her 'skinny section she puts the calorie content of each dish but in the feasts just puts a sinful rating. If youre going to do the whole calorie content thing it would be better to do it all the way through the book.

The first time I've bought a book then thought - 'I don’t earn money to spend it on books like this! '
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Never heard of Gizzi until recently.This is a very lovely book with some nice recipes in it.You do have to purchase quite a few of the ingredients mentioned as they are not food cupboard staples(i.e. Rapadura sugar)but they do last when bought so if you are serious about usng her recipes the outlay is worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
Anyone that is a fan of Giizzi will know that the most important thing in her recipes is to still enjoy eating food, and this is exactly what this book is - eating healthy food but still enjoying it!

As with all these fad diets these days they're nearly always quick, unhealthy fixes that don't sustain weight loss and are bad for your health. Gizzi, amongst other good eating foodies (like the body coach) are all about loosing weight healthily, slowly, sustaining it, and enjoying it as you go along. Rant over.

This isn't exactly a 'diet' book but what it gives you is really great ideas to liven up your food, especially at the weekends without feeling unhealthy or bored. If you watch your figure and want to spice things up a bit, this is a great addition to anyones cookbook library!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 6 September 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I was unsure how many stars to give this book. I like all the recipes I've tried, it has calorie counted recipes in the Skinny Weeks section which I find very useful; I like the style and presentation; I think it's a great book for inspiration and for dipping into. I think packaging it as a dietary approach has given it a few problems; the Weekend Feasts have no calorie counting and are merely graded on a Wicked scale. I live in London and like to cook food from around the world and have access to the ingredients she requires here - many wouldn't. I am a confident cook and you need to be for some of these recipes. So I've plumped for four stars but it would be three only as a diet book.

I'm a fan of the Cook Yourself Thin books Cook Yourself Thin Quick and Easy: Shift the bulge and still indulge with over 100 new recipes and that's what attracted me to this book as Gizzi was one of the cooks for the TV series. To e hones, this book is not as practical as those for the person wanting to keep to their calories.

The premise is that if you stay within your calories then you can splurge at the week ned. For the Skinny Weeks 1500 calories are allocated daily with 300 calories for breakfast, 400 calories for lunch; and 600 calories for your evening meal. This leaves 200 calories floating.

The Skinny Weeks section is organised as:
Breakfast on the go
Working Lunches
Skinny Dipping
Simple Suppers;
and Puds (if you must)

The Weekend Feasts sections is organised as:
Friday Night Feasts
Lazy Brunches
Sunday Lunch aka The Big Shebang
and Sweet Treats.

I have made her granola, her sunny Bircher muesli, her Egyptian Black Lentil soup with green sauce, her chorizo and chickpea soup with Rose Petal Harissa, her carrot and Lentil soup, the Thai chicken satay rice bowl and the gridled baby chicken with fatuous, yoghurt sauce and rose harissa from the Skinny weeks section. All lovely and I'll make again... the soups are very tasty indeed.

From the Weekend Feast section I cooked the Malaysian feast of Nyonya chicken, beef shin rending, asparagus sambal and rice. Everybody loved it and it tasted great but it's not for the inexperienced cook.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
Gift, well received.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is an energetic book, both in its upbeat writing style and the recipes which are light and filling rather than stodgy. It's a book of two halves: `skinny' recipes and `feasts' - though the skinny recipes tend far more to the kinds of things I love to eat and cook, and certainly aren't in any way `diet' food (I don't do diets).

So alongside some great everyday soups and salads (chorizo and chickpea soup with rose petal harissa, pancetta and faro soup with beans) are delicious things like Persian chicken, barley and lemon soup, spicy miso salmon udon noodle soup, and Thai chicken satay rice bowl, all of which can be whipped up after work with minimum fuss.

I love the dips, too, with a great hummus recipe alongside courgette babaganoush, and purée de habas (broad beans) - all perfect snacks, starters or light meals with soup, and a great way to top up your daily vegetable portions.

The `feast' recipes don't work nearly so well for me partly because I don't eat much red meat but also because they involve more fuss, preparation and cooking time than I'm prepared to invest.

There are a few things here that I would have trouble getting hold of (dried Korean glass noodles made from sweet potato?) but substitutes are easy to source - though, admittedly, I live in London and have easy access to large supermarkets and specialist shops.

The book itself is presented beautifully with almost all the recipes having full colour photos, and the hard spine means the pages stay open when you're cooking. This is more of an urban couple/city friends style cook-book, rather than one for everyday, traditional family meals - but it works very well for me.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)