Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars

on 19 December 2012
I didn't read this: "Just so you know... This view is of the Paperback edition (2005) from Kessinger Publishing Co. The Paperback edition (2009) from Unknown that you originally viewed is the one you'll receive if you click the Add to Basket button on the left". This appears above the "Look Inside" view.

I bought this book for my Mother as she loves John Masefield and particularly wanted a copy of "The West Wind". What arrived is a travesty masquerading as a book. The second paragraph in the "booklet" (39 pages doth not a book make)states "We scanned this book using character recognition software". On reflection the mistake in purchasing is entirely my own as I did not read the bit which quite clearly states; "what you see is not what you get" - I am paraphrasing here I must add. The text runs from one poem into the next with very little in the way of a break for clarity and ease of reading. There is no index either. I will upload examples of errors and a photo of the book. I cannot commend this product to the house.

On the positive side, it was well packaged and received promptly
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2015
delighted with the purchase, and delivered quickly, cheers.Joe
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2009
This is not the best version of Masefield's 'Selected Poems'. Let me explain. Masefield's essential contribution to English literature was a series of seven substantial narrative poems written between 1911 and 1921 and set in contemporary England. Quite apart from some deeply felt descriptive passages, they have a narrative verve and strength of feeling that sweep the reader along. They showed, more decisively (perhaps) than any other verse of the time, that colloquial English could be used for poetry and that Victorian poeticism was dead. The trouble with this selection by the respected literary historian Donald Stanford is that it gives only two of the major poems, and uses the space saved to give us a quantity of much weaker later work. One almost feels that Stanford wished to replace the gutsy Masefield of 'The Everlasting Mercy' with Masefield the heir of the minor Victorians. This makes it a less satisfactory edition than the 'Selected Poems' published by Heinemann in 1978, which includes five of the major poems and a more judicious selection of the later work. It has long been out of print, but can be found secondhand.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2002
Now better know for his two choldrens' books (The Box of Delights & The Midnight Folk), hn asefield held one of teh most prestigious posts a poet can hold,namely Poet Laureate to the British Crown.
This book has a fine selection of his work. Well worth getting to know.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here