Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Martine McCutcheon Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2013
The story is set in the 80s so not so technically advanced. The plot is a little fanciful as everything goes well for the Americans (as it always seems to do) and there is one incredible, outrageous piece of luck that saves the day but ignore that and it is a very readable tale.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
The story is perfectly readable but a bit predictable. The good guys (the Americans) and the bad guys (the Russians) and the rights and wrongs are clearly and rather stereotypically defined and the outcome entirely predictable. The story is rescued by an author who clearly knows a bit about submarines and their operation and so (at least to this layman) the book appears realistic in its technical descriptions.

Basically though, a fairly enjoyable read but not an outstanding piece of naval fiction taken against the benchmark of the likes of Nicholas Monserrat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
A compelling read with subplots filled with action that combine to make a great story for those specifically interested in submarine technical aspects andwarfare.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
A masterpiece with great tactical and physical detail. Clealy lovingly crafted from real-life experience to bring a story that is gripping and almost fully believable. A great mix of character based story at home, and tense moments of conflict at sea. I would recommend this to anyone interested in either Submarines or The Cold War.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
I love the sea and submarines in particular, so I avidly grab any book on the subject, often to my disappointment, but not so with Mr Ulmer's offerings, they race on through the story taking you on a journey that never fails to satisfy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
The cover is confusing the reader.Action is prolonged and interupted by social activities.You would need to have served in the Submarine Service to follow the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
A well written novel delving into an horrendous lpossible future but one where good triumphs over evil in the long run. Goo0d submarine story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
Good read and holds your attention for most of the book. Technical knowledge is good which makes the story credible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
This is my first read by this author, I enjoyed it and will look for further titles. Good bedtime Read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2016
Not one I would recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse