Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
21
4.2 out of 5 stars
Sisters [Dual Format DVD & Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£21.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 March 2017
Format: Bluray
Title: SISTERS aka BLOOD SISTERS (Germany: Die Schwestern des Bösen) (1972)
Label: ARROW VIDEO
Tranfer by: CRITERION / ED PRESSMAN
Aspect Ratio: 1.78 : 1

Some Thoughts About The Movie (NOT the base for my rating):
Wow! What a great movie, providing an astonishing visual and emotional experience. BRIAN DE PALMAS movie is creepy, full of tension and offers surprisingly shocking elements which continue to have an effect on its audience. The visual looks by choice of camera lenses, film stock, style, editing, timing including split screen techniques and camera angles are great and inspiring. Underpinned by the superb sounding and nifty composed soundtrack the result is breathtakingly good. The acting is convincing and there is a certain irony attached to the direction DE PALMA achieved. I wont spoil anything for you here and wont go into detail either because I like you to experience it all for your own and hopefully you will watch the movie detached from every other film-works out there. Enjoy!

No Grain Baby, No Gain / The Transfer:
The 2K transfer done for this BD set is very good. Spoken in terms of 2K I like to say it is nearly perfect. There is an overall organic and very film-like appeal to it. That fact underlines DE PALMAS design choices so good and enjoying this movie on a big screen or via projection is like seeing it for the first time ever for real. The grain structure seems to be 100% intact and looks and behaves totally film-like. The colors are fantastic and stable throughout the whole feature. Level of details, textures, grip, gray-levels and details in darker segments are awesome. Every frame here declares „I was shot on real film stock“. No noticeable DNR and edge enhancement filters have been applied!

Cut and Run:
This is a version intégrale from a complete intact source. NO noticeable inserts from low quality sources have been applied. The movie has passed uncut by the BBFC.

Final Thoughts:
Fans, collectors and people with big screens or projectors should spend their money at once and will for sure have a great time, giving them the creeps. SISTERS never looked better in home cinemas. There is a nice collectors booklet within the first issue and the BD contains nice supplements. This is the definite film-like version at the moment and it outsmarts the already very good CRITERION DVD in every aspect. An upgrade is essential. The film is worth seeing several times anyway. This work is getting better each time you'll see it. Absolutely recommended.

How I rate / What I rate:
My ratings refer exclusively to technical aspects of BD sets. The more film-like a HD transfer looks and feels via a projection, the more high-class the source is scanned and digitally treated afterwards, the higher my ratings will be. Digital phenomenons like edge enhancement, block noise, digital appealing grain, swarming grain / noise behavoir and DNR filtering will directly result in lower ratings.
I do not rate movies at all. In the introduction part I just offer my opinion, based on taste, preferences and knowledge about film/photography in general. Movies are artificial constructions where many efforts have been taken (including complex postproduction) to accomplish a vision of whatsoever kind. No movie made for cinema ever shot has earned a 1 star rating on AMAZON or a 1 point rating on IMDB. I have studied many publications about making films, their psychological impact, and the subject violence on film. I am a hobby photographer knowing much about frame compositions, color and light effects and different styles. I am also a hobby musician and sound designer for my own private joy. I could rate a movie/ its soundrack, but why should I? Things are what they are and nothing more or less. I like to think beyond mind constructed terms of good and bad. So called "objectivity" becomes fast diluted by preferences which results in comments of personal taste. These comments are fine but they go without any base value for creating a rating-scale out of them. Technical aspects are a different kind of matter. DNR, edge enhancement, block noise and such things are obvious even on small screens and maybe we can speak more of objectivity and measurability in this area. I think we should be informed about the quality of a product.

All about Ev(m)e:
I am a collector of films for 27 Years, own about 3.000 films (would be far more, but I often sort out transfers I dont like) and watch them in a home-cinema room via bigscreen projection. I am also a hobby musician and photographer with some experience scanning camera negatives in high definitions. I am fascinated by film (from reels) since I am a kid and spent hours for hours in cinemas and visiting film festivals.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
Fantastic film, yes it is influenced by Hitchcock which is a common theme in De Palma flicks but people also seem to have not mentioned the Polanski influence of Repulsion.Despite this it does have a life of its own and is a very good thriller/horror. Lots of memorable and well directed scenes. Last part of the film is very surreal. I also found that there was great humor in certain scenes. The acting is first rate here particularly of William Finley. A masterpiece.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
Great movie. Beautiful release. I saw this film at the cinema many years ago and this copy looks sharper than it looked then. The story holds up well right to the end. I'd forgotten how it ended which made it feel as if I was watching a fresh new thriller for much of the running time. Herrmann's score catapault's you into a queasily thrilling world from the very opening. Worth watching and owning.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
Sisters (1973) - Arrow's UK Blu Ray Reviewed by Darren Allison
CONTAINS SPOILERS - "The Next Alfred Hitchcock" was how director Brian De Palma was being celebrated by some back in 1973. It was largely in praise of his latest film, the thriller `Sisters'. There is little doubt that Sisters is not only homage to Hitchcock's Psycho, but also a huge nod towards Hitchcock's entire body of work. As the saying goes - `You only borrow from the best' and of course, it was no secret that De Palma was a huge admirer of Hitchcock's work.
`Sisters' was inspired by a Life Magazine article read by De Palma, about the Russian Siamese twins Masha and Dasha. The film begins with a model named Danielle (played by Margot Kidder), who appears on the local TV game show, Peeping Toms (the film's first example of its voyeuristic theme). Danielle goes out to dinner with the winning contestant, Phillip Wood. Her strange ex-husband Emile (De Palma regular William Finley) follows Danielle to the restaurant and finally creates a scene. Phillip takes Danielle back to her home in Staten Island. Emile keeps watch outside their apartment, as Danielle and Phillip spend the night together.
The next morning, Phillip is brutally killed (with a large Psycho style knife and in graphic detail) after overhearing Danielle speak to her sister, Dominique. The murder is seen by reporter Grace Collier (Jennifer Salt), from her own apartment (not unlike Hitchcock's Rear Window). The police are not entirely enamelled with Grace or her homicide story, perhaps because she had recently wrote a damming story on the Police Force. In true Hitchcock style, Grace takes it upon herself to investigate and is drawn into a bizarre story of Siamese siblings, a mysterious mental institute, and identifying the truth behind Dominique and Danielle. It is established that Danielle never recovered from the death of her twin Dominique. Furthermore, Dominique remains alive in the mind of Danielle - a form of guilt lodged deep within her soul - and the result of having been the twin to survive a surgical separation. Danielle's sexual experience with men (such as Philip or Emile) becomes the catalyst that awakens Dominique and the murderous side of Danielle's damaged mind.
De Palma's film is a fascinating watch, the observations alluding to Hitchcock's body of work almost border on blatant, but it is spirited, and because of that, we simply suck it in and revel in it - rather than being repelled by it. Even the `Janet Leigh' element - (the killing off of a likeable lead character so early in the film), is carried out in Sisters smoothly and capably. De Palma's own trademark feature - the use of the split screen process is also deployed well. In particular, the murder of Phillip as witnessed by Grace uses the process to super effect. Whilst one half of the screen illustrates Phillip's perspective looking from the apartment window across to Grace, the other half focuses on Grace's window and her POV, looking to Phillip's window and his eventual demise - all of which is excellent stuff. Fans of Hitchcock may also like to know composer Bernard Herrmann provides one of his truly great 70s scores for Sisters - and cements the homage to perfection.
Arrow has produced a delicious looking (1080p) High Definition digital master with fine detail and just the right amount of grain. De Palma chose to shoot on 35mm opposed to 16mm, regardless of budget restraints, which proved to be the right choice as the difference clearly shows. De Palma was aware that blowing up a 16mm print to 35mm would have made a noticeable difference, instead he used 16mm in emphasise certain scenes, and he chose wisely. Viewing Arrow's Blu-Ray allows us to view the film cleanly whilst never letting us forget we are watching a 70s movie, and as a result - a perfect balance is achieved. Adding to the overall retro experience, the original Mono audio is also retained, leaving no room for unnecessary tinkering and tweaking and removing us from the familiar comfort `zone'.
Arrow has also provided a nice collection of Extras which include an excellent documentary What the Devil Hath Joined Together: Brian De Palma's Sisters - A visual essay by author Justin Humphreys. There is also a generous collection of all new interviews with co-writer Louisa Rose, actress Jennifer Salt, editor Paul Hirsch and unit manager Jeffrey Hayes. The De Palma Digest - A film-by-film guide to the director's career by critic Mike Sutton is a very nice 30 minute retrospective guide to De Palma's work, and proved somewhat insightful - especially on his later films which to some degree had slipped under the radar... There is also an archival audio interview with De Palma friend and Sisters co-star William Finley (Emile). The original theatrical trailer and Gallery of Sisters promotional material from around the world, round off the disc very nicely in deed. Whilst a check disc was provided for the purpose of this review, Arrow's retail version contains a reversible sleeve featuring original and newly commissioned artwork by Graham Humphreys and a Illustrated collector's booklet featuring new writing on the film by author Kier-La Janisse (House of Psychotic Women) as well as Brian De Palma's original 1973 Village Voice essay on working with composer Bernard Herrmann and a contemporary interview with De Palma on making Sisters, and the 1966 Life magazine article that inspired the film.
`Sisters' (released on April 28th 2014) is a super addition to the Arrow catalogue and a wonderful opportunity to enjoy De Palma's first real taste of mainstream cinema in the finest possible quality.
77 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
Just watched this one. Brian De Palma's first Hitchcock (Alfred) -type thriller. A Siamese twin goes knife-crazy when a nice young man brings her a cake on her birthday. She didn't even ask for one. He just bought it - and had it decorated (not cheap, I'll bet) out of the goodness of his heart. Believe it or not, this was the GOOD twin! - The bad one was thrown away before the film begins. There's a scary man who's shown in close-up with a fish-eye lens, and tap-dancing triplets. Not to give too much away (it is a mysteryfilm after all) but the couch did it, I think. A Sherlock Holmes-style cow finds it at a train station, with Charles Durning, P.I. up a telephone pole watching through binoculars. Which people do quite a lot in this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
De Palma channelled his inner-Hitchcock for a tale of voyeuristic dangers and misdirection heavily inspired by Rope (1948) and Rear Window (1954). He builds suspense with the same visual language elements that Hitch perfected, such as using figurative precursors to upcoming key events and granting viewers a godlike view of a situation while simultaneously keeping them at a precise distance from the real truth.
He further enhances the narrative by using a split screen technique not just to add a cool visual effect but to highlight subtext, ensuring the role we play as audience is an active, analytical one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
Finally in blu ray -- something the Americans won't bother with doing.

Great clear imagery and detail you would expect from blu ray, even the noticeable grain. Sound was vivid. The only flaw would be the framing of the image. Lower half of the bottom lettering in some title credits is missing; this is a problem for sticklers since the fonts are small. However, the blu ray imagery makes up for this tiny flaw. I do not regret this purchase.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 March 2015
Sisters is directed by Brain De Palma who also co-writes the screenplay with Louisa Rose. It stars Margot Kidder, Jennifer Salt, Charles Durning, Lisle Wilson and William Finley. Music is by Bernard Herrmann and cinematography by Gregory Sandor.

When newspaper reporter Grace Collier (Salt) observes what she perceives to be a murder in the apartment across the street from her own, it proves to be the catalyst for a trip down a dark psychologically damaged street.

To be honest here, the continuous complaints about De Palma being a Hitchcock clone got boring around about the mid eighties. As Hitch is my personal favourite director it has never bothered me one bit that he homaged and borrowed from the great man's cannon, in fact I have always found that when on form it was great to have someone like De Palma to keep the suspense thriller genre going. It's not as if he's the only one who owes his career to director's from the past really is it?

Sisters is a wonderfully trippy suspenser, where De Palma lifts from some great Hitchcock motifs to portray a clinically edgy story based around an article he read about Siamese twins Masha and Dasha Krivoshlyapova. Infused with technical flourishes such as split screens, POV filming and close quarter framing, the director is donating his own blood for the veins of the piece. Suspense is rarely far away, be it characters in some sort of danger, or the possible discovery of a body, there is no pause for pointless filler fodder. While twists and revelations engage the brain instead of insulting it, something many of today's horror/thriller directors could learn to "homage" from actually, and a nightmare section of film literally unfurled out of the minds eye is top draw.

Herrmann was enticed out of near retirement to score the music, the genre and themes at work in the story ready made for his skilled compositions. The score in all essence is lifted from his own major works for Hitchcock, with added sections taken from Jason and the Argonauts and Mysterious Island, but reworked in such a way it drifts a perfectly off-kilter vibe across production. Kidder and Salt do great work in tricky roles, and Finley is suitably edgy. Durning is a little wasted, though, but it's a small complaint in the acting area. There's a couple of plot holes and one turn of events that just doesn't make sense, but this is a prime De Palma thriller and a good starting point for anyone interested in his work. And yes! For anyone who really isn't bothered about someone homaging a past master. 8/10
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2012
..(THE FILM).
.A scary and stylish accolade to female destructiveness, De Palma's first foray into horror voyeurism is a stunning amalgam of split screen effects, bloody birthday cakes, and a chilling score by frequent Hitchcock collaborator, Bernard Hermann. Margot Kidder stars as Danielle, a beautiful model separated from her Siamese twin, Dominique. When a hotshot reporter (Jennifer Salt) suspects Dominique of a brutal murder, she becomes dangerously ensnared in the sisters' insidious sibling bond...
WHAT CAN I SAY?
"Sisters" is more in the vein of psychological horror that DePalma seems to excel. Upon it's original release, everyone was bashing him for being such a rip-off of the works of Hitchcock. True it wasn't an original idea to introduce a main character and then kill them off thirty minutes into the film, but this shouldn't be such a crime. To his credit, DePalma never made a cameo appearance in any of his films!
So, now that I agree that DePalma never ripped off Hitchcock Besides even if he did, one only has to watch the Van Sant remake of "Psycho" and all is forgiven!
We can go back and look at the film for the work of subtle horror that it is.
Sisters benefits from a terrific set-up,
a well delivered first hour,
a marvelous Bernard Herrmann score, and De Palma's able use of a split screen.
Margot Kidder gives a wonderful performance in the dual role of Danielle and Dominique
"Sisters" is a genuinely terrifying and unbearably suspenseful experience.
it is also
very sophisticated,
very intellectually challenging,
very stylish and most important of all it is
very unpredictable.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
A brilliant early outing from Movie Brat legend Brian De Palma.

The film can be seen as a mash-up of various Hitchcock films, yet is unmistakably De Palma with fluid camera movements, quick cutting, split screen and suspense. The result is a terrifying and gripping, well made film by a soon-to-be master director who went on to make classics such as Blow Out (1981), Scarface (1983) and Carlito's Way (1993).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)