Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



VINE VOICEon 12 February 2015
No DVD extras here - just every episode in this somewhat forgotton series.

Transfer to DVD is a little dodgy in places but then it is quite old now.

Some of the episodes are a little poor but most are very good, and some are excellent.

It is something of a classic series for Holmes fans.

Well worth buying.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2015
this was a birthday gift and it went down well. There have been many playing Sherlock over the years but Jeremy Brett has to be the best there ever was. A great set and well worth having good delivery and well packed. Eileen d
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2015
Enthralling, excellent selection. I would have bought the entire series, but this was far cheaper and is also a good introduction to the series if you only want it for, say Hound of the Baskervilles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2016
An utterly addictive series, worth every penny, Jeremy Brett the fabulously flamboyant Holmes beats even the more modern versions and we are addicted to Sherlock Holmes in any form!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2003
At last every episdoe and film of this great t.v show are availible. Jeremy Bretts class act as the famous detective still of course steals the show, but there is ample support from the likes of Edward Hardwicke and David Burke as Watson and Rosalie Williams as the ever suffering Mrs Hudson.
On the downside, these dvd's seemed to have been rushed out. No stereo sound, even on later epsiode which boasted dolby surround on t.v. So only Mono sound, no subtitles, no digital clean up of the picture, which can be pretty bad in some episodes, and no special features. Surely there must be some behind the scenes footage and interviews with the cast in Granadas archives??
These things do little to take away from the central performances, which makes this set so worth owning.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2016
Love Sherlock Holmes in all of films I've got
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2003
The reproduction is a bit ropey, but I am used to that from Granada; they seem not to care, as witnessed by my purchases of all four jeeves and wooster series.
However, whilst being a constant background niggle, ths does not detract from the superb acting of the definitive neurotic Homes; Jeremy Brett.
He is spellbinding to watch, the stories are as close as possible to the books that I love, and the supporting casts and sets really convince you that you've slipped back a century or so. My only problem with this box set is finding the time to watch all the episodes.
The packaging of the box set adds to the obscenity of making such an expensive purchase, and every time I enter my living room now, it's the first thing I lay eyes on and gives another pang of guilty pleasure.
Love it!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2016
DVD's worked fine and a great TV series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2016
Jeremy brett what more can one say they don't come any better than him
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2015
Enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)