Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
10
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2011
I bought this book because I was seeking hard factual information about the last days of steam on Merseyside. I found what I was looking for, but was not prepared for the sheer, vivid readability of this fine book. I'm happy to report that my expectations of a rather dull list of facts and figures were utterly defeated. This is an extremely well-researched, well-organised and well-written account, which authentically recreates the atmosphere of those now far-off days. The author has gone to considerable lengths to incorporate the recollections of the men who worked the last steam locomotives on Merseyside, which has enabled him to enliven his book with some genuinely fascinating personal anecdotes. There are several well-chosen appendices, which include excellent layout plans of the depots described in the text, and the many illustrations are of high quality. Apart from a few minor typos, the production quality is excellent, especially bearing in mind the modest price. An invaluable addition to the literature, and one which deserves a wide readership.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
I hate to say it but I am a child of the 50's and 60's so when I saw this I knew what it should be like! I am not disappointed. I pick it up read a bit and agree and put it down. This is an excellent book for "anoraks" like me. I am learning so much more even though I was there at Edge Hill, Crewe North, Crewe South etc etc.

The local sheds such as Aintree and Walton were almost nightly requirements aah well, they were different times but good!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2012
A superb wallow in nostalgia for all "steam buffs":
Great photographs and much interesting data on sheds and locomotive allocations on Merseyside. Also, amusing anecdotes from former railwaymen of the time.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
This is an excellent, well researched book. Living in the North East I only managed to get to Merseyside on a couple of occasions during the late '50's and early '60's and headed straight for the glamour of Edge Hill depot. This book showed me what I missed by not visiting some of the other locations. If only we could turn back the clock. Oh happy days.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
My husband very pleased with this book as he is a "shed fan"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2016
A specialist work which delivers on the specialism. Good stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
Hassle free purchase, how it should be. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
If you're in to trains this is a good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)