• RRP: £27.95
  • You Save: £5.96 (21%)
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
In Search of a Concrete M... has been added to your Basket

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Please enter a valid UK postcode.
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by Wordery
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Receive this fine as new book in 4-5 working days. Shipped from our UK supplier, via Royal Mail. We do not ship to Denmark.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

In Search of a Concrete Music (California Studies in 20th-Century Music) Paperback – 8 Jan 2013

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
"Please retry"
£15.27 £15.92
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£21.99 FREE Delivery in the UK. Only 3 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

Frequently bought together

  • In Search of a Concrete Music (California Studies in 20th-Century Music)
  • +
  • Music 109
  • +
  • Almost Nothing with Luc Ferrari (Critical Ear)
Total price: £58.78
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Product details

  • Paperback: 213 pages
  • Publisher: University of California Press (8 Jan. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0520265742
  • ISBN-13: 978-0520265745
  • Product Dimensions: 15.2 x 1.3 x 22.9 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 371,095 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

  • See Complete Table of Contents

Product description


"One of the most important and prophetic [books] written on music since World War II... Significant and readable."--Frieze "Completely changed how I hear the world and, after more than 30 years, I am still living with the consequences." --The Wire

"..the now unfrozen words of "In Search of a Concrete Music" can be finally shelved alongside McLuhan's "Understanding Media" (1964), Cage's "Silence" (1961) and John Berger's "Ways of Seeing" (1972) as one of the postwar period's most significant (and readable) grapplings with new artistic paradigms" --Rob Young, Frieze

From the Inside Flap

"Few books have described with such precision the evolution of thoughts and concepts behind the invention of a new music as A La Recherche d une Musique Concrete. In this book Schaeffer has unveiled the major philosophical problems of music of the second half of the twentieth century. An excellent translation by Dack and North." Daniel Teruggi, Head of Institut National Audiovisuel, Groupe de Recherches Musicales, Paris

A fascinating glimpse into the mind of Pierre Schaeffer, the creator of the very first kind of electroacoustic music, the Concrete music, here in a stellar translation. In this diary combined with musical considerations, Schaeffer gives the necessary keys and invites the reader to follow, step by step, how Concrete music became a major trend of the twentieth century." Marc Battier, Professor of Musicology, University Paris-Sorbonne

Pierre Schaeffer s writings are fundamental to our understanding of twentieth-century music in general and all the sound arts that use technology. This book reveals a truly experimental journey with its detours and frustrationsyet with determination, dazzling imagination and insight, Schaeffer pieces together a coherent and radical theory of music made through sound as perceived. Christine North and John Dack s translation brilliantly captures Schaeffer s painstaking reinvention of the vocabulary of music. Simon Emmerson, Professor of Music, Technology, and Innovation, De Montfort University

See all Product description

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 1 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 22 August 2014
Format: Paperback
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 reviews
17 people found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsAt last, Schaeffer's thought in English.
on 17 February 2013 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase