Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
75
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.19
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2014
An imaginative storyline, and easy style to read, this should be a four star rating... BUT the constant unprofessional idiocy of the main characters constantly detracts from the enjoyment. Made doubly so as it's interwoven with over the top references to how elite they are and how they are SEALS. Unfortunately the author has given them less professionalism than a team of cub scouts. An example..

(Slight spoiler alert)

They enter a barren landscape, desert like, you can see for miles and they have huds that show them hostiles in bound from up to 20kms. No immediate threat so.. they "get so carried away with excitement at playing with the "phase shift" that they are suddenly surrounded with realising it" they then lose men as they "hadn't gotten around to working out how their weapons worked". This is just one of waaaaay too many examples - it would be pretty hard to swallow with even non military rookies but at least slightly easier instead, such basic idiotic mishaps happen again and again, often resulting in an "elite SEAL" dying as a result and the reader grinding his teeth in irritation.

If it wasn't such an easy read and an interesting story line this would be destined for zero stars and the remove from device option as it is, it's just ok for a read providing you don't mind the constant annoyance.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
I realise this is supposed to be pure escapism, but frankly to have all your primary male characters as members of various military units and then have them ignore any and all basic common sense protocols is just silly.
Continually under attack, they decide to carry new weapons they don't know how to use and don't bother training with them, captured because they don't post a lookout, ship captured because they don't have security restrictions on internal areas? Perhaps they should have taken a few boy scouts...
And the women just simper and smile, apart from the suddenly traitorous Cramer, with no explanation of why or what she was trying to achieve. I thought the first book was reasonable with a few weak areas, I expected this one would be an improvement but none of the characters seem to have developed at all. Same mistakes, same confusion. The captain is obsessed with winning back his ex wife, so why would he be chasing a crew member at the same time?
disappointing.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
This book I had thought, would be an improvement on the first in the series, but I was increasingly annoyed by the heroes making mistakes that a boy scout would not. They entered a scenario which they knew was lethal yet all of these supposed SEAL types didn't know how to use their weapons. The heroes just seemed to blunder from one disastrous scene to another making a series of stupid mistakes and then being hammered by the bad guys. Then the author split the action and we had two teams of incompetents making twice as many simple errors leading to disaster. It got worse and worse and then it ended with a cliff-hanger, I don't like Cliff-hangers and this one ended practically in the middle of a sentence. If the author wishes to encourage the reader to buy more, then perhaps he should spend a little time crafting a ending which is not so abrupt.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
Somehow this book did not capture my interest as did the first book. On reflection I suspect there was too much stereotypical plot development. The good old USA senior officer trying to overthrow the new order had me gritting my teeth. I will look for another in the series but may not be tempted unless there is a new departure in the plot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
This is the second book in a series, usually sequels are weaker, but this one is not. It's a page turner, but the characters are a bit two-dimensional and there's a tendency towards the space opera standard of imminent certain death averted by cunning and brute force using weapons invented only pages earlier.

I'd give it 4 but the editing is irritatingly bad: populous for populace almost every time, and numerous other malapropisms. Either someone is struggling for a degree of linguistic sophistication which is actually unnecessary given a good story and some interesting ideas, or the word processor is auto incorrecting things.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
I really enjoyed this follow up to the first book. It kept up the pace of the story and I loved the new characters. It is only a tiny gripe, but urgency doesn't always have to be expressed as a deadline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
I loved the first in the series, the concept is brilliant!
However, the main character's relationship with his ex-wife suggests a certain naivety on his part. also- I do- hate the ever repeating capture and escape incidents in HAB 12
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
this is a real fun series to read Hab 12 keeps up the pace. Only thing I found was it suddenly stopped and you have to wait for the next book, I feel it could have been a bit longer. but on the whole a very good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
If you are looking for hard science fiction then look elsewhere, as the author says this series is all about fun and escapism. I have read and enjoyed both books and look forward to the rest of the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
A good book to relax to. Whole the action and interaction of the characters requires that you pay attention, the story line keeps moving and holds your attention. A good rainy day or train travel book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse