Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2017
A+
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Excellent cd, as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
Amazing album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2005
i think this album is superlative. it's raw, it's edgy, it's fusion, there are so many influences at work in this album that it's exhilarating to hear - you know that the musicians have listened to a lot of different music, and they have a lot of ideas. it's original, it's interesting, it's honest, it's very very british, seeming to come from that same ska-punk-fusion late 70s-early 80s approach, if not the sound (kele okereke's voice has the 'punk' sound, but the rest of the music crosses boundaries, some of the drumming sounding drum-and-bassish without ever falling into the trap) - there are bits of this album which make me think of kate bush at her finest moments, as strange as it may sound - totally original, thoughtful, serious, dedicated, visionary, idiosyncratic musicianship, never flawless (but who wants flawless?) - an excellent album, on first hearing i felt that a couple of the last tracks were noticeably weaker than the rest of the album, although i love the final track (compliments). the album works as a whole since the more melodic tracks act as relief against the harsher sounding, deep tracks with heavy bass and crazy guitar riffs and drum battering and these keening vocals wailing over the top. i don't listen to hype, i'm not into any one scene, i have a wide variety of tastes and in my opinion this is a great album. and i don't like franz ferdinand.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
its okay
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2006
"Have you heard any Bloc Party?"
"No, who do they sound like?"
"Um..."
Bloc Party have produced an excellent album here. Edgy opener 'Like Eating Glass' sets the tone, with Kele Okerere's unique voice grabbing your attention immediately. Songs such as 'Helicopter' (which is becoming a bit of a cult classic - at least where I am!) and 'Luno' show off some thoroughly individual-sounding, upbeat indie, whilst the slower songs, particularly 'This Modern Love', are very relaxing, somewhat romantic and prove some versatility.
Lyrics are also great - again, 'Helicopter' stands out, as it's an effective, wry and subtle attack on George W. Bush, and also 'Price of Gasoline', an angry anti-Iraq war message ("The price of gas keeps on rising/Nothing comes for free").
Bloc Party show intelligence, enthusiasm and a unique sound - let's hope for more British music like this, to save of from some of the very poor music being hyped at the moment.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2007
This is astounding music. Energetic but calming, spikey but ethereal.

At it's essence it is pop music, but it has an intelligence to it that cannot be overlooked. And surprisingly for a British guitar band, it isn't a rye, 'knowing' type of intelligence. Yes, Kele Okereke and his band take themselves very seriously, and yes they do look like archetypal students, but this debut is proof that they are making some the most sophisticated guitar pop in music today. The new album has a slightly bigger sound, and the themes are more urban. This album is different, the cover-art captures the shimmeringly austere sounds that are burned onto the disc.

One of my favourite records of the past 5 years.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2006
When i first heard this album, i thought it was massively overrated. After a few listens, i found the album coming back to me during the day. Its amazing, and Playing guitar, Russel Lissacks style interests me hugely. I love Keles voice and lyrics, they are introspective and intelligent yet often anthemic. The drumming is good, particularly on opener "like eating glass". I Love most of the songs on this album. Some of them make you want to move, others are breathtakingly beautiful. Bloc party are a band that take themselves seriously, and they arent a fad. Unlike Kaiserchiefs, they are here to stay. Not in the charts necessarily, but that was never their intention.
This album is not to be missed, but needs a few listens. An awesome debut.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2007
In a word - AWESOME.
Their debut is brilliant and hits all the spots for me. With amazing songs such as Helicopter where you could recognise it anywhere and She's Hearing Voices Bloc Party are really one great band. The drumming is great as is the singing. Everything about them is great.
The lyrics seem to actually mean something and will have you singing along if not out loud then in your head!.
For all fans of Brit pop/rock Bloc Party is the band for you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2005
When i first heard of Bloc Party, i thought they would be a small understated group who produced average music. On buying the album i didnt expect that much, despite the hype. After listening to the album several times it dawned on me that this group really were something special. Each track is sprawling with raw energy and edge. There is so much determination and ambition in these songs that i know they are going to get bigger and bigger.
In my oppinion, Bloc Party are the most talented new indie band, with such a diverse and individual sound, they are set for a long and successfull career contributing more fantastic music to the brittish scene. Expect big things, and make sure you have a copy of thsi album. When you need cheering up, or just feel really excited... stick this on and jump around the room to the raw sound of %100 pure indie rock!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)