Buy Used
£2.99
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Eligible for Amazon's FREE Super Saver/Prime Delivery, 24/7 Customer Service, and package tracking. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. Dust jacket in Has dustjacket condition.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Season of the Witch Hardcover – 19 Apr 2007

4.2 out of 5 stars 48 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover, 19 Apr 2007
£0.95
--This text refers to the Paperback edition.
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Hardcover: 401 pages
  • Publisher: Dutton Books; 1 edition (19 April 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0525950036
  • ISBN-13: 978-0525950035
  • Product Dimensions: 16.1 x 3.5 x 23.5 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (48 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 6,591,615 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

'Black cats, snakes, spiders, mystical signs and symbols and dangerous sex are skilfully stirred together in this brain-squeezing thriller' - Kirkus (starred review) 'Spellbinding' Publishers Weekly (starred review) 'Dazzlingly clever and original... one can only marvel at the author's own witch-like power to enchant her audience' - Daily Mail (London) 'Vividly and evocatively written... enthralled me right to the end' - The Times (London) 'Fans of Anne Rice and Joyce Carol Oates should appreciate Mostert's take on mysticism, magic, and the ancient art of memory' - Booklist 'This heady fiction doesn't so much push at the edges of the genre as ride roughshod over them' - Observer (London) -- Dieser Text bezieht sich auf eine andere Ausgabe: Paperback.

Book Description

Can you really enter someone's mind - and find pure evil? A mesmerising psychological thriller about two women, and a deadly secret they will kill to protect. -- Dieser Text bezieht sich auf eine andere Ausgabe: Paperback.

See all Product Description

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By Pyewacket TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 12 Jun. 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
and spellbinding. Gabriel is a cyber-thief he and his friend Isadore hack into major Corporations at the request of their 'customers' and then sell on the information for lots of money. Back when he was at University, he and his then girlfriend Frankie join a scientific cell called Eyestorm. They become what is known as 'Remote Viewers'. In other words they can see into other people's minds.

One day he is contacted by a man who wishes to know what has happened to his Son, Robbie. This man is married to Frankie although he is years her senior. He is also terminally ill.

Gabriel is loathe to take on the job until he has found out more about Robbie so he 'slams a ride' into Robbie's mind and finds himself drowning...........someone is pushing Robbie's head underwater and killing him.

Enter Minnaloushe and Morrighan two beautiful but deadly sisters. They are both adept in Magic, Remote Viewing and are extrememly dangerous. Gabriel gets involved with them to his near fatal cost.

Will he find Robbie alive or will these extrememly erudite women kill him before he can find out what they are doing?

This is an incredible read, taking you back to the time of John Dee Elizabeth I's Court Astrolger, and even further into arcane and dangerous magic.

A wowser of a read and how it ends is literally mindblowing!
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
"Season of the Witch" delves into several complex issues--memory, magic, parapsychology.... but maintains its readability in the face of the accurate, quite detailed information it exposes the reader to. In other words it does not get "bogged down" when explaining the necessary background facts and history the reader may not be familiar with.

Gabriel--an electronic scam artist--is asked to investigate the disappearance of an old flame's stepson. It is soon apparent to Gabriel that the sisters Monk, the deceased's friends, are somehow involved in his murder. But all Gabriel's original reasons for meeting the sisters are thrown aside as they become thicker and thicker friends.

I've been searching for a book with a "sexy" feel to it for a long time, and this has been the first one to hit the mark--it has enough suggestion in it without any of the downsides you thought of when you saw the word "sexy". The sisters are enticingly but not overtly creepy, and never failed to send a frisson down my spine or make my blood rush. The closest comparison that can be drawn has in fact been quoted in the book itself--the vampires that seduce Harker in Bram Stoker's Dracula.

The intrigue is sustained throughout most of the book--partly through Gabriel's past traumas only being hinted at, partly due to the inclusion of the occasional pre-chapter diary entry by a mysterious woman. I found these entries to be the most intriguing parts of the book, but unfortunately after a certain event they become part of the narrative. Although I can see why this was done, I've yet to be convinced it was for the best.

At that point the focus of the tension switches from intrigue-based to situation-based.
Read more ›
Comment 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
The season of the witch by Natasha mostert
The blurb
Can you really enter someone's mind - and find pure evil?
Gabriel Blackstone has an unusual talent. A computer hacker by trade, he is also able to enter the minds of others.
But he uses his gift only reluctantly - until he is contacted by an ex-lover who begs him to find her stepson, last seen months earlier in the company of two sisters.
And so Gabriel visits Monk House, a place where time seems to stand still, and where the rooms are dominated by the coded symbol of a cross and circle.
As winter closes in, Gabriel becomes increasingly bewitched by the house, and by its owners, the beautiful and mysterious Monk sisters. But even as he falls in love, he knows that one of them is a deadly killer.
But which one? And what is the secret they are so determined to protect?
WHAT I SAY
This book a very good read it the mysterious world of the two monk sisters
Gabriel a very good at his job a computer hacker but he also got a gift that he can read people minds he very good at doing this
One of his ex girlfriend husband ask him to help him find his son but Gabriel not sure if he should help but he start to look into it and now is so pull into the mystery of what happen to Robert he can not stop Robert was killed by one of the monk sisters her is sure of this but the sisters seem to have power over him and his mind to me he put him self in a lot of danger he want to be friends with the girls i was not sure why? what could he read in them ? I was not sure who the mysterious lady was that writes the diary entries i could not work that out did any of you who have read the book ?
Read more ›
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
In "Season of the Witch", Natasha Mostert writes a satisfying intellectual novel that entertains the reader on multi-levels. Combining a knowledge of computer technology, the occult and psychology, she weaves a story that teases the "seeker" in all of us while transforming a could-have-been mundane tale of two erotic witches and their boy-toys into an interesting peek at the age-old quest for ultimate gnosis.

Mostert's characters are ripe with the usual heroic attributes: good looks, charisma, and extraordinary sensory skills. Accomplished and hubristic, Gabriel, the lead player, makes his living as an information thief. Prowling the streets of London like a modern day Artful Dodger, he pick-pockets bits and bytes of cyberspace with wireless devices and sells them off to the highest corporate bidders. As a one-time "remote viewer" (a natural talent that enables one to "see" with the mind of another) he is contacted by Frankie, his former lover, to "slam a ride" into the mind of Robbie, her missing stepson, to discover his whereabouts. Minnaloushe and Morrighan Monk, two sisters that Gabriel senses during his ride, are not only beautiful and brilliant; they have developed an intricate memory palace (shades of Hannibal Lector) where they can hone their arcane skills as solar witches. Together, the three forge a fascinating trio; all are willing to give their all to maximize their innate skills while feeding their private desires.

From the start, Gabriel knows that one of the beautiful Monks has done away with Frankie's stepson. However, he finds that he is in love with the unknown writer of a highly imaginative digital diary that he is able to clandestinely glimpse at using his skills as a computer hacker.
Read more ›
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback