Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 June 2017
An excellent clear print and thoughtful introductions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2008
I'm also reviewing the edition, and not the author himself: that's a job for the literary critics.
Formally, this edition has many good features: the font size is just right, not too common in cheap editions for 800-page tomes; the notes are very helpful; and succint introductions are supplied.
It doesn't get 5 starts for a minor flaw in the content. A very good surprise was that it contains the whole of Don Juan, arguably Byron's masterpiece. However, I can't disguise my disappointment at not finding two of Byron's most famous short poems, "So we'll go no more a-roving" and the superb "She walks in beauty".
Overall, a fairly good edition. Byron is a must in any library, and this book fills the gap in the Romantic period shelf neatly.
22 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2008
This is quite a disappointing version of Byron's works, it does contain "Don Juan", but it only contains extracts from "Childe Harold's Pilgrimage" which is the better book and true source of the Byronic hero, i would suggest a different collection of his works as this does not do him justice, i would suggest Lord Byron: The Major Works (Oxford World's Classics) as a better collection.
22 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
Very disappointed...

Not with Byron but with this edition, the one I received is not the one displayed above, it is the one the user "Sauliusst" posted, it is ugly, nearly impossible to read.

The chosen typography is so small you can barely understand which letter is in front of your eyes, it mimics the old typewriters or fixed typesets, also it's it has 2 columns per page, 4-5 poems each column, very, very annoying and hard to read, not the poetry, the editorial design itself.

I will be buying a Penguin edition as I just can't read this one, 2min and my eyes are tired already and I am very uneasy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2005
Byron is, by definition, a puzzle of a poet. He adores baiting and testing the reader with his piquant mixture of gossip, gravitas and grace. The poet is capable of ascending into 'high' poetry, and amusing himself with the crudest of jibes at the expense of his esteemed Romantic peers. 'Don Juan' is the perfect example of this tendency in the poetry, and Byron's melancholic reputation is revealed to be a part of this theatrical poet's act. His technical mastery is difficult to better, and his sense of play allows him to subvert the epic in an almost revolutionary style, provoking even modern critics into a frenzy of disagreement as to his true achievement. Joyce and Dostoevsky are his true inheritors.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2015
A favourite poet of mine for over 50 years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
very good and as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
A must have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
This was a full paperback edition of Byron in the Wordsworth series but was pretty old and looked nothing like the advertised copy on Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse