Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
87
Silva Ranger Compass
Colour: Black/Clear|Change
Price:£23.95+ Free shipping


on 13 March 2017
Don't be tempted by the cheaper options they wont be as accurate. A magnification viewer is comes in very handy for enlarging those tricky OS map areas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2017
Great little compass as I expected from Silva who have been around as long as I can remember.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2017
Great traijning compass
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2017
Brother really liked his compass which is well used walking around Derbyshire.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2016
great compass
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2015
The strap broke within a couple of weeks which was disappointing. Otherwise it's fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2017
Arrived safely and was just as I needed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2016
Silva's website says the Ranger is designed for backpackers not the Expedition 4 and as a weekend walker I think this is the one to go for.

It has distance measurement at the scale I use, 1:25,000, exactly where I want it, on the left hand side of the compass which I use to measure. The Expo has centimetres there. I don't want to mess about with mental maths in a filthy storm - I just want to know what the distance is.

It doesn't have rubber feet to keep the compass fixed on the map case to take a bearing, but if you use a quality map case such as an Ortlieb, you don't need them, because the case plastic itself is deliberately tacky to secure a compass.

The baseplate is slightly shorter than the Expo, but still long enough to take a bearing no problem.

It doesn't have Romers, but backpackers don't need them either.

Don't make the mistake I did and buy a cheap compass. The needle in a cheap one just wallows around wherever it feels like and you can't trust it. The needle in this one locks onto north like a guided missile, and stays there.

The housing has plenty of orienteering lines to line up with a grid line on the map to take a bearing, unlike many cheap compasses which have fewer lines, and this is a big deal when using one.

The magnifier is superb for looking at small features on the map.

I'm very glad I dug a bit deeper in my pocket to get this and the Ortlieb case. It's not about being a poser. The quality makes all the difference when you're out there.

Worth every penny.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2012
Silva Field 7 compassAn excellent quality compass for general walking and hiking. The dial is clear and easy to read, plus the needle mount system employed by Silva means it doesn't 'stick' at certain directions when the compass is not exactly flat in your hand or on the map as other makes do. This is a brilliant entry level compass that will last years. Delivery time was superb even though it came from Europe.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2017
I bought 2 ranger and 5 classic Silva compasses for my scout troop a year ago. since then 1 of the Ranger and 1 classic have reversed poles - (red arrow points south) even though they were not stored together.
Silva deny that the quality has changed recently or any responsibility. So after 35 years of devotion to the Silva brand I have decided to bin the remaining compasses and buy another brand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here