Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
356
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 April 2007
This is one of the most brilliant films I have ever seen: it sparkles like a diamond. It is an affectionate, clever and funny look at the history of "talking pictures" - and so much more! As a fan of old movies and musicals and having a keen interest in the history of motion pictures, I find this to be a truly magical, wonderful film. However, aside from the humour, the music, the charming performers and the glorious technicolour, this film is worth watching for two things alone: Gene Kelly and Donald O'Connor. Their dance routines are an absolute joy to watch. I watch their routines over and over again. The 'Moses' routine is fascinating as these dancers have very different styles and yet they both compliment each other so well. Their dancing is so fantastic it makes you want to cry. If you are a fan of old movies and old movie musicals and this one has managed to pass you by, invest in this movie now and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2006
I have had this movie on VHS long before DVDs even existed! And watched it countl4ess times, so now my original 2 (!) copies are worn out. This is a wonderful movie, an all-time favourite you can't get tired of!

The humour, the playfulness, the freshness and charm are still intact after so amny years. The songs and dance parts are amazing. This movie is a true legend! Who has never heard of "Singin' in the rain"? *shakes head* everyone has!

The actors are great: Gene Kelly is stunning, Debbie Reynolds is charming in her fresh youth, Donald O'Connor playing Cosmo is extremely funny and Jean Hagen (who plays Lina Lamont) is simply perfect! her voice is so irritating, hehe :-)

This film is a must have, you must have it in your collection, there is nothing that can cheer you up better on a rainy Sunday or after an exhausting week on a Friday night than watching this witty and funny production. This movie is a true gem!
11 comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2006
Produced when Technicolor was a revolutionary and seat-filling innovation, "Singin' in the Rain" is, regardless of its many other claims to fame, a stunning example of how to use the medium's clear, saturated colours to incredibly powerful effect. Every scene is meticulously crafted to amplify the contrast, atmosphere & impact of the technology and, on this superbly rendered DVD rendition, they just jump out of the screen at you.

A truly amazing experience for this reason alone. Add-in its wonderful songs - including Gene Kelly's iconic title number, arguably the best song & dance routine of all time - its brilliant comic sequences - including Donald O'Connor's "Make 'em Laugh" slapstick rollercoaster, arguably the slickest & funniest slice of cinema of all time (watch how he catches his hat towards the beginning... incredible) - and its charmingly optimistic, infectiously entertaining story-line and you've got something very special.

They don't make films like this any more; in fact they didn't make many, if any, films as good as this then. Pure cinematic brilliance - sit back and revel in it all.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 July 2004
Not only is this a truly classic musical and a wonderful comedy, it is also a piece of Hollywood history, cataloguing (albeit tongue-in-cheek) the mayhem that ensued when silent pictures gave way to the new-fangled 'talkies,' suddenly putting stars whose voice and face didn't match permanently out of work!
The story opens at a film premiere in Los Angeles' famous Chinese Theatre. Silent film stars Don Lockwood (Gene Kelly) and Lina Lamont (Jean Hagen) arrive for the opening of their latest film - and Don tells the waiting audience how he and Lina first met. Throughout, Lina remains enigmatically silent. Later, the studio boss announces that their next film will be a talkie - and finally the beautiful Lina speaks, revealing the horrible truth: she has a voice that could strip paint and crack teapots!
On his way to the post premiere party, Don meets Kathie Seldon (Debbie Renolds). She is a wannabe actress - and refreshingly unimpressed by his big screen star persona. Don inevitably falls in love with her - but things don't go quite according to plan. Lina is convinced that her on-screen romances with Don are, in fact, the genuine article.
Filming of Don and Lina's new romance, 'The Duelling Cavalier' is soon halted when it become obvious to all that Lina's voice will ruin it. Don's best friend, Cosmo Brown (Donald O'Connor) suggests transforming the film into a musical and dubbing out Lina, using Kathy's beautiful singing voice instead. It seems the perfect solution - but is it a recipe for disaster?
This fabulous musical has possibly one of the best scores of all time. Every song is truly memorable, including: 'All I do is Dream of You,' 'Fit as a Fiddle,' 'You Are My Lucky Star,' 'Broadway Melody,' 'Good Morning,' Make 'em Laugh,' and of course the wonderful title piece 'Singing in the Rain.'
The comedy scenes are a delight; in particular those showing the teething problems with sound-recording and the risible on-screen results are hilarious - especially when the sound goes out of sinc with the film.
Anyone with an interest of Hollywood history knows that these scenes are uncomfortably close to the truth. Even the featured characters: a gossip columnist, exotic femme fatale star, ineffectual studio boss, etc., are based (albeit loosely on real characters). The character of Kathy, (forced by studio bosses to sacrifice her own career to dub the voice of others) might possibly remind many of Marni Nixon, who several years later spent her career dubbing the singing voices of non-singing stars for such famous musicals as 'The King & I' and 'My Fair Lady' - and all without screen credit.
Sound and picture quality on the DVD are greatly superior to the old VHS.
Grab this now - and the next time it rains, you won't be able to resist bursting into song too!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2005
Maybe I am one of the few who directly go to the extras on DVD and I certainly wasn't disappointed in this one. The film is a classic and can put a smile on my face any time I feel down in the dumps.
I especially loved the special of the Arthur Freed Unit as my favourite musicals were produced by that Unit. Although I am only 41 and born after the heyday of the musical, I have always loved them and especially want to k now how they were made. I will always appreciate the hard work and long hours that were done by anyone involved in these "feel-good" movies (from the time when that wasn't a dirty word).
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2003
I knew the reputation of Singin' In The Rain.. but i always thought it might be one of those cheesy musicals with one good song, and is famous for no other reason than being great in its day.. but after watching the poor Mouling Rouge and the ok Chicago, and taking into consideration how many people claim these to be a return to form for musicals.. i just had to find out whether they really were, because i could swear musicals were MUCH better than these recent attempts...
And all i can say is all the reputation Singin' In The Rain has is more than well deserved, it is just one of those classic great films, and has to be one of the absolute best musicals i've ever seen. The 90 minutes fly by like nothing else, and you will have a smile on your face for more or less the complete duration... the cast couldn't be any more charismatic or likeable, a very simple story FULL of charm.. and the songs!! great, but don't let me forget the dancing!! now this is one area where we lack today, we simply don't seem to have such amazing performers who can act as good as they dance, and boy can they dance!! some sequences will blow you away. Even the film from a technical stand point is brilliant, every department is inspired.
There is only song i didn't like, the one where they sing about fashion.. other than that this film is near flawless, a masterpiece that will put a smile on even the most cynical face.. cheesy it is NOT!
Add to this one of the best transfers on DVD, and a great price!! an easy Recommendation!! :)
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2002
Many people are put off this movie because they see musicals as being very generic and too contrived with people walking down the street (or lane) and suddenly bursting into song for no apparent reason. These people are right, but as soon as you watch this movie you just find yourself hooked. Many a night I've been flicking through the channels and found this on and just been unable to carry on flicking.
The first thing that strikes you is the humour. This is a funny film. The 'Make em Laugh' sketch is genius and Lina Lamont is one of the best movie characters of all time as Jean Hagen delivers a hysterically subtle performance which almost steals the movie away from her more illustrious co-stars.
The second notable is just how many great songs are in this one flick it is truly staggering and you will probably recognise more than the title song upon first viewing.
At the very heart is the incredible chemistry between the actors with O'Connor sparking and Reynolds and Kelly simply sizzling.
This is what all movies should aspire to. Just sheer entertainment from start to finish with a few twists and turns along the way. This isn't going to tax the grey matter too much but once you've finished watching it you will have a great big smile on your face. So what if they just start bursting into song. This is just as charming as celluloid can be.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
Warners has released many variations of the blu-ray version of "Singin in the Rain" across the various geographical regions. Every region has a single disc version and then there is an larger set with either 2 or 3 discs with additional special features and in some cases extra non-film content like an umbrella or a small hardback book with information about the film. It doesn't help when Amazon mixes up the various reviews for the different editions but I hope the following provide adequate information for UK purchasers.

This set has the same disc contents as the US 3 disc Ultimate Collector's Edition with the exception of the umbrella, book and poster reproductions but at a quarter of the price and it goes one better - instead of the second dvd which is merely the film again in standard format, the UK set replaces this with a CD Soundtrack. France had a similar limited edition set with a hardback book and poster reproductions but again was much more expensive. The UK 3 disc set is the 'best value' version as it has all of the special features of the US Ultimate Edition including two feature length documentaries, other additional features and a soft-back version of the hardback book included in the US and French limited editions. The packaging comprises of a flimsy but adequate standard sized slipcase that houses the book and a UK blu-ray keepcase containing all the discs(1 blu-ray, 1 dvd and 1 CD).

Apart from the wonderful film, the single best feature is the film-length documentary "Musicals Great Musicals: The Arthur Freed Unit at MGM", about the unit responsible for some of the very best musicals in film history. There is also the new documentary "Singin' in the Rain: Raining on a New Generation" and the 2002 documentary "What a Glorious Feeling: The Making of Singin' in the Rain" as well as an audio commentary featuring Debbie Reynolds, Donald O'Connor, Cyd Charisse, Kathleen Freeman, co-director Stanley Donen, screenwriters Betty Comden and Adolph Green and others. All in all, those who can't afford or obtain the US Ultimate Collector's Edition or are smart enough to spend their hard-earned moola wisely will be completely satisfied with the UK 3 disc edition!

There isn't much I can say about the film that hasn't been said before by better reviewers. This is one of the best musicals ever and I am certain anyone who likes musicals and movies in general will find much to enjoy and cherish. This is another 4K remaster from Warners but it just falls short of the picture quality of other 4K remasters such as 'Ben-Hur' and 'Casablanca' although this may be due to issues with the original elements as opposed to any failing with the new remastering. Most viewers will not even notice any flaws as the visuals looks stunning in HD and the colours are rich and vibrant. This is the best this film is going to look at this time and for the forseeable future so please do not hesitate to purchase the blu-ray if you really want it. The sound quality is simply excellent with a DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 surround track that ensures audiences really get the full effect across the soundfield. You can hear the dialogues clearly as well as the lyrics.

Usually we in the UK get short-changed with regard to features and packaging, and have to resort to importing from the US or other regions in order to get the features we deserve. This time we got the best deal, at least as regards the disc-based content. Yes, the packaging is not as good as the US Ultimate Collector's Edition or the French Limited Ed, but we have all the features at far cheaper cost...Enjoy!
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2012
After seeing the 60th Anniversary Ultimate Collection box set promoted on the internet I was very keen to get my hands on one and now I have, it doesn't disappoint in the slightest!!!!

The 60th Anniversary box set was obviously given lots of thought by Warner Bros. as it's been put together extremely well indeed and presented just beautifully!! Even the little finishing touches are particulary amazing (the raindrops on the outer sleeve and the embossed umbrella silhouettes all over the box, book and DVD packaging as well!!). In this superb collection you get a very interesting hard back book about the film and the actors involved, replicas of the original movie theatre posters (in minature form of course!!) three discs (2 DVDs and 1 Blu-Ray - the 2 DVDs are the same as the 50th Anniversary box set DVDs) and although they are region 1 I was still able to watch them on my PC!! As Amazon tells us, not all multi-region DVDs play on all multi-region DVD players so do be aware of that before buying!! And finally you also get a smashing 60th Anniversary umbrella as well (with a really cool little umbrella charm attached to the handle!!). I can SO envisage myself dancing down the road with my 'Singin In The Rain' umbrella!!!!

All in all I'd say that this is a fantastic collectors edition of one othe greatest movie musicals of all time, so it's really worth buying!! And of course the movie is just brilliant as well and proves that it really is a timeless classic!! I've lost count of the amount of times I've watched the movie, however I never get bored of it!! Now that's the sign of a true classic in my opinion!!!!

It's safe to say that if you get hold of this amazing box set you won't be disappointed!!

It cetainly put "A SMILE ON MY FACE"!!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2015
Not just the greatest musical of all times (on my opinion, and not only mine, this film looks still fresh and more contemporary than all the following rock and opera musicals from late 60ies on) but one of the most perfect and incredible work of art in cinema history. The hd version is sublime and this edition is so special, with a book full of pics and infos and the umbrella that makes it even more a must have. It has many languages and subs, being the international version (including, thus, italian, german, french, etc....). What else to say about the film? It is to me one of the highest peaks of human expression of the 20th century, a perfect yet so emotional and true example of innovation, tradition, excellent script and great performances, where all the pieces of the puzzle are perfect themselves and make the whole picture even better than the sum of all the parts. It is the best portrait of Kelly's unique touch: gentle and bold at the same time, respectful of the tradition but also so far ahead of his times, a great soloist that can get the best out of all the cast and crew.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)