Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 24 July 2013
The only real point of buying a copy of the game as opposed to downloading from Steam is to save £4 or if you want something for your `game shelf'. As I'm sad and own a copy of all the previous versions of Civilization I got my copy from Amazon. As previous reviews have stated, the installation process is tiresome but after a short(ish) wait I had the game up and running.
I've played about 6 games so far and feel that the expansion adds much to what is already a great game.

Building trade routes allows you to generate cash and encourages you to explore more territory in the early game. Trade routes can also spread religion and transfer science points between participating civilizations.

The culture victor has been changed and seems (I'm still working it out tbh) to involve having more `tourism' than all the other players. Players can create great works of art or conduct archaeological digs to retrieve items of interest and placing them in museums in order to build up tourism. Players can trade these artefacts though I have to admit I haven't felt the need so far.

The social policy perks that you earn have been updated to include ideologies. These have been stuck on in a rather messy fashion (imho) and some perks seem really weak compared to the few strong ones available (but cost the same amount of culture points).

Diplomacy has been refined and civilizations react more realistically to your actions. Previously they tended to go to war with you for no reason. Now, unless they're particularly militaristic, they are genuinely friendly to you if you are nice to them. Supporting someone's vote in the World Congress will be appreciated for example. This appeared like a very sensible update however it seems to have made the game easier. I tended to play on immortal level in Gods and Kings and won maybe one third of my attempts. Now I seem to be winning every time I play at this level.

There are other enhancements (unit, luxuries and buildings etc) that add to the epic feel of the game and the variety of tactics you can employ but I think I've mentioned the main updates above.
It's a pretty beefy expansion pack and if you like Civilization V you should appreciate and enjoy Brave New World.
11 Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2013
There are some excellent changes to the policy system, with new ideologies thrown into the mix.
Trade routes actually mean something now, with visible effects.
Culture has been expanded to include tourism, a nice addition, though by no means essential.
Best of all though is the world congress, which adds politics to the mix in a rather brilliant way. Suddenly alliances with city states are important, as this effects the delegates you have, thus how many votes you control. And some of the voting can be important, such as banning trade with a certain civ, or adopting a world ideology or religion.
World Congress adds such a clever layer of depth to how you act with the other civs that this alone would make it a worthwhile purchase, and the other tweaks and additions make it essential.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2013
Finally Civ V becomes the game it should have been to start with. This is the icing on the cake to be sure but its quite a lot of icing! Ridiculous choice of things to do in the game now and its far more interesting late-game now compared to the bare-bones version. If youre a Civ fan or were a Civ fan, buy this - you wont regret it (well your social life might regret it!)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2014
Just as the reviews I read before buying this expansion expressed, this is a brilliant add on. Suddenly any type of victory is actually possible, as long as you know what you are doing. The game is not just fading into a losing or winning game by the mid term, you now still have a chance to turn it round. It makes it more exciting, it makes you watch others progress more and you have to alter your path due to what's going on around you. The extra civilisations are a nice addition for more varied gameplay and it now feels like a more complete game. I think I have enjoyed more games since this expansion pack than I ever have before, even going back as far as Civ2. Definitely a must buy expansion, probably one of the few in recent game history that has really been worth the extra money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2013
More of the same with twists and bonuses. The game is great and this does add a slightly new dimension with a different take on culture. I like some of the new leaders and troops. All in all I would recommend this to any Civ5 player. I was very pleased with supplier - the delivery was very prompt, after release date, and price was very good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2013
I have played this game day after day, hour after hour and I love it. The music is fantastic it doesn't crash and it is totally absorbing. Downside, Steam and having to constantly connect, Shame
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2013
Best strategic game ever, improved and that is something always to be grateful. The new units, buildings, wonders, ideology and improvement in the victory in cultural and diplomatic conditions are just fantastic. May be the only thing is that sometimes you need to turn off the diplomatic winning option in order to complete the science victory (for those of us who like to keep the alliances with the city states always running), or just vote for another player!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2013
After trying the demo I thought this was going to be a great up grade to the game but they have change some of the elements I enjoyed. You can't go to war without everyone turning against you and the spies and religious elements can become very annoying. The new wonders, races and other science elements are great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2014
The only flaw is the speed you move through the ages, no time to savour units, advantages and concepts before you race to the next age. Otherwise hours of fun exploring, inventing and discovering. Tech tree is a bit limited...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2015
The game would not load and I received a refund. The game may be the best ever, but I will probably never know!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)