Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
24
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2012
This is a must have album for anyone familiar with Scott`s work and especially his early solo albums , post Walker Bros from the late `60`s.
Scott 2 contains some of his Jaques Brell interpretations as well as classics such as Black Sheep Boy, Jackie, The Amorous Humphry Plugg and Plastic Palace People.
A beautiful reminder of his great talent and also of his amazing voice.....Also great orchestral arrangements from Wally Stott.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
Good album slow delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2017
What a voice, this man is some performer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
Excellent item as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2011
I consider myself a huge Scott Walker fan, and this is my favourite album.
To be honest I don't care much for his later work, such as 'Tilt' or 'The Drift',
though for me Scott - Scott 4 are all outstanding recordings of a truly gifted
singer/songwriter. 'The Amorous Humphrey Plug'. Who else could write a song with
that title, never mind the quality or 'other-worldliness' of the song itself
I ask you dear readers? We have sweeping strings and brass arrangements galore!!

Scott goes from having a tiring day to escaping on the roller-skate subway and up
into the clouds, meeting nine angels along the way. And all of this while donning
a new suit. Such dream-like imagery. 'Plastic Palace People' is equally dream-like,
evoking memories of Channing Way - a place Scott Walker used to know I believe?

As with the earlier album 'Scott', his fascination with the songs of Jacques Brel
continues to great effect here. 'Jackie' is a real stomper, with dark romantic lyrics
thrown around effortlessly! Tim Hardin's 'Black Sheep Boy' is another stand out track,
with country-tinged acoustic guitar and tambourine providing sound, jangly backing for
some really wonderful vocals. I think Scott Walker's unique, golden voice is at it's most
impressive on Scott 2, despite what some other critics think.....
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 December 2006
On 'Scott 2', the artist visits his past, present and future. 'Jackie' opens the album in the present, his fixation with Brel's songs. This is my favourite of his Brel covers, a track that gallops through a maelstrom of biting witticisms. This is followed by his Walker Brothers past, the commercial ballad, 'Best Of Both Worlds'. The future is represented by his own material, notably the epic 'Plastic Palace People', which incorporates both his smooth and cryptic sides. It's one of his best songs outside the brilliant 'Scott 4'.

He has three other self-penned songs on this album and they vary in quality. 'The Amorous Humphrey Plugg' is more mundane than the title suggests and suffers from an overdone slow vibrato. Both 'The Girls From The Streets' and 'The Bridge' are, however, quite impressive.

Walker's choice of outside material is, on the whole, inspired. Tim Hardin's 'Black Sheep Boy' has a striking, country rock beat and helps to break up the more intense material. Brel's 'Next' is impossible to ignore, but won't appeal to everyone. Even so, 'Scott 2', with its customary sumptuous orchestral arrangements is a classy album.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2012
This collection for me showcases the many sides of the character of the man and hence his staggering versatility: the serious introspective (Windows of the World) , the classical music lover and wistful romantic ( Best of Both Worlds) , the Country and Western devotee ( Black Sheep Boy) , he of the Bawdy and self deprecating humour borne of a world - weariness ( Next and The Girls), the disillusioned cynic ( The Girls) . Serious themes are relieved by timely flourishes of lighter string sequences. Come Next Spring, an optimistic ballad with plenty of orchestral backing, is the right way to close the collection.

If this sounds like i am talking about a poet, then i think I am !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
If you have not yet purchased this album then you have to ask yourself why not? Once you realise you are a daft git for not owning it you can thankfully buy it here.

Scott Walker is one of the most important artists of the past 50 years and people who don't own his albums are missing out on something very special!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2009
I cannot fault Scott Walkers albumsScott 2although his later albums are more challengeing to get into but his first 4 are classics.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 July 2002
This album follows the format of the much superior "Scott" with a mixture of his own compositions, those of Jacques Brel and sundry others. So why doesn't it match up? Brel's "Jackie" is a rousing enough opener, one of Walker's best tracks, funny and decadent and sung with great gusto. On the whole though the material is a notch or two down from the first album - so many of the covers sound like dull film music, whilst the fine "Black Sheep Boy" invites comparison with its superior stablemate "The Lady Came From Baltimore", Walker's other Tim Hardin interpretation.
Which still leaves much to enjoy - the romantically seedy "Girls From The Streets", the quirky, memorable "The Amorous Humphrey Plugg" and the other Brel numbers "Next" and "The Girls And The Dogs". After twenty odd years I've still to make mind up about "Plastic Palace People"
And in the end all this is delivered one of the finest voices to grace pop.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.24
£5.99
£7.24

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)