Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2017
If you're a pro-wrestling fan there's probably not a lot here you don't already know, but it's an easy read if you've got a spare couple of hours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
brilliant read and if you like your wrestling books this one will keep you hooked
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2003
Sex, lies & Headlocks shows what Vince McMahon is really like. It gives the lo-downs on some of the seadier things he has done, from being labelled a "corporate drug dealer" over the steroids scandal to his backstabbing of Bret Hart.
It starts with how many small localised organisations came together to form the NWA and on how the WWF and NWA (and later WCW) had running battles, right through to the Monday night wars that would eventually kill off the WCW.
Vince through the years showed sheer aggression to suceed and a willingness to bend the rules - particularly when it came to what he could and could not show on tv. That never bothered Vince, though. He was also so self confident that he could not accept his failures in WBF and XFL.
But eventually he came out smelling of roses on the other side with the dominant force in sports entertainment. I bet Vinces official biography/autobiography wont tell half these stories.
Still, if you are a wrestling fan you will enjoy this. I highly recommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2002
I had been waiting for this book to come out for a while. A massive history and wrestling buff. This book would be right up my proverbiale. It doesn't disapoint. It is obviously well reserched and has a very impartial feel. It is however a little dry in spots and has no real messgae, but as a resource and piece of factual work and can't fault it. If you are a serious follower of the funked up world of pro wrestling this ones for you. Shame about the cak cover though...
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 December 2002
I managed to finish this book very quickly, for two main reasons; It is relatively short, and I couldn't put it down. It is a fascinating book for wrestling fans in general, not just fans of the current product. While at times I found SL&H confusing due to the volume of information thrown at the reader, it didn't hinder my enjoyment. Generally, the book is written very well, however, it was misleading in some places, especially to a new fan, or someone who doesn't know everything about the sport. (The book leads the reader to believe that Mick Foley made his WWF debut in 1997, for example, which is not true.)
The book has taught me a lot about the history of the business, and overall, is an excellent read that despite some poor moments, every wrestling fan should own.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2003
One of the main selling points of this book is that it contains the things that won't feature in Vince's apparent, forthcoming official autobiography. It's another one of those wrestling books that its hard to put down once you start. One downside is a few mistakes, but the majority of information is spot on and it even threw up a few things that this longtime fan never knew about. It covers all aspect of Vince's life and the american wrestling business in general since before his involvement. For new fans and old, this book will enlighten you all.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
The title of this book should be taken with a grain of salt An interesting read, however, there have been one or two instances where I know for a fact the author has skewed events to fit the narrative he is telling. For example, he discusses the character of Goldust and the way he was portrayed. He ultimately goes on to the Hollywood backlot brawl with Roddy Piper. The way the author tells it, Goldust arrives in his car, only to be unexpectedly ambushed and beaten to a pulp by Piper. He describes the conclusion of the rivalry as hate crime. Having watched this match at the time and recently re-watched on the WWE network, I can say for a fact this is not how events unfolded. He neglects to mention this match being the culmination of a feud between the two in which Goldust used innuendo and sexuality do get inside Pipers head. There have been a few other instances where the author tells things differently to reality (Ric Flair vs Terry Funk being a good example). This leads me to question the accuracy of the book in general

Still, for what it is, the book is an interesting read and very easy to get into.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2008
I got this book on Friday (25.01.2008) and had it finished within the day. It was a gripping book but I feel the only let down was it was very statistic driven. Some of the stats relating to viewing figures and buying figures don't relate to us in the UK but aside from that it gave a great insight into how the business is run. A great insight into the world Vince McMahon occupies and how he runs his business, how ruthless he can be and at the same time how petty he can be. A book I'd recommend any wrestling fan to read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2002
Sex, Lies , and Headlocks Is A Very Well researched insight in to the world of wrestling. It goes in to great detail telling us the truth about the wwf and there Steroid scandal, and what Vince McMahon Jnr did to make his way to the top of the World Of Sports Entertainment.
If You Consider Yourself a True Wrestling Fan Then This is the book for You.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
Sex, Lies and Headlocks claims to be the real story of Vince McMahon and the World Wrestling Federation, however, much of what is contained within can be found quite easily by anybody who has an inside interest in how the world of Professional Wrestling works.

The book serves more as a catalogue of events and outcomes as opposed to offering any real insight into stuff people don't already know about. The book is largely narrative (did we really need to know that the federal prosecutor liked to drink Pinot Noir from grapes grown in his own back garden?, I think not) and in places some of the dates are sloppy, not good enough considering that long time wrestling journalist Mike Mooneyham was part of the book's creation.

Overall the book does offer an interesting insight into the world of professional wrestling which people don't see on the screen, and for newcomers looking into that side of the wrestling business it serves as an excellent starting point. However, for the seasoned wrestling scholar this book offers little which isn't already known about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse