Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



on 18 April 2017
Brilliantly sung bond songs by other famous artist, some better than the original which are must have versions
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2017
Awesome album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2017
Not bad but not fantastic...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2017
grating arrangements of originally good pieces
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 April 2008
Having taken over the mantle of composing the James Bond movie soundtracks for the 90s (and very good they are too), David Arnold revisits Bond theme songs in this project, working with a wide range of artists to produce a set of really interesting covers. And the whole CD is worth buying just for the astounding first track - David McAlmont is Miss Shirley Bassey as his falsetto vamps up 'Diamonds are Forever' in homage to the queen of Bond theme songs and gay icon. After that you feel rather let down by Aimee Mann's understated 'Nobody does it better' - although listened to separately, this track will grow on you. Chrissie Hynde rocks out in 'Live and let die', and the Propellerheads do their drum'n'bass thing brilliantly with 'On her Majesty's secret service'. However the other true highlight is the last track as Iggy Pop discovers he can croon melodically on 'We have all the love in the world' - Mighty fine.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2001
This is a magnificent CD, with surprise after surprise. Dave Arnold has assembled an astonishing number of hugely talented musical forces and obviously put them to work. A lot of work. This isn't just a work-a-day, rushed set of remixes, but completely recomposed music. None of the songs sounds like a 'tribute' but like (because it is) a new piece of music. No duds here.
Highlights: David McAlmont singing the pants off Shirley Bassey. He is simply magnificent. Also a very unusual arrangement of From Russia with Love, sung by Natacha Atlas. Whereas McAlmont clearly sets out to out-Shirley Shirley, Atlas recreates the song so that it sounds as if written specially for her. Pulp are seedy as hell: brilliant, and also doing full justice to their arranging skills.
All it's lacking is Mandalay singing For Your Eyes Only. Now that would be something... Or am I just greedy...?
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2015
This album passed me by when it was first released, but I was re-acquanted with it when one of the tracks came up on the auto playlist at the local radio station that I present on. I then had to get hold of the whole album. There are some real corkers on this. Aimee Mann's 'Spy Who Loved Me' is a real improvement on the Carly Simon original, and I now prefer Chrissie Hynde's 'Live and Let Die'. Propellerheads 'OHMSS' is too much fun. I could go on and on - I suggest that if you want a blast of classic Bond tracks with a different flavour, go for it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2016
I don't know how I missed this when it first came out! What David Arnold has created here is something very special with very special musicians and artists. 7 of the tracks were originally composed by the great John Barry, (whom Arnold naturally succeeds) and will always be classics in their own right, but here given a new lease of life along with other well-known title tracks and incidental themes from the James Bond films.
The STARGATE and INDEPENDENCE DAY composer went on to deliver scores for later Bond films and the hugely successful tv series SHERLOCK. A brilliant guitarist in his own right, David Arnold is the most modest of men, and his collaboration with musical director Nicholas Dodds and the artists and musicians on this album is a superb achievement.
It won't be to everyone's liking - the 'purists' will hate it! I said this about English National Ballet's new reinvented GISELLE, the classic version will always be around, but things must move on!
Only the 76 year old Giorgio Moroder is on a par with Arnold in the producing/composing stakes - even Moroder at his age has found a new audience - though I don't think we'll see David Arnold behind the record-decks in an Ibiza nightclub!
This 'project' is definitely worth a listen!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
(Super quick delivery)
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2015
You have possibly the most recognised global movie franchise here with guest artists putting down their own interpretation of easily recognisable title tracks under the expert hand of David Arnold. Just listen to 'Diamonds..' incredible!, or my personal favourite the understated and sublime 'All time high' by Pulp. 'Moonraker', and 'Thunderball' add to the selection and help you, the listener, to connect and feel the power of the music, and get an appreciation of classic theme tunes with a modern twist! If you like listening to movie based soundtracks then this a must, if you are new to this genre, you wont be disappointed, sit back and take it in, and experience....but if you can PLAY LOUD, there are classical Bond musical nuances and phrases within that only appear when the volume is top end, you have been warned.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2016
As a Bond and David Arnold fan, this is one of my favourite CDs. In addition to the array of fabulous singers, the tracks feature some outstanding Barry-esk orchestral arrangements by Nicholas Dodd (orchestrator for David Arnold's 5 Bond films). My personal favourites are "Diamonds are Forever" featuring David McAlmont a thunderous orchestra, and the David Arnold/Propellerheads remix of "Oh Her Majesty's Secret Service" - which was instrumental in securing David's tenure as Bond composer (they used it as the temp music for the car chase scene).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)