Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Side Jobs (Dresden Files) Hardcover – 26 Oct 2010

4.6 out of 5 stars 61 customer reviews

See all 13 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover, 26 Oct 2010
£3.92
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Man Booker International Prize 2017
A Horse Walks Into a Bar has won the Man Booker International Prize 2017. Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Non Basic Stock Line; Reprint edition (26 Oct. 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 045146365X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0451463654
  • Product Dimensions: 23.3 x 16.2 x 3.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (61 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,649,789 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

Praise for the Dresden Files
-Think Buffy the Vampire Slayer starring Philip Marlowe.---Entertainment Weekly

-Fans of Laurell K. Hamilton and Tanya Huff will love this series.---Midwest Book Review

-Superlative.---Publishers Weekly (starred review)
-One of the most enjoyable marriages of the fantasy and mystery genres on the shelves.---Cinescape
-Butcher...spins an excellent noirish detective yarn in a well-crafted, supernaturally-charged setting. The supporting cast is again fantastic, and Harry's wit continues to fly in the face of a peril-fraught plot.---Booklist (starred review)
-What's not to like about this series?...It takes the best elements of urban fantasy, mixes it with some good old-fashioned noir mystery, tosses in a dash of romance and a lot of high-octane action, shakes, stirs, and serves.---SF Site
-A tricky plot complete with against-the-clock pacing, firefights, explosions, and plenty of magic. Longtime series fans as well as newcomers drawn by the SciFi Channel's TV series based on the novels should find this supernatural mystery a real winner.---Library Journal
-What would you get if you crossed Spenser with Merlin? Probably you would come up with someone very like Harry Dresden, wizard, tough guy and star of [the Dresden Files].---The Washington Times --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Book Description

A fabulously fresh collection of Dresden Files short stories, giving us more on Harry Dresden, the only wizard PI in the Chicago phonebook. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

See all Product description

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Throughly recommended for Butcher Dresden fans ...

Haven't read Butcher for a while, and thought it would be good to get some short stories to read on my new Kindle.
These shorts are a great way to get your head back into the Dresden universe, and learn more about some of the characters.

Each one is self-contained, and I enjoyed them all, without remembering or worrying about which books they were set around - as long as you have read the first 6 or 7 of the Dresden files then I don't think you'll find any spoilers here (but if you're worried about that, each story is preceded by author comments, and tells you when they are set - i.e. between book X and book X + 1, so you can check you're read the back stories in the main series before reading each short story if you're worried about the 'proper' sequence for first time reading).

I'm now going back to book 1 of the Dresden files to re-read the whole series.

.. matt ..
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Okay as a fan of the series i still struggled to complete this book. though it does state that these are first attempts and hastly written stories they do not have the polish of the main series. If you have read the dresden files i would highly recommend this book as a back story to various incidents mentioned in passing through out the series. i would give four stars for fans of the series I have deducted one for the lower quality of the proes and another because new readers would not have a true experience of the characters and quality of writing in the main books.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Great
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By J. Mcdonald TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 27 Jun. 2011
Format: Paperback
To date, all the reviews on this page have been written by already established fans; allow me to offer a different perspective...
I was in a high-street bookshop idly leafing through the same old sameo, as you do. I lifted a Jim Butcher novel, read the words "wizard", "Harry" and put it back pronto. A certain wizard by that name and the accompanying bandwagon just aren't my cup of Earl Grey. Ten minutes later, some unaccountable force drew me back to the shelf; this time I picked up "Side Jobs". So. A collection of short stories, tales written to slot in with the existing chronicle - what better way to assess a new author and gain a feel for the breadth and depth of his oeuvre?
Half way through the collection I was hooked; I`ve picked up four more volumes and just need "Storm Front" and "Fool Moon", then I`m good to go.
Magic - it can get a guy skint.
I see there is some consternation over the appearance of this volume given that some of the material has appeared elsewhere or at a premium price and I`m sorry to hear that; if it's a cynical marketing device the mojo worked on me - I probably wouldn`t have bothered about Butcher otherwise and I`d have missed out, so I can only recommend this volume - it has been a good introduction to Dresden`s world for me.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Well, if you don't know who the hell Harry Dresden is, find out. Be quick about it too.

Then you can sit back with a cup of your favourite beverage and simply read away. The intriguing compilation of snippets and side stories gives even more depth to the characters and the storylines in the books.

I am always pleased to have the new Harry Dresden book in front of me and long may it continue. I just want more, damn it!

Great stuff as always. Simples!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
The collection of short stories in this book, focusing on Dresden-except for two-are excellent examples of just how madcap and dangerous, as well as how funny, in an almost demented way, Dresden's world and life are. An early case, before he became a Private Detective officially, sees him working with a former Partner who's teaching him the ropes. Unfortunately, in this case its involved him in the search for an eleven year old girl who's run away from home-and who is about to find out that there really are things which go bump in the night. Thankfully, Dresden is there to bump right back-and a pre-SI Murphy jumps in to help while still a uniformed cop. That's the start. Then Dresden has to deal with the chaos which ensues when he tries to take a day off, an attempt by the Fay to kill the leaders of the Alpha's-his Werewolf friends and allies-someone tampering with Mac's beer-Dresden's favourite-the attack on a live action RPG by a Black Court Vampire and her minions, where Harry has to join up with Thomas Raith-a Vampire playing a Vampire-to save the gamers... He keeps busy, so we keep reading and very much enjoying.

A special treat is the story focusing on Thomas Raith, who has to stop Harry from causing catastrophe, maybe even the end of the world, without even being aware of it-all while making sure Harry never knows it's him doing it. It's always interesting to see Dresden through someone else's eyes and, despite their connection, Thomas Raith is still a White Court Vampire?

Another is a story centering on Karrin Murphy, hours after "Changes", where Murphy has turned up at Harry's new "home"-a boat-dressed and made up for a Date with Harry, only to discover blood everywhere and Harry missing.
Read more ›
Comment 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
As I don't tend to buy anthologies, all but one of these stories were new to me and I enjoyed them all. The stories were varied enough to keep me interested and Harry's character is like an old friend. The final story, "Aftermath", was extremely engaging seeing as it was set directly after the events of the last book "Changes". It didn't contain any spoilers, which was equally a positive thing and frustrating (I can't wait for Ghost Story to come out!. It was told from the previously unseen point of view of Karrin Murphy and I found it refreshing and appreciated the extra insight of a beloved character. All in all a fun collection!

(This is the first review I've written, hope it's ok!)
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse