6 used & new from £19.29

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Secrets Of The Hive: The Best Of Procol Harum (2CD) Original recording remastered

4.6 out of 5 stars 16 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Original recording remastered, 15 Dec 2008
£47.99 £19.29
Available from these sellers.
1 new from £47.99 5 used from £19.29

Amazon's Procol Harum Store

Product details

  • Audio CD (15 Dec. 2008)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Original recording remastered
  • Label: Salvo
  • ASIN: B000TJ6C68
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 16 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 151,833 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. A Whiter Shade of Pale (mono)
  2. A Christmas Camel (mono)
  3. Quite Rightly So
  4. Long Gone Geek
  5. All This And More
  6. Whisky Train
  7. Broken Barricades
  8. Simple Sister
  9. A Salty Dog (live)
  10. Fires (Which Burn Brightly)
  11. Bringing Home The Bacon
  12. Beyond The Pale
  13. Nothing But The Truth
  14. Something Magic
  15. Holding On
  16. Into The Flood (live) - previously unreleased
  17. An Old English Dream
  18. Repent Walpurgis (mono)

Disc: 2

  1. Homburg (mono)
  2. She Wandered Through The Garden Fence (mono)
  3. Magdalene ( My Regal Zonophone)
  4. Shine On Brightly
  5. The Devil Came From Kansas
  6. Whaling Stories
  7. Power Failure
  8. Conquistador (live)
  9. Grand Hotel
  10. A Souvenir Of London
  11. The Idol
  12. As Strong As Samson
  13. Pandora's Box
  14. (You Can't) Turn Back The Page
  15. A Dream In Ev'ry Home
  16. The World Is Rich (For Stephen Maboe)
  17. Weisselklenzenacht (The Signature)

Product description

BBC Review

Always the victims of the 'too much, too soon' curse, Procol Harum, to many, represent one thing alone: 'A Whiter Shade Of Pale'. As majestic and unequivocally fantastic as that single from 1967 remains, maybe this compilation, marking their 40th year in existence, will let a few more people into their best-kept secret. For they were for many years afterwards responsible for some astoundingly good music.

The industry's debt to them is manifold. Were it not for the unique combination of Gary Brooker's bluesy tones, Matthew Fisher's neoclassical Hammond, Keith Reid's opaquely surreal wordplay and Robin Trower's blistering guitar work, we may never have really had progressive rock. At the forefront of those bands (including the Moody Blues) who longed to combine their r 'n' b heritage with the grandiose strains of classical music, the former Paramounts of Southend struck pay dirt from the very first single.

While their first two albums are all near-perfect examples of stately flower power-driven blues (and yielded yet more hits in the shape of 'Homburg', 'Shine On Brightly' and 'Conquistador'), it wasn't until the third (A Salty Dog) that they really refined their darkly humorous lyrics and diverse musical backgrounds. Genesis seemed to model their early work on the title track alone. A couple of years later while they lost Trower (on his way to becoming the thinking man's Hendrix) they still retained a marvellous sense of grandeur. Their album recorded with the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra gave us a nicely revved-up hit reworking of 'Conquistador' and even by 1975 they still had the golden touch as their Ninth gave up their lovely 'Pandora's Box'.

All the while, despite their truly seminal status, Procol never sounded like anyone but themselves. Secrets... has all this and much, much more, all remastered to a miraculous degree, even compared with the last set of remasters. Taking us all the way up to the present day, its only wrong note is the tragic legal wranglings over the authorship of 'Whiter Shade Of Pale' that have seen a wedge driven between Brooker and Fisher and also seen Brooker refuse to see his name associated with it until further notice. But no matter, for anyone who thinks this band lost their relevance by 1968 is urged, nay ordered, to go out and buy this, pronto. Time to trip the light fandango again! --Chris Jones

Find more music at the BBC This link will take you off Amazon in a new window

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 16 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 9 June 2014
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2009
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2007
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 August 2007
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2010
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 September 2007
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: procol harum, the hives

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?