Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 December 2007
Seve is a legend and this book is a great read for golf fanatics with fond memories of the maestro in his prime. He tells his story with passion, humour and honesty which gives you fantastic insight into the fiercely competitive boy caddy that became the world number one golfer, a husband, a father and a businessman and the rebelious nature that always ensured Seve took the non conformant path less travelled by his golfing peers.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2010
I enjoyed this book. Anyone who has been interested in golf in the last 30 years will know much about Seve and his trials and tribulations...

You feel like this book is really in Seve's own words and not spun into a story by a ghost writer. It's slightly unusual in that it is not chronologically sequenced but jumps around from experience to incident as they occur to him. This makes you feel rather like you are sat in a room with him and he is just recounting what comes into his head that day. It doesn't detract from your enjoyment of the book though.

Seve has always been known as determined and headstrong characted and this really comes through in the book. He recounts many of his disputes with both the European and PGA tours and it would be interesting to hear the other side of the story on these. Like Arnold before and Greg Norman and Tiger have done since, Seve upped the ante in many ways and allowed the players to earn much more from the game than they otherwise would have done.

Let's hope that Seve will continue to recover from his recent problems and at least be able to make an appearance (even if he is just able to stand on the bridge) at this years Open. There won't be a dry eye in the house....

Well worth a read.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2009
Somewhere there is a brilliant warts & all book waiting to be writen about Seve. This is not it. Apart from being appallingly written the "official" status of the book means that parts of it are liitle more than hagiography & its stuffed with rentaquote sound bites from other famous golfers that all repeat one another. As well as his brilliant career there is the fascinating saga of his own refusal to accept his decline in later years, the saga of him having his own face as a tattoo & his bust ups with numerous american golfers & the PGA tour in Europe that would all benefit from a far more objective view than the whitewash treatment they are given here.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2008
Contrary to the previous review, this autobiography is not a 'boring rant' but is very revealing about Seve's upbringing and his battles with various authorities to sell the great game of golf to his home country and the European tour.The Ryder Cup, especially, would not be what is today without the influence of Seve.

The book also made me aware of how early in his career his back problems started and how through great determination and self belief he became the most dominant and charismatic golfer of his era.

Fiercely competitive but with a genuine love of the game and its traditions, anyone who saw him play will always have fond memories of how he lit up the world of golf in the 70's and 80's.

I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a glimpse of the behind the scenes world of the 'European Arnold Palmer'. A book, written genuinely from the heart and I only wished he could have expanded more on the people he came across and the players he battled with.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2011
what a legend awesome golfer and from such humble beginnings to the top of the golfing world!
great insight to the tournaments i grew up watching ryder cups and his thoughts on life.
have read it twice already.
would recomend it to anyone! rip seve
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
I'm a golf nut, and love autobiographies. Seve is an icon, and I wanted to know more about him even though he's no longer with us. This book started really well, and his early life and the development of his cavalier style is fascinating. Unfortunately, he then became a bit of a moaner, where it seemed that things were everyone's fault but his. This really detrated from the hero I wanted to remember, so I stopped reading it rather than dispel the mystique of the man. I prefer to keep the memory, even if it's not all true.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2007
Before i say this, let me tell you i love Seve. I think he is the greatest ever golfer, and i love watching the guy. With that said, his book bored me.
I enjoyed reading the first third of this book, but after a while, you begin to notice a pattern. It is basically just one big rant about all the things the golf world did during his career that he didnt agree with, what he felt about it, and then tells us how what he was doing was always right and how great he is.
When someone writes an autobiography, chances are i buy it because i already think they are great, and so i dont need them to keep telling me that throughout the book. Its fine for them to write down their successes, but there is no need to keep saying "look at me, wow, i did this, im fantastic"
I found this book very boring, needless to say
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2015
I found the book a great source of inspiration. If you want to achieve your dream you have sacrifice a lot to achieve it.
When go wrong just step re-focus and get back on track.
It's a honest and truthful account how Seve wanted to achieve his goal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
An absolute legend of the course. An entertaining read in the words of one of the true greats from a bygone era. Interesting insight into some of the politics (and some of the paranoia) of elite sports in the 20th century. He is a sal loss to European sports and golf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2012
Seve was my heroe for the last thirty years. In my late teens and early twenties I was mesmerised by his golfing brilliance, his exciting personality and his dark good looks.
I am so sorry that I read this book as it revealed a man who was so full of 'self worth' that he was constantly at war with the world.

Although he was indeed a golfing legend and did so much to promote European golf he seemed cold and insecure in his personal life. The book is badly written with too much boring stroke by stroke description of various golf rounds.

I would have much preferred to remember Seve as the handsome golfer who brought joy and excitement into the dull and staid golfing world of the late 70's and eighties.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)