Buy Used
£0.01
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits world literacy!
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Sensei Mass Market Paperback – 1 Feb 2004

4.5 out of 5 stars 13 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback, 1 Feb 2004
£0.01
--This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Man Booker International Prize 2017
A Horse Walks Into a Bar has won the Man Booker International Prize 2017. Learn more
Available from these sellers.
click to open popover

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Onyx Books; Reprint edition (Feb. 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0451411323
  • ISBN-13: 978-0451411327
  • Product Dimensions: 10.8 x 1.8 x 17.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 2,406,315 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

About the Author

John Donohue is the author of the award-winning Connor Burke martial arts thrillers Sensei, Deshi, Tengu, Kage, and Enzan. He is an anthropologist and a nationally recognized expert on martial arts culture, and has been a higher education professional for more than twenty-five years. John Donohue, a black belt in karate and kendo, resides near New Haven, Connecticut. -- Dieser Text bezieht sich auf eine andere Ausgabe: Paperback.

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A good martial arts thriller that for once is written by someone who knows what he is talking about even if he does have a very narrow view on the various Aikido styles. I will definitely try the next one.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I enjoyed this book a nice introduction to a series that i would like to read more off a little slow to get going but high on details and protocol well worth a read
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
as a martial arts practitioner who is a real book nerd and roots for the humble warrior it was so cool to find connor burke,sensei is the first in the series and the first i read im just finishing kage at the moment ,sensei is a great starter and the books just keep getting better for me ,but connor is a great character he has such a moral quality to him he is not cold or calculating he feels fears and regrets while never failing to make his stand for the greater good the mark of a true warrior ,yamashita when he speaks you listen and the cops micky and art are entertaining as your cop buddy duo ,the martail arts in the book is real relatable , its a great series with a great character at the center write a hundred john and i will read them all.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A surprisingly well written book for a genre of this nature. He captures the atmosphere of New York very well from my tourist viewpoint, I can feel the sweat of a scorching summer heatwave in the city that never sleeps. The cultural and spiritual understanding of Japanese martial arts is first class, I guarantee you will learn a few things even if you know Japan! Overall excellent Martial Arts fiction, if your a martial artist especially of Japanese styles then try reading something completely different, you will not go wrong with this book!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
As a long standing Martial Artist it is perhaps suprising that I haven't delved into the MA fiction before, but I was very happy to discover this author. I would recommend it not only to Martial Artists but also to fans of crime fiction/murder mysteries, as the books are a refreshing cross over between the two genres. It is told almost exclusively from the perspective of an Irish American academic Connor Burke, who is a long standing student of Yamashita - a old school Japanese Sensei - and is also brother to a Homicide detective.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Ok I liked this book, I liked the characters and the interactions especially those moments between Burke and his Sensei. The story flowed and was a good idea. But not enough action for me not enough martial arts! I realise the subtlety of it all but I needed a bit more slam bang action as in those 70's Kung fu thrillers.
Still a very good read by an author who knows his stuff and its place today's world.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Wow. Finally a martial arts thriller by someone who knows what they are talking about. This is very much in the tradition of Eric Van Lustbader and Marc Olden but arguably far more accurate martial arts wise and more up to date. Great story. After reading this I read the next 3 immediately.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: shotokan karate