Buy used:
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by annsbooksetc
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Excellent clean Near Mint condition. Dispatched from UK.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Sibelius: String Quartet op56, Grieg: String Quartet op27

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Available from these sellers.
5 new from £17.07 3 used from £5.95

Amazon's Grieg/Sibelius Store

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Composer: Jean Sibelius, Edvard Grieg
  • Audio CD (8 Oct. 2001)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Apex
  • ASIN: B00005QHU5
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 283,670 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. "String Quartet, Op. 56 ""Voces intimae"" - I Andante - Allegro molto moderato"
  2. "String Quartet, Op. 56 ""Voces intimae"" - II Vivace"
  3. "String Quartet, Op. 56 ""Voces intimae"" - III Adagio di molto"
  4. "Sibelius : String Quartet in D minor Op.56, 'Voces intimae' : IV Allegretto"
  5. "String Quartet, Op. 56 ""Voces intimae"" - V Allegro"
  6. String Quartet in G minor op. 27 - I Un poco andante - Allegro molto ed agitato
  7. String Quartet in G minor op. 27 - II Romanze: Andantino - Allegro agitato
  8. String Quartet in G minor op. 27 - III Intermezzo: Allegro marcato - piu vivo e scherzando
  9. String Quartet in G minor op. 27 - IV Finale: Lento - Presto al Saltarello

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
I can highly recommend this disc to anyone exploring chamber music. 2 huge composers with one serious string quartet to their name. Both quartets are have beautiful flowing peices and rythmical folk dance parts, paving the way for composers such as bartok. I discovered these peices from this cd and Im still to hear better performances (and ive heard a few honest!) together with the janacek quartets they denote a great period in chamber music leading up towards the end of the romantic period before the great, but atonal schoenberg.
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9982563c) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
HASH(0x997c8360) out of 5 stars Unmissable musical treasure! 11 April 2016
By Hiram Gòmez Pardo Venezuela - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I must confess my most sincere admiration for this superb ensemble. It captures with amazing expressiveness and supreme artistic integrity the minimu factes of both composers.

In which Sibelius Intimate Voices concerns this version is only a step behind the renowned (and one of its kind) perfoamnce of the Griller Quartet.

The Grieg Quartet Op. 27 is a desert island version. It has no rivals. So my dear reader, don't think it over and go for this one. Be my guest!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x999c71d4) out of 5 stars appealing program of Sibelius and Grieg 10 Mar. 2011
By jsa - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
There are other couplings of the Grieg and Sibelius quartets, most notably from the Emerson and Guarneri quartets, so this 1997 recording from the New Helsinki Quartet faces some competition. I haven't heard the other recordings, so I don't know how the New Helsinki compares. I do have a recording of the Grieg quartet perfomed by a group anchored by Truls Mork (Grieg: Cello Sonata, String Quartet), and it's a very passionate reading. I actually prefer the New Helsinki's approach a little bit more; it's very intense, very committed, but not quite as overtly emotional. The music lends itself to pushing the envelope, so to speak: it contains Norwegian folk material and is recognizably Grieg, but in no way does it contain "too much folksiness," a concern the composer expressed prior to embarking on the quartet. On the other hand, Grieg wrote music that people could identify with and would listen to, therefore the distinctive national flavor is very much embedded in the score. Anyway, it's wonderful music, one of my favorite things from Grieg.

The Sibelius quartet (1909), subtitled "Voces intimae" (Inner Voices), is the only chamber music from the composer's mature period. It was written between the third and fourth symphonies and has the distinctive sound of Sibelius's orchestral works. It's not as immediately accessible as the Grieg quartet, which was completed thirty-one years before, but it's a fascinating work, filled with imagery that's almost visual as opposed to the adapted folk material of the Grieg. It's a perfect companion to the Grieg and the producers were wise to have this quartet, which is a much "cooler" temperature, open the program.

The New Helsinki Quartet was formed in 1982 and is made up of mambers of the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra. Their affinity for this music is self evident and the recording quality is A+. Discs are offered at under five bucks from amazon resellers - a great deal. Five stars.
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x99f0ab64) out of 5 stars Good recording 22 Aug. 2013
By margery rubin - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Good recording. The music is enjoyable and the Quartets playing is quite good. The Sibelius elicits very strong musical content.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

Look for similar items by category