Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



VINE VOICEon 20 December 2003
I've just re-discovered this album after seeing the video "fairytale of New York" on the telly. I'd forgotten how good the music is! uplifting, fun and politically powerful, a farcical observation of life.
The Pogues music has been categorized in the past as Punk/Folk, which I think is a bit harsh, they're not Punk! they have just brought folk music in line with the modern world and have made the music appealing to all generations.
This album displays the excellent writing skills of Shane MacGowan & Jem Finer and the musical talents of the band and is in my opinion the best collection of the Pogues music on one album.
The lyrics of most of the tracks are printed in the booklet, read along as you listen, it's a real eye opener, and a lot of fun!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2017
Brilliant album. At their best. I have bought from this seller before and would definitely recommend them. Items always arrive promptly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2018
A strong recording from the Pogues. Worthy of a place in any compact disc collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2013
...possibly expand on the great reviews below. A stunning album that should appeal to punks, folkies and all who love music. Every track here is wonderful but no words to describe "Thousands Are Sailing"...the best I can muster is "stunning". A perfect record in every way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2014
Shane's voice is recognizable streets away. This re-issue is a great album, featuring some fantastic numbers, especially the iconic and timeless "Lullaby of New York". But did the Pogues ever bring out a bad album?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2016
A gift that was loved
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2015
One of the best albums by the pogues . Shane gravelly voice do sent disappoint he is amazing . A must have for any ardent fan .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2016
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2015
very pleased with product, very fast service, can recommend both.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2016
love this album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)