Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
70
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2017
This is the first book i have read in years. Its gripping right from the start and i struggled to put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
Exactly as stated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2004
It's hard to imagine (being a mother myself) how any mother can put her child through such an ordeal. I read the book in a weekend and although I did feel 'sickened' at what the mother was doing, I felt such admiration for Julie Gregory who, after all her mother out her through, just wanted her love and approval. The relationship she had with her father and brother was severly tainted by her Mother's absolute insistance that her daughter was ill. The most haunting part of the book for me was the fact that she has been allowed to get away with it again with her foster daughter. Julie Gregory is campaigning to make more people, social workers, doctors etc.. aware of MBP and should be supported, after all she went through as a child!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2004
Through the horrowing details of the painful childhood, of going without food, and hustled from one Doctor to another....you would think that this child would have climbed in to an inner shell and never stepped back out to the light of day. Instead, what you find is inspiration. A child that realizes what is happening and takes the steps slowly to push away from the painful past and start her life anew. Amazing book.
Also recommended: Nightmares Echo by Katlyn Stewart,A Child Called It by David Pelzer
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2004
A brilliant but thoroughly disturbing account of a young woman's childhood of abuse and sick "love" at the hands of a narcissistic mother and a father who covertly collaborates with the systematic abuse instigated by his wife. A tale of a macabre mother child relationship where maternal instinct is grotesquely inverted.
A very hard book to read because of the relentless onslaught of terror and rage felt by the young Julie and of the craziness of the family system. There is a slight relief when Julie finally grows old enough to see her mother for who she is and subsequently save not only herself but others from her clutches.
The thing that struck me most about the book was how deftly a pathologically unstable woman managed to drag anyone she chose into her own cyclone of madness and damage them irrevocably - or have them do so to others.
The account keeps switching from the past to the present tense as Julie moves between remembering and re-living.
There are a few pointers as to what drove Julie's mother to do such a hideous thing to her own child but you probably won't feel too sorry for her.
claire_dines@hotmail.com
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2004
This is an amazingly honest book in which the reader shares the heart-rending agonies of an atrociously abused child. I was absolutely gripped from the beginning and will carry the memories of the horror and the heroism for a long time. Julie Gregory has a style which enables the reader to walk beside her and witness 1st hand the traumas of her childhood. With an amazingly forgiving and non-judgemental recall, she allows the reader to view her life through the eyes of her mother/abuser and herself. A fantastic read but be warned, you may not be able to tear yourself away!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 September 2006
I love biographies and I found this one quite by accident. Its all about Julie Gregory - and is the story of her life from a young child to adulthood. Julie is an average child - but her mother is not an average mother. This is the story of the life of a child who's mother has Munchausen by Proxy - a disease there was little known about at the time of Julie's childhood. After all, who would believe that a mother would purposely harm her child?

Julie's life has consisted of x-rays, medicines, doctor's examinations and abuse at home for as long as she can remember. Is she really as sick as she has been told or could the fact that her mother refuses to be 'embarrassed' by her daughter an front of the doctor reveal more of the truth?

This book is an emotional read, but written by Julie, it tells a harrowing story of an abused child.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2004
From the beginning of first chapter right through to the last word I found myself enraptured with the writer's experience. The events are explained is a direct approach. I couldn't put the book down.
I recommend everyone to read this book in order to know what life is like for children whose parent has this illness.
I too had an upbringing like the author and I can assure anyone who might think some of this story unbelievable that the trauma she experienced has been similarly experienced by others.
Thankyou for making me feel I am not alone.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2005
Calling this a tale is like trying to describe brain surgery in terms of plastocene. This was an enthralling, gripping read about one child's struggle to adapt under the tyrannical rule of her mother, and her courage in eventually managing to break free.
So enough with the preamble, and on with the plot. It was obviously written through the eyes of a young child who quietly observes the lunacies of her, at times, loving mother. Her unquestioning innocence, which gradually develops into a semi-conscious awareness of mother's fabrications, leaves for a spellbounding read. For me, the saddest parts were when the narrator expressed her terror as a child, who looks to a parent for protection and only finds abuse. This abuse either manifests itself in the form of the medical community (at times I wanted to curse those nurses and doctors for not realising, for being oblivious to a child's plea for help) or Julie's father - both are tools wielded by the mother.
I would recommend 'Sickened' to anyone still debating buying it, as I was during many tube journeys to school, to take the plunge and find out a little more about Munchausen by proxy, and the devastating effects this form of child abuse can have. Also, this should be included on the 'compulsory reading list' of any medical or social welfare establishments, simply to avoid abuse like this slipping through the fingers of the authorities time and time again.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2004
'Sickened' is a haunting and disturbing account of a childhood. Gripped by a fascinated horror, I read this book within 24 hours although it will stay with me for a long time. Julie Gregory's memoir is honest and written without self-pity, it is an extraordinary account of one woman's escape from a painfully abusive life. It is interesting that even when Julie becomes aware of MBP it is still difficult for her to cut the 'unbillical cord', she still yearns for love and acceptance from her abuser. This account emphasises that the most heartbreaking aspect of child abuse is that the child has an instinctive trust and love for their parent. I highly recommend this book, although be warned, by the very nature of the subject, it is disturbing.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)