Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
241
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:£2.49


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2017
i love this film. The acting is great, the dialogue is clear, meaningful and often funny. The pace of the film is good. Oh and anyway i love wine, not that you need too but it makes it more understandable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
A film for grown ups exploring relationships, very funny, good music, depth and one of the rudest and funniest scenes ever!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
A holarous and funny movie.......not much abt wine but finny it was
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Good story and great scenery. Wine buffs will enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
Loved it. Took me a couple of attempts to watch it, but glad i did. Worth watching, especially if you're a wine drinker
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 August 2015
In Alexander Payne’s seven day road trip movie through the Santa Ynez vineyards of California Paul Giamatti and Thomas Haden Church excel as two pathetic (but not irredeemably lost) middle-aged men each coping as best they can with what life has so far thrown at them. Giamatti’s Miles, an aspiring but unsuccessful writer is still moping about his failed marriage while Church’s Jack is a fading actor who seems to have resigned himself to a future in his wife-to-be’s family real estate business. While quaffing good quality wine both men appear to have found their soul-mates but the contrast in behaviour between the two friends is both poignant and hilarious. There is much to admire and enjoy in this film – the beautiful cinematography, the wonderful soundtrack, the intelligent sharp and witty screenplay, indeed the overall melancholy tone of the movie. I suggest that you watch this film having read its Amazon reviews in order that you know what you are letting yourself in for. For me, I loved every minute of the two hours runtime.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Much ado about nothing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 July 2016
This film won many awards when it came out in 2004. This is not a fast-paced film or all action thriller, but a quiet, intelligent, human, mildly amusing, gentle, yet moving film with adult themes. The story sees Miles Raymond a middle-aged, depressed, divorced, aspiring – but unsuccessful – writer and wine enthusiast/borderline alcoholic, who has taken a few knocks and lost his confidence and way in life. He takes his soon-to-be-married actor friend and former college roommate, Jack Cole, on what for Jack is a final bachelor fling, but for Miles, well he hopes for a relaxing, wine filled buddy road trip with a few rounds of golf through the beautiful, sunny golden Californian wine country. The locations add greatly to the films charm. Of course, it turns into quite an adventure with a bit of thought provoking life reflection and some self-discovery. There are wonderful, subtle, understated performances from Paul Giamatti who plays Miles and also Virginia Madsen, who plays Maya, his love interest in the film, where actions, gestures and mature pauses speak far louder than words. I enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2016
It is sort of a road movie, two buddies searching somehow for their meaning of and in life. It is a more quiet movie, with a very nice scenery at times. The sleeve of the dvd says "the funniest film of the year" - well maybe in my opinion not the funniest, but with a glass of wine quite enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2006
I agree with another reviewer, you do have to have lived a little to fully appreciate this film. If you have ever experienced rocky highs and lows, then you may well find something here for you. You don't have to be male to appreciate the struggles and poignancy contained herein.

All the characters are simply superb. Anyone who has felt on an emotional rollercoaster for whatever reason, will be able to feel for, as well as laugh with, the character Miles, who is played so superbly here. There is plenty of pathos and laughter to be found here, and the ridiculousness of the human condition is laid bare without the usual Hollywood gloss. Virginia Madsen is also simply wonderful in this. I finished watching this with a real regret that I would see no more of these wonderfully flawed and rich characters.

There are many moments in this film that are funny. The humour is in a recognition of our own humanity at best and worst. To see Miles (Giamatti) act as a man on the edge is a joy to behold. His loss and rejection reflects the difficulties we all face, and I like that the film deals with this in a very `un-Hollywood' way. How one moment we can lose it and feel utter despair, but, how we can be coaxed out of this a few minutes later by a good friend to feel something encroaching on normality again. This is a film that I will gladly watch again and again.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.49
£0.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)