Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
25
4.3 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 25 October 2016
I purchased this album in vinyl format when it originally hit the streets back in '73 and always loved it for the superb version of SUPERSTITION.....however, back in those days, I used to troop around to friends houses and parties usually with an armful of albums to play and at some point, lost my copy and never did recover it! And what with the price of albums back then, I never did get around to buying a replacement
Many years later (2007 to be exact) I purchased the live BBA album which although very good is pretty poor in dynamics, so that it doesn't get played much...but then I saw the BBA studio album on Amazon and decided that £3 wasn't much of an outlay for a CD if only for the purpose of re-acquainting myself with the original version of THAT song...and yes, it's brought a big smile back to my face. Yes, the vocals are a little twee and JB doesn't get much chance to show us where his playing was going but, my goodness me, this can still hold it's own against many of the new pretenders!
If you like JB's playing this is a long way from where he was going as he doesn't really like being framed into tight song structures, but as an overview of what the man was doing at the time and indeed where he could possibly have been going, this is testament....and for three quid, well it just has to be in your collection!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
I bought this album because I had as a vinyl back in the seventies. It was good then and it is good now. Although it has to be said that it does souns a little dated now. However, I still enjoy it. I can definitely recommend it. Jeff Beck is one of the greats on guitar and this is a good showcase for his talent.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2008
The other two reviewers are both right !! Yes Becks guitar work is top class Yes Appice`s Drumming is powerful and tight Yes Bogert`s Bass lines are wonderous and His voice is`nt top drawer . The trio rock and play superbly but there is a serious lack of decent songs hence the covers..I grew up with this album and I do love it, I saw them on their world tour Portsmouth guildhall special guests UPP. I then had to get the Live in japan album because no record company would release in Europe.. Live and studio and dam good band! PS this is the remaster with extra tracks.Rockin R&B.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2008
This power trio outing is an interesting piece in Jeff Beck's overall career puzzle, after teaming up with a couple of ex Vanilla Fudge men. Far from being his "best" release, but contains enough seminal moments to make it an indispensable. Key moments, for me, are the tracks which bookend the first side of the original LP. "Black Cat Moan" is a really great opener and the crunching rendition of "Superstition" is likely to induce jaw-plummeting on first listening. (And just possibly some air-guitar soloing on subsequent listenings.)

(For reference, the brilliant "Rock and Roll Jelly" comes from the Stanley Clarke album entitled "Modern Man". A must-have track for all Jeff Beck fans.)
44 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 July 2006
Were Cream the best of the supergroups that were formed late 60's early 70's? Guess that depends on your views on guitarists, and whether or not you liked "Toad" by Cream. BBA were a short lived outfit, formed by Jeff Beck, then ex Yardbirds; Tim Bogert of Vanilla Fudge, and Carmine Appice (also Vanilla Fudge) who later went on to play for Rod Stewart. The standard on this CD is set by the opener, Black Cat Moan, but the stand out track is Superstition, the Stevie Wonder track : Beck playing a keyboard riff is quite awesome. Appice's drumming through out is solid, occasionally explosive, and Bogert's voice is strong. You wonder why they never followed this up, it was a good debut album - there is a live import album available from Japan, but they went their separate ways. Personally, I love Jeff Becks playing, so if you are a "complete-ist" this is a must...
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2006
I am really writing in response to the previous review, which would put anyone off buying this album....

I own every Jeff Beck album there is and although this record is not as good as masterworks such as Wired, There and Back, and Truth - it is still a record worth having. Sure, the singing isn't top drawer - but on the ballads such as 'I'm So Proud' and 'Sweet Sweet Surrender' they are more than adequate in getting the emotion across.

Although on the surface this seems like a formulaic rock album, very much of its time, it bares repeated listening.... There are so many hidden gems in the playing... all three of them have great subtle ideas that take a few listens to sink in - although naturally Jeff Beck is the one who takes home the big prize .

'Livin' Alone' has an awesome exciting intro, then it rocks out with the song... and the guitar playing!.... My God... It's a secret masterclass.

It has funky signs of things to come - I would also disagree that this is a bad version of 'Superstitious'.... Turn it up LOUD! The drumming is like a machine gun firing - the band really gel, listen the the licks Jeff Beck uses - how many modern guitarists have stolen this stuff?

I concede it is not the greatest Jeff Beck record, but it is still a damn good one!

P.S - The other rare Jeff Beck one to check out is 'Jeff Beck Group', I was surprised just how good it was - I think it's up there with his best.
22 Comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2003
The forgotten album..from the vaults in 5.1 sound!!..Jeff Beck ably supported by Tim Bogert & Carmine appice (Ex Spooky tooth & rod stewart to name a few!)..Beck really lets loose on this molten album. This is the supergroup that rivalled Cream in all their glory..songs like "I'm so proud" "lady" just show the public what they missed first time around! The sonic guitar playing of Beck comes to its fruition during the foot stomper "Black cat moan"..wringing every nuance of sound & blistering fretwork et al...Go buy it ..it's a classic that in 5.1 sound got better!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2008
....another fundamental mistake on the part of Amazon, this is the STUDIO RECORDING, NOT the live album by the group of the same name.

This; Beck Bogert & Appice Live is the Live recording.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2010
Guitarhero Jeff Beck (Yardbirds, Jeff Beck Group) teamed up with bassplayer Tim Bogert and drummer Carmine Appice (both formerly of Vanilla Fudge and Cactus) to what was supposed to be a supergroup but this lasted only one album. [From the liveshows is culled the double album, also on CD available "BBA Live", recorded in Japan]. Although the music is enjoyable and of good quality, so is the remastered CD, is suffers from the lack of original songmaterial. From the 9 tracks 5 are written outside the band (Stevie wonder, Curtis Mayfield, producer Don Nix twice, R. Kennedy) so only four songs left are written bij Beck, Bogert and Appice, with the help of former Cactus (Mark II) singer Peter French and keyboardplayer Duane Hastings. [The same goes for the live album, which includes all the songs from this studioalbum and adds the Tim Rose classic "Morning Dew"(from "Truth"), another Don Nix composition "Going Down" (from "Rough and Ready"), "Plynth" from "Beck-Ola", combining "Shotgun" from Vanilla Fudge "Near the Beginning"-album (not written bij Bogert and Appice) plus two times "Boogie", from the Yardbirds and finaly BBA themselves.] In the linernotes Chris Well states that "those boys could play". Surely they did, but they didn't give them the time to come up with good, solid rocking songs, like Beck wanted very much at the time of recording his "Truth"-album. The end is somewhat unbalanced, they wanted to be a hard rock outfit but their choice of material was not appropriate. Jeff Beck is an excellent guitarplayer but he admitted at the time of recording the "Truth"-album already "to be an interpreter, not the bloke who write songs". The later JBG albums showcase the same, much of the songs are written by others, often outside the band, or reworkings of classic songs with slightly changed titles. As for Bogert and Appice, they proved to be able to write songs on their own but I think it was the case that, given the choice of material (especially as mentioned before on the live-album) that Beck considered BBA more his band or him self as the bandleader, than that the two others had a voice therein or were given the room to write songs. Otherwise I can not explain the absence for most part of their songwriting. At the time of Cactus they participated a good deal in creating the songs and they were outstanding, same class as Led Zeppelin. For example, in 2000 they released an album "DBA" by Rick Derringer, Bogert and Appice, and all the songs are written by this trio. So the lack of original songs on "BBA" is to my opinion the main reason the partnership didn't work out as expected and this group broke up soon after the start. It seems Beck offered the others to record a second (studio)album, after he left the band midway an American tour, but they declined. Therefore only this album gives the listener an idea what was going on those days and the possibilities it could revoke. They had the potency to reach higher heights, if they could get their own things together. Just the ability to play an instrument, how good, is not enough for a band to satisfy the recordbuyer. Nevertheless I enjoyed this CD very well, after having not heard the album for a long time. It adds 2 bonustracks but they are only singleversions of albumtracks and they don't add much to the overall impression of the album it self. It is a fitting testament to a fine band of musicians and 3 decades later it hasn't lost anything of its glow.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2007
A decidedly interesting (US) trio project yielding only the one studio album (they started on a second but gave up on it), featuring Tim Bogert on bass/vocals and Carmine Appice on drums, both formerly of Vanilla Fudge and subsequently Cactus. (Carmen Appice later gave a fine performance in support of Jeff Beck's amazing, blazing guitar solo on Rock'n'Roll Jelly off Stanley Clark's otherwise completely crap Schooldays album.)

As originally issued, this one was about as rough a recording as 1971's Rough & Ready, made worse by a rather thin and weak sound, but the digitally remastered edition improves things hugely. Unusually, whoever did such a fine remastering job isn't credited in the otherwise fairly informative booklet, though s/he certainly should be.

It's pretty rough'n'ready musically as well, in the vein of up tempo bluesy/R&B. But, for all that, the album does have a sort of uncompromising let's-get-the-f***-on-with-it club rock quality which gives it a certain vitality. Black Cat Moan and Livin' Alone are good examples. So ~ quite good musically and now, with the benefit of good digital remastering, much better in the sound stakes as well, so don't settle for anything less. (The DR edition can be identified by its two bonus tracks.)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.73
£12.96

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)