• RRP: £8.99
  • You Save: £4.20 (47%)
FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Shtum has been added to your Basket

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Or
Please enter a valid UK postcode.
Or
+ £0.00 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: PROFESSIONAL SELLER SHIPPING TOP QUALITY BOOKS WITHIN 24 HOURS.100% MONEY BACK GUARANTEE Very well cared for, with minimal signs of use, if any. Shipped from the heart of the British countryside this book will leave our library within a day or two of your order and be with you shortly thereafter.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Shtum Paperback – 26 Jan 2017

4.7 out of 5 stars 382 customer reviews

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£4.79
£0.40 £0.01
Promotion Message Buy three paperbacks for £10 from the qualifying selection when dispatched from and sold by Amazon. 1 Promotion(s)

Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£4.79 FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10. In stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions


Frequently bought together

  • Shtum
  • +
  • A Boy Made of Blocks: The most uplifting novel of 2017
  • +
  • The Trouble with Goats and Sheep
Total price: £14.93
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Orion (26 Jan. 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1409162982
  • ISBN-13: 978-1409162988
  • Product Dimensions: 20 x 2.2 x 13.5 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 382 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 5,410 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

Praise for the heartwarming novel of 2017:
Jem Lester writes so beautifully, it feels as if you're eavesdropping on a conversation. Shtum is a book with true heart and soul, and I loved every word

(Joanna Cannon, author of THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP)

A darker, sadder version of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, but just as moving (OBSERVER)

Angry and fiercely funny . . . The ending tears the heart out; this is an unforgettable first novel (THE TIMES)

This is the literary territory of Tony Parsons and Nick Hornby, infused with the Jewish humour of Howard Jacobson and Shalom Auslander . . . an impressive novel that gives a very accurate portrayal of the struggles some families of autistic children endure, while taking the reader on an exhilarating roller coaster ride between pathos, comedy and anger (GUARDIAN)

Moving and, at times, painfully sad, Lester's account is also darkly funny. It is an important reminder of the complex spectrum of human emotion, and a profound insight into an often misunderstood disorder (STYLIST)

'SHTUM is a thought-provoking novel about the silent ties between generations, with a wonderful child character at its heart. I loved Jonah and ached for the impossible decisions his family had to face' (Julie Cohen)

Highly intelligent, warm-hearted and clearly based on experience (THE SUNDAY TIMES)

Powerful, unapologetic and deeply moving, Jem Lester mines a hard-hitting story to discover dark humour and surprising warmth. It's a book that breaks your heart but ultimately uplifts. A simply stunning novel (Miranda Dickinson)

A tale of family, loss, self-discovery and forgiveness. Prepare to be moved by its beauty (HEAT MAGAZINE)

Warm, funny and sad (DAILY EXPRESS)

Funny yet heart-breaking, the book is likely to be enjoyed by fans of The Rosie Project and The Shock of the Fall (INDEPENDENT)

Jem Lester manages to capture a difficult and often heart-wrenching story of a family coping with an autistic son, writing with a fast pace and levity that somehow doesn't lessen any of the emotion of this wonderful novel. A must for your reading list (GRAZIA)

With shades of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time this former journalist's debut is informed by his own experiences with his non-verbal autistic son (BIG ISSUE)

A book that has you laughing one minute and is breaking your heart the next. (WOMAN AND HOME)

An emotive, button-pushing read that should come with a packet of tissues (RED MAGAZINE)

'[Lester] tells a memorable story full of dark humour and heart twistingly sad insight, about the bond between fathers and sons' (SUNDAY MIRROR)

[Lester carries] off this challenging storyline with spectacular success. There are some very sad moments, but far more that are blackly funny. Lester is superb at comic cameo, and the local authority jobsworths with whom Ben must deal are hilariously drawn. But it is Georg, Ben's severe and loving father, who is the novel's towering achievement; a complex man whose tragic past illuminates the present (DAILY MAIL)

Bleak, candid, funny and touching, this impressively impassioned debut novel reveals how a lack of words does not signify a lack of love (SUNDAY EXPRESS MAGAZINE)

Drawing on his own experience of raising an autistic child, Jem Lester has made this a frank and warm portrait of three men bumbling through life (INDEPENDENT)

'At its heart are the things they need to say to each other but often keep "shtum" about - and the child who says nothing, but communicates his needs eloquently' (FINANCIAL TIMES)

Shtum is a novel of compassionate understanding, and it is absorbing from start to finish. (Ian Thomson TIMES LITERARY SUPPLEMENT)

Gritty, heart-breaking and wonderful all at once. (Natasha Harding THE SUN)

Prepare for an unsweetened heart-shredder of a novel, as raw as it is real. (Madeleine Kingsley JEWISH CHRONICLE)

Heart-wrenching and thought-provoking story of a family coping with an autistic child. (Fanny Blake WOMAN & HOME)

This touching novel tells the story of Jonah, a 10-year old boy who can't speak. (NOW MAGAZINE)

Lester's unusual book conveys a profound message about the whole spectrum of humanity... a thought-provoking and moving read. (Helena Gumley-Mason THE LADY)

It's the territory of Tony Parsons and Nick Hornby, infused with the Jewish humour of Howard Jacobson and Shalom Auslander. This impressive novel leads the reader through pathos, comedy and anger. (GUARDIAN)

Whether you think Shtum is a novel about autism or about marriage (it's both, by the way), you will agree that it is, in the end, a love story infused with wit, charm, and a deep appreciation for the complex beauty of damaged souls. (Jonathan Tropper, author of THIS IS WHERE I LEAVE YOU)

Book Description

Perfect for fans of The Rosie Project, David Nicholls and Jojo Moyes. A moving, funny and uplifting story of families and love.

See all Product description


Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 10 August 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: london books, book club, funny book

Look for similar items by category

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?