Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
163
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£2.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 May 2009
Prison break enters its fourth and final year having trouble finding it's footing, but brings it back with a strong conclusion.

The story picks up with Michael is in pursuit of Gretchen and Whistler, following there break out of Sona, eager to get his hands on the whistler's book and payback for Sara's 'death'. However bigger problems loom overhead, as the company come gunning for anyone sticking there noses into their business. Reluctantly Michael and Lincoln along with Sucre, Bellick, Mahone, Sara, and Ronny (a new and incredibly annoying addition)join an off the books Homeland security operation, headed up by agent Self, and aim to bring down the company by getting their hands on Scylla. However things rapidly spiral out of control as Michael's becomes ill, forcing Lincoln to make some tough decisions as the race to find Scylla comes to a head in Miami. The players make one last desperate scramble to get themselves out of the mess they find themselves in.

The first half of season four revolves around the team getting their hands on the key cards and Scylla itself. It just doesn't quite gel, while its a natural progression for the show, its so far removed from its core concept it feels somewhat misplaced; coming across a a mix between and Oceans 11, the A-team and Mission Impossible at times. Another recurring problem is, a lot of the time, the stories feel somewhat strained, every episode something goes wrong with the plan and as such they have to work around it and at times it just feels like padding slowing down the main story.

The writing itself doesn't seem quite as good as it has been. For example remember season three where the company makes all the effort to get Michael into Sona because he's the only man who can break out? Well in the first episode, over the radio, we hear the prisoners started a riot and all escaped. Its incredibly lazy and Sona is just brushed under the carpet so Sucre, Bellick and T bag can interact with the other cast.

Thankfully the characters remain as interesting as ever (though it does take sometime for T-bag to come into his own again). The rapport between the brothers is strong and while in the other seasons, being on the run or breaking out, this season has it's quieter moments developing the characters a lot more; particularly the relationship between Michael and Sara, Gretchen's past, and Mahone's vengeance sub-plot giving a broader look into the characters as well as introducing new ones.

The final season pulls no punches either. A lot of characters bite the dust, be they introduced this season or being present from day 1. At times its truly shocking and gives that buzz of anything could happen.

Following the mid-season twist the fourth season stalls a bit, the episodes loose their focus and the direction of the story seems all over the place, notably for episodes 13-18, much like how season 2's story began to meander around. Michael's head trip reunion with Westmorland, the hunt for Scylla making no progress and characters simply disappearing.

Regardless the last 4 episodes bring Prison break back for an exciting finish, the story kicks into overdrive as we are treated to a fast paced race to the shows conclusion. The tension returns along with the 'must watch next episode' feeling which had been absent for the majority of this season.

As for the finale itself it's rather good, Prison break goes out on a high as were treated to a cast reunion, including the long overdue return (if rather improbable, but hey it's prison break) of my favourite character as the story reaches it's conclusion, some of the plot devices seem a little eleventh hour but it brings about a satisfying conclusion. The final scene skips ahead four years, with one last trip to Fox River, and ending on a bold and bitter-sweet note.

It's been quite a ride, the show could have easily ended after season 2, and as such the this season lacks the overall quality of the first seasons, it feels a little out of place, some mid season episodes stall the story and its as far removed as possible from its original premise; but regardless it makes a enjoyable and solid conclusion to a good show.
22 comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This series four of Prison Break is excellent but dont buy this version. Instead buy the other version also available on Amazon Prison Break - Season 4 (plus Final Break) [DVD] becuase it also includes two extra special episodes at the end that formed a mini movie that further explains the final ending of what is the ending on this set.
In other words this edition of series four is incomplete.

The whole of the world that is Prison Break has been an interesting and creative project with clever writing and production. This final series four is one of the best and all the stops have been pulled out on this series.
There are a lot of plot twists and there is plenty of meat on the bones in terms of story. It is an excellent series.
Series four concerns a thing called "Scylla" that is a sort of "black book" of the "Company". It requires a series of electronic cards to unlock it and gain access to everything about the "Company". Former enemies are united together in a solid friendship with one goal in mind.
Homeland security under Don Self employ Michael and Lincoln and friends to get Scylla in return for their ultimate freedom. They work at finding the cards and copying them.
Michael suffers a hypothalmic hamartoma. Meanwhile he discovers that his mother is still alive and used be in "The company" who also wants Scylla and was responsible for all sorts of things that happened to Michael and Lincoln. The plot thickens as Michael tries to get Scylla himself. Lincoln reluctantly tries to get Scylla for the Company to get his son back which causes friction with Michael. Sara is not dead and Michael is re united with her as everyone works to get Scylla and bring the company down. There is a tragic ending.

The best way to see this series is on DVD where you can go straight to the next episode if you want to. Sometimes the temptation to dip into the next episode can be too much. But you can do that with a DVD set. Unlike TV weekly transmission where you have to wait a whole week to find out what happens next.

The series is exciting and gripping with cliff hanger type endings on each episode. The scripts are very clever and succeed very well at stretching a story over so many episodes.
The acting and direction are excellent and this is a quality production of television. There is originality within the whole concept. There is no doubt that this series deserves praise.
33 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2016
Probably the better of the final three seasons. It seemed easier to watch with less "Are you F'kin serious?" moments than season 2&3, both of which were entirely pointless. It seems the only point of them was to introduce two characters. Was it not for their back stories, you could quite easily watch seasons 1 & 4 and not miss a damned thing.
I found myself liking characters that you really know you shouldn't like and T-bag was by far one of my favourite. I really wanted to despise him but just couldn't. I could quite happily watch more like season 4. The plot was still really obvious and there were no surprising twists in the story. The only "Twists" across all seasons were pretty much anticipation of which central character they will kill off next?
That said, season 4 was good....ish.... mostly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 July 2009
Prison Break Season 4 starts immediately where s.3 left off: Michael (Wentworth Miller), intent on avenging his beloved Sarah's murder, is back on US soil to hunt down Whistler (Chris Vance) and Gretchen (Jodi Lyn O'Keefe) no matter the cost. However, Government Agent Self (Michael Rapaport) has other ideas, and is looking to recruit Michael, along with some other familiar faces from Fox River and Sona, to bring down the Company by breaking into their headquarters and stealing a device known only as Scylla.

Following on from the rather lack lustre s.3, s.4 hits the ground running. Kicking off with thundering action it feels like the shows creators have been taking careful notes from messers Bourne, Bond and Bauer, and the result is splendid. Of course it's a little contrived as the usual suspects are rounded up into a motley crew, but I can personally forgive this improbability in the face of such rollicking entertainment.

The first half of the season continues in much this vein, as the team set about breaking into the Company's impregnable fortress. Without giving too much away the focus shifts in the second half, and here, in my estimation, is where a lot of problems surface. Plot lines become increasingly convoluted, credibility is stretched beyond breaking point, and the whole affair starts to feel rather repetitious and formulaic. Yes, it's still good fun, but after nearly 10 episodes of double crosses, then double-double crosses, of guns drawn, threats made, and all the principles running round and round, one starts to feel that the writers were just trying to make the series last it's 22-episode contract. By the time the final episode comes on in it is way overdue, and although the ending is touching it cannot excuse the mess that went beforehand.

Now there are some great qualities to this season, the action and tightness of the early episodes being one. Similarly (and this is something that has marked Prison Break out on every series) there are some star turns from an ensemble cast. William Fitcher's disgraced FBI agent Mahone is a force of nature with a stomach turning revenge subplot: there is a stricken sort of vulnerability about him juxtaposed with a relentless, world weary deadliness. Robert Knepp's paedophile/murderer-turned salesman T-Bag is wonderfully entertaining again, evoking a broad range of reactions from the audience from laughter to horror, disgust, repulsion, pity and sorrow. However, Miller and Purcell (playing Michael's brother Linc), who should be the cornerstones of the cast, continue to give resolutely wooden performances. Miller especially lacks the range and depth as an actor to evoke anything much at all here, which is a real shame as he is, after all, the hero.

Tacked onto the end of this series is a double episode TV movie, "The Final Break" (billed, perhaps incorrectly in the box set, as episodes 23-24). Without giving too much away this movie goes back to the final episode, filling in the blank left by the now infamous "Four Years Later" flash forward in the series finale. The problem here is that as we already know how this will end there isn't much tension. Indeed, the device of ending the whole show on one more prison break is nice for closures' sake, but it is quite forced and really doesn't do justice to the mastery of tension in the first season when breaking out of prison was a rather more lengthy affair. However it does end on a genuinely emotional note, and gives some closure to all that has gone before.

As such, s.4 is a rather mixed bag. Some great episodes, some fantastic performances, but similarly some rather humdrum plot devices and uninspiring lead turns as well. There are those that disliked the way Prison Break has departed from it's original premise at the beginning of this season: I would disagree, arguing that the premise of the team breaking in, rather than out, was fresh and inventive. However as the writers try desperately to make this somehow go the distance of a whole season, it comes apart at the seams. This is still an improvement on the dismal s.3, but frankly s.1 and 2 stand a head and shoulders taller than 70% of what is on display here.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2016
I'm behind as usual when watching TV series. So this has just finished streaming through my Amazon prime account and yes, at the end I cried! Brilliant series from season 1 through to the end. Season 3 was a little bit of a wobble as they went off course before finding their feet again.

It was a little hammy in places, especially when people have been gut shot and are then up and about again doing stuff that a shot person really wouldn't be doing. Maybe it was to do with timescales, I am never sure of how much time has passed. Are we talking days, weeks or months. Only at one point do we see "4 years later" and understand.

Yes I enjoyed, yes I recommend and yes I will watch them again sometime
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The whole of the world that is Prison Break has been an interesting and creative project with clever writing and production. This final series four is one of the best and all the stops have been pulled out on this series.
There are a lot of plot twists and there is plenty of meat on the bones in terms of story. It is an excellent series.
Series four concerns a thing called "Scylla" that is a sort of "black book" of the "Company". It requires a series of electronic cards to unlock it and gain access to everything about the "Company". Former enemies are united together in a solid friendship with one goal in mind.
Homeland security under Don Self employ Michael and Lincoln and friends to get Scylla in return for their ultimate freedom. They work at finding the cards and copying them.
Michael suffers a hypothalmic hamartoma. Meanwhile he discovers that his mother is still alive and used be in "The company" who also wants Scylla and was responsible for all sorts of things that happened to Michael and Lincoln. The plot thickens as Michael tries to get Scylla himself. Lincoln reluctantly tries to get Scylla for the Company to get his son back which causes friction with Michael. Sara is not dead and Michael is re united with her as everyone works to get Scylla and bring the company down. There is a tragic ending.

The last two episodes form a mini movie "Prison Break - The final break" This makes a really good special edition of the series and further explains the final ending of the whole saga. This story has its own individualism that is crucially linked to the earlier episodes. This is a terrific piece of television drama and the pace and production are excellent.

The best way to see this series is on DVD where you can go straight to the next episode if you want to. Sometimes the temptation to dip into the next episode can be too much. But you can do that with a DVD set. Unlike TV weekly transmission where you have to wait a whole week to find out what happens next.

The series is exciting and gripping with cliff hanger type endings on each episode. The scripts are very clever and succeed very well at stretching a story over so many episodes.
The acting and direction are excellent and this is a quality production of television. There is originality within the whole concept. There is no doubt that this series deserves praise.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2016
when series 3 came out I gave up as it was all getting repetitive. So now I come to series 4 after a long break and I'm glad I found it. This is really , really good with a superb villain . This actually feels more like24. Not a lot to add except - watch it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
I can't believe it, I watched all 4 seasons a few years ago and loved it, so gripping and brilliant, I thought I'd just watch the first episode again, but would your believe it, I've just watched the whole 4 seasons all over again. I was gripped as if it was my first time. The series is absolutely fantastic, great acting, great story, I cried at the very end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
Great entertainment and excitement
For a very fair cost we the family will enjoy again and again by one and all.
So can I now take a moment please on behalf of our whole family group to state loudly here and now
...`We Thank You`
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2013
Having got this far, and despite finding some of the seaons a little repetitive, I found this season to be really enjoyable. It ends really well too, but I don't want to ruin anything. Sadly Final Break fills in a few gaps in season 4 that didn't need to be made, but season 4 itself has some good surprises and developes some of the characters well. Enjoy, but you may lose the feeling of a series well closed if you watch Final Break afterwards!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.49

Need customer service? Click here