Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2015
Flashes of a good story soon destroyed by lack of continuity and snap of finger non science solutions. Simply not worth the minor cost.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
I enjoyed this book very much but I would not give it 5 stars however it goes along at a reasonable pace, I would read further books by this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
Really enjoyed this book. The action started almost immediately and kept going until the last page. I would like to see a little more characterisation and backstory however the absence of it here did not take much away from a good space opera

I gave this story 5 stars because I enjoyed it so much and actually looked forward to picking it up when I had time. I look forward to the next installment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
l really enjoyed the storyline, can't wait for the next one. Every writer needs to find his style,ignore the critics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
This is a great idea for a series of books.
As soon as I finished this I brought and read the follow up book "HAB 12".
Can't wait for more.
Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
Am only half way through after only 1 day and am already looking forward the next book! Simple good old fashion sci-fi escapism!
Well done Mate!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought this on a whim as the reviews - at least the two that I read were rather nice about this. Hmmmm. Fooled.

It's not all bad because the writer can string the words together well enough and grammar is fine. I certainly didn't find myself grinding my teeth over it.

BUT....

The story is simply appallingly done. Seriously, this is the kind of thing one would expect a twelve year old would knock up in his or her English class. There is zero depth, no characterization and the story tears along so fast it lacks all sense of pace. It's childlike.

Now, I appreciate we are talking about sci-fi here which, by it's nature requires a bit of suspension of disbelief, however to start a story off when the first few pages goes from lead character being confined to his house - which also happens to be a scrap yard his father left him, to finding a spaceship buried in his back yard - with a full crew - who already know he is their captain, simply leaves one stunned at the lack of timeline or pace. Add to that the fact that the same time the lead finds the spaceship, Earth is invaded and his stunning estranged wife is kidnapped by the aliens, you can see that in essence this really is a badly done kids book.

So if you like Hamilton, Asher, Currie etch. Don't bother with this rubbish.

So, unlike the other reviewers I shall not be chasing this story any further.
22 Comments| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2017
Enjoyed the book though I felt as if I've read similar before
8 more words to go. I hate this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
Don't buy this.

First, one of the other reviewers is correct when he says that the author knows nothing about science. He obviously doesn't. Sadly, he doesn't seem to know about anything. Here's some highlights from the first 20 pages:

1. He doesn't know anything about scrapyards. (The main character grew up in one. Apparently he thinks cars like a Chevy Bel Air and other rare early American cars would have been there since his characters childhood. It also doesn't seem to sell any of the scrap, but just collect it. Forever. )
2. He doesn't know anything about the Navy. (The main character is a Navy SEAL leader AND the commander of a Naval Warship! And he's super awesome, you guys!)
3. He doesn't know anything about the military. (The main character shoots some really, really bad men from medium range with his sidearm, rather than use the H&K MP5 which is his primary weapon. He gets 5 headshots in a row and saves the day because he's really awesome you guys. His SEAL squad just watches as he doesn't bother to give them any orders to do it, just does it himself.)
4. He doesn't know anything about human psychology. (His super awesome navy SEAL character reacts in a completely blase way to stepping on a bunch of glass while barefoot [see item 1], and meeting an alien.)

Another review compared this to 20s and 30s pulp science fiction. Those old Space Operas had a lot in common with this, but they had some knowledge of the things they wrote about and made some good guesses/extrapolation for their technologies. Your average Perry Rhodan novel is better than this.

It's just really terrible writing and everything else. Don't buy it.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
There seem to be an inordinate amount of positive reviews of this book, most of which were written by people I doubt even read it. It is absolute tripe of the worst order.

None of the justifications are even slightly realistic, from the main character, lets call him Bob (I can't remember his name and refuse to subject myself to any more of this drivel to find out), being grounded for being a naughty boy. (this is the impression the story gives, as though he is 12) But then explains the situation to make sure everyone understands he is actually whiter than white (can't have anyone doubting Mary Sue).

There is absolutely zero sense of urgency to any part of the story. Bob is desperate to find his abducted wife, who is abducted before his eyes, giving the abductors approximately two minutes head start, but Bob decides it is more important to spend four hours playing with his daughter to establish his father of the year credentials!

The entire book continues in the same vein. Absolutely cretinous writing of the most abject drivel I have ever subjected myself to.

If you buy this book, don't say you weren't warned.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here