Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 February 2012
I have one criticism: at the end of the book, the author claims the bread can last up to 3 weeks; we have never managed more than 2 days!
I like cooking, but I do not like following "exact" (or any) recipes - and so I had never made bread before. But as the bread from shops around here is so poor, and gives most of the family eczema, I decided to go for it, following this book which I'd actually bought some time ago.
I like it. Others have criticized it because it is short, or because it only gives one variation. Perhaps, but that's all I need, as long as it's good. And it is - my children devoured even the couple of unleavened efforts at the beginning!
I did find that my starter didn't work out, before I used organic bought starter a couple of times - but now I just use the starter from the last loaves (without any added starter-yeast).
I have developed a variation on the cooking - to please my tastes. I cover the baking-tin or put the dough in a Pyrex dish with cover - which I remove 10 minutes from the end. I find, by keeping the humidity in, that the crust particularly is less thick and less dry, that way - and the loaf looks "shinier" (It is important to take off the cover at the end, or else the crust becomes soggy).
I'm still playing with different varieties of flour, will probably try a little Rye. Overall, the book is yes, short, yes, simple - and yes, we get excellent bread out of it!
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
Makes the black art of sourdough bread easy and understandable. the methods are foolproof - try it, we did and it is superior to shop bought loaves
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2011
A waste of time buying this; seriously, you need to research a little more than this 'booklet' which is all it is. There are far better books on artisan/sourdough bread baking out there. The most import ingredient in sourdough baking is the 'starter' ...this booklet does nothing to assist the reader in creating and nurturing that elusive culture.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
This is a very short book but it tells you all you need to know to make sourdough. Still I am not going to make bread in the quantities suggested. I have my own sourdough starter but I think I might need to make bread using Mark's method.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
The book is too simply and not much informative. Instructions are simple but lack detail I had to dig internet to find out more about starting the culture because it is the most important step towards making good loaf.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
Just the basic instructions, without the variations, which is all you need really. Basic instructions are clear and concise, so should be read by anybody interested in making sourdough. Also, they appear to work! For a free book, what more do you want?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
The 'book' is a basic article that can be found anywhere FREE on the internet. Not one recipe in sight and nothing I didn't already know...very disappointing!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
There is a lot of mysticism and even a touch of magic, perhaps, surrounding this subject.

This book debunks all the myths surrounding sourdough starters. It's common sense approach makes it possible for those of us who are not master bakers or even wizards to enjoy the best bread with ease and confidence.

l wish that I had this knowledge years ago!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
I am intrigued by Sourdough, the process behind it and how to make bread.
The book is really short and to the point, but it gives you a real fast insight into the subject.
A good book for a beginner to learn the basics.
Can't wait to try Sourdough out for myself.
Great read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
A pamphlet or leaflet more than a book but has everything you need information wise to make sourdough. There are many books on this subject but at the end they don't say much more than this does and in such a succcinct way. Would recommend for sourdough addicts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)