5 used & new from £139.98

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Scott Walker in 5 Easy Pieces Box set

3.8 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Box set, 24 Nov 2003
£178.11 £139.98
Available from these sellers.
3 new from £178.11 2 used from £139.98

Amazon's Scott Walker Store

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Product details

  • Audio CD (24 Nov. 2003)
  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Format: Box set
  • Label: Universal
  • ASIN: B0000EWNXS
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 286,960 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Prologue/Little Things
  2. I Don't Want To Hear It Anymore
  3. In My Room
  4. After the Lights Go Out
  5. Archangel
  6. Orpheus
  7. Mrs Murphy
  8. Montague Terrace
  9. Such A Small Love
  10. The Amorous Humphrey Plugg
  11. It's Raining Today
  12. Rosemary
  13. Big Louise
  14. Angels Of Ashes
  15. Hero Of The War
  16. Time Operator
  17. Joe
  18. The War Is Over

Disc: 2

  1. Where's The Girl?
  2. You're All Around Me
  3. Just Say Goodbye
  4. Hurting Each Other
  5. Genevieve
  6. Once Upon A Summertime
  7. When Johanna Loved Me
  8. Joanna
  9. Angelica
  10. Always Coming back To You
  11. The Bridge
  12. Best Of Both Worlds
  13. Two Weeks Since You're Gone
  14. On Your Own Again
  15. Someone Who Cared
  16. Long About Now (Esther Ofarim)
  17. Scope J (sung by Ute Lemper)
  18. Lullaby ( By - by - by )

Disc: 3

  1. Jackie
  2. Mathilde
  3. The Girls And The Dogs
  4. Amsterdam
  5. Next
  6. The Girls From The Streets
  7. My Death
  8. Sons Of
  9. If You Go Away
  10. Copenhagen
  11. We Came Through
  12. Thirtieth Century Man
  13. Rhymes Of Goodbye
  14. Thanks For Chicago
  15. Cowbells Shakin
  16. My Way Home
  17. Lines
  18. Rawhide
  19. Blanket Roll Blues
  20. Tilt
  21. Patriot

Disc: 4

  1. The Plague
  2. Plastic Palace people
  3. Boy Child
  4. The Shut Out
  5. Fat Mama Kick
  6. Nite Flights
  7. The Electrician
  8. Dealer
  9. Track 3 (Delayed)
  10. Sleepwalkers Woman
  11. Track 5 (It's A Starving)
  12. Farmer In The City (full length)
  13. The Cockfighter (full length)
  14. Bouncer See Bouncer
  15. Face On Breast

Disc: 5

  1. Light
  2. Deadlier Than The Male
  3. The Rope And The Colt
  4. Meadow
  5. The Seventh Seal
  6. The Darkest Forest
  7. The Ballad Of Sacco And Vanzetti
  8. The Summer Knows (from Summer of '42)
  9. Glory Road 3:32
  10. Isabel
  11. Man From Reno
  12. The Church Of The Apostles
  13. Indecent Sacrifice
  14. Bombupper
  15. I Threw It All Away
  16. River Of Blood
  17. Only Myself To Blame
  18. Running
  19. The Time Is Out Of Joint
  20. Never again
  21. Closing

Product description

BBC Review

Someone at Universal is having a laugh. Five Easy Pieces? This is surely the most ironic title of the year. Despite the former Scott Engel's exemplary crooning ability and his propensity for loungey arrangements, his was never an easy career to sum up. Let's not forget that this is a man who can still be heard regularly on Radio 2; yet his last two albums could easily be described as virtually impenetrable. And how many artists (other than fellow recluse Syd Barrett) could number David Bowie, Brian Eno and Julian Cope among their fans?

Theming Walker's output over five discs has already led some purists to bemoan any departure from the sacred texts. Received wisdom tells us that Scott's four, numbered solo albums between 1967 and 1969 are the place to really experience the man in all his genre-busting glory. Yet to take this approach would be to miss a vast swathe of classic angst from both his Walker Brothers days and the thirty five years since. With this in mind the work is split by either subject matter or source. Thus we get one disc of love songs; one of existential drama; one of movie work; one of 'difficult' pieces and one of European and American material. Phew indeed...

Ostensibly an MOR interpreter of material, Walker was no ordinary chicken-in-a-basket club turn, and his Europhile, Left Bank leanings proved his downfall. Assured his idol status and granted his own peak-time TV variety show, he proceeded to throw some very extreme curveballs. His first solo album was warning enough. It contained the Jacques Brel number ''Amsterdam'' (featured on the Euro disc along with other Brel and Weill classics) and its mention of pimps and prostitutes hardly fitted his hipper, younger Jack Jones profile. More Brel numbers followed along with strange, twisted kitchen sink dramasand other non-family favourites, all set to Wally Stott's magisterial strings. By Scott 4 he was composing all his own work and chart success was sacrificed for material concerning Bergman movies and Stalinism.

Yet the intellectual versus populist contradictions in his career meant that he still attempted something akin to pop material, even toning down his love of Euro cinema to produce the saccharine The Moviegoer with its Legrand and Mancini tunes. By the mid-seventies attempts to balance Walker Brothers reunions with his insularity and artistic frustration led to him dropping off the radar almost completely. Abandoning the life that had made him a pin-up, his rare appearances in the studio now yielded music that was totally uncompromising and uncompromised.

The contradiction for the listener is that both sides of Scott offer wonderful rewards. A song as carefully rendered as ''Johanna'' (from Scott 2) rates with the great performances of Sinatra with Billy May, while work as angular as ''The Electrician'' resonates with confrontational integrity, almost daring you to turn away. His stature as a writer is confirmed by the tracks completed for Ute Lemper. ''Scope J'' and ''Lullaby'' are simply astounding in their depth, complexity and understanding of Northern European conventions.

Of course plenty of this stuff straddles both camps. Classics such as ''Montague Terrace (In Blue)'', ''It's Raining Today'' and ''Big Louise'' all approach the listener like ticking time bombs of gritty realism smuggled inside lush arangements. For someone so associated with existential misery there's even a fair smattering of humour. Just listen to the self-pitying narrator of ''Time Operator''.

So, this is a brave and noble attempt to sum up the career of a man who, by his very existence, defies summation. For newcomer and aficionado alike, this is no easy ride, but a totally worthwhile one... --Chris Jones

Find more music at the BBC This link will take you off Amazon in a new window

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 8 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 30 December 2003
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2004
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2004
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: scott walker, walker brothers

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?