FREE Delivery in the UK.
Usually dispatched within 2 to 4 weeks.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Or
Please enter a valid UK postcode.
Or
+ £0.00 UK delivery
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Ships from the USA. Please allow up to 21 business days for delivery. Almost in new condition. Book shows only very slight signs of use. Cover and binding are undamaged and pages show minimal use. Book selection as BIG as Texas.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

My Share of the Task Hardcover – 25 Apr 2013

4.6 out of 5 stars 26 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover
£21.56
£17.36 £2.26
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
click to open popover


Frequently bought together

  • My Share of the Task
  • +
  • Team of Teams: New Rules of Engagement for a Complex World
Total price: £31.55
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



All Amazon Original Books on Sale
Browse a selection of over 160+ Kindle Books currently on sale. Learn more

Product details

  • Hardcover: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Portfolio Penguin (25 April 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1591844754
  • ISBN-13: 978-1591844754
  • Product Dimensions: 16.5 x 5.1 x 22.9 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 26 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 419,070 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

General McChrystal is a legendary warrior with a fine eye for enduring lessons about leadership, courage, and consequence. He took me inside the command bunker, on nighttime raids, and through the fog of war, political and military. "My Share of the Task "is an important, riveting, and instructive account of the triumphs and trials of America s two longest wars. TOM BROKAW, author of "The Greatest Generation " Written in the tradition of Ulysses S. Grant, "My Share of the Task "is a clear, compelling, self-critical, and utterly unpretentious memoir. I know of no better book on the nature of modern military command. JOHN LEWIS GADDIS, author of "George F. Kennan: An American Life " This is a brilliant book about leadership wrapped inside a fascinating personal narrative. By describing his own life, and especially his command in Afghanistan, General McChrystal helps us understand the modern missions of the military. More than that, he provides lessons about leadership and values that are indispensable in our daily lives. It s a deeply inspiring tale. WALTER ISAACSON, author of "Steve Jobs "and "Benjamin Franklin " Stanley McChrystal has written the finest military memoir of his generation. Lucid, thoughtful, and steeped in military and strategic history, "My Share of the Task "is not just the story of one man s service; it is the story of the development of a new way of war. This book is not just for aficionados of military history or for students of American foreign policy; it s for anyone who wants to understand the challenges of leadership in America today. WALTER RUSSELL MEAD, author of "Special Providence "and "God and Gold " A remarkable memoir by one of the most exceptional and thoughtful leaders of his generation. RORY STEWART, author of "The Places in Between""

About the Author

Stanley McChrystal retired in July 2010 as a four-star general in the US Army. His last assignment was as the commander of the International Security Assistance Force and as the commander of the US forces in Afghanistan. He is currently a senior fellow at Yale University's Jackson Institute for Global Affairs and the cofounder of the McChrystal Group, a leadership consulting firm. Tantum Collins and Chris Fussell are his colleagues at the McChrystal Group, while David Silverman is the founder and CEO of CrossLead. He is the author of Team of Teams.



Customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

13 June 2013
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
29 November 2014
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICE
19 October 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
15 October 2016
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
3 February 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
25 January 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
28 August 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
10 October 2015
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?