Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 October 2015
Laszlo refers to what he calls the Akashic Field which is what many would refer to as consciousness and that is what I like to call it. I like the angle suggested by Thomas Campbell and how he describes consciousness. There is no doubt Laszlo is on the right track and light years ahead of the mainstream plus his perspective fits in with new findings on the subject of the holographic universe and simulated reality theories which are gaining ground like a forest fire right now. It dovetails into these areas nicely and is a highly thought provoking read. Quantum physics is moving fast, computer code has been discovered in the universe and it may well be only 100 years or so before we are able to construct a biological simulated reality just like the one we are living in. We then have to ask, who is pushing the buttons on ours.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
When I read some years ago (I can't remember where) that during one's life time 50 trillion solar neutrinos pass through the average human body yet only three might colide with an atom, I wondered about all the 'space' within us allowing this to happen. I wondered how those neutrinos must have passed through all sorts of people and things (including our planet) before passing through me, and if we were all indeed connected by the medium through which they flowed. I also wondered if they were affected by what they passed through and if in turn they affected what they then passed through. It also all begged the question, really is the nature of realilty when we all look pretty solid yet all those neutrinos were passing through us?

I wanted to find out more but was daunted at the prospect, not being a scientist by training. Therefore when I read this book, where Laszlo has done pretty much all the work in bringing together the latest thinking of physists, biologists and cosmologists, I was delighted. Yes it is not easy to understand some parts of it, but that is to be expected because some of behaviour of particles is quite mind blowing and is puzzling to scientists themselves. I now understand that it is highly unlikely I will ever understand how or why we are here, but there is comfort in knowing at least the particles that make the (apparently) physical 'me' will continue to exist and that they are amazing little critters!

PS the music reviews on Amazon are my husband's!
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
One of the best books I have read. All scientific theories thoroughly explained in laymans terms. This Theory of Everything rings true, feels right because nothing is ommitted. Every field of enquiry is delved into with great depth to explain the Theory of Everything. Highly reccommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 December 2009
Science and the Akashic Field: An integral theory of everything, by Ervin Laszlo, Inner Traditions, Rochester, Vermont, 2004, 224 ff.

The role of the eternal cosmic spiritual field
By Howard A. Jones

`There are many ways of comprehending the world: through personal insight, mystical intuition, art, and poetry, as well as the belief systems of the world's religions.' This is how Ervin Laszlo opens one of his more recent books - as a scientist and philosopher with over 70 books already to his credit as author or co-author. This is interesting because the author's first thoughts are for the numinous or spiritual. Of course, as a scientist himself, Laszlo then goes on to consider `the way of science.'

For more than a century scientists have sought a Unified Field Theory, or Grand Unifying Theory (GUT) as it is more often called today, that would use mathematics to find the relationship between the four forces of nature - gravity, the electromagnetic force, and the two forces that act within atoms, the so-called strong and weak forces. So far, uniting even these "physical" forces has eluded scientists; yet, already, what we know of the workings of the atom has suggested a possible link between the physical and the mental dimensions of the world, between seemingly lifeless atoms and mind, consciousness and living matter.

The idea that there is a spiritual dimension underlying all things in the material world is a belief of mystics that goes back several millennia. We have heard it said in a religious context many times through the centuries. In the 19th century it was said by biologists and philosophers, whose world-view was described as "vitalism". Biologists of recent decades have mostly rejected this concept and relied on physics and chemistry to explain the evolution of life. Philosophers have retreated into arguments about the use of language.

In this excellently written, if rather scientifically demanding book, Ervin Laszlo presents the empirical evidence and underlying (non-mathematical!) theory that suggests how these world-views - the spiritual and the rational or scientific - may be united through the concept of what is variously called the quantum field, the zero point field, nature's information field or, as Laszlo describes it following ancient mystical description, the akashic or A-field. It takes its name from the Hindu philosophical concept of "akasha", the primordial energy from which "prana", the totality of all matter, was created.

The concept of the akashic field is hypothetical, like the strings and quarks of particle physics. Like the gravitational field, it cannot be directly observed but is postulated to exist from the effects it produces, which are capable of coherent mathematical interpretation. The A-field provides a theoretical underpinning for the appearance of design in the ordering of the universe and the natural constants that allowed human life to evolve. It supports the primacy of consciousness in creation and evolution, as suggested by Pfeiffer and Mack, Goswami, and others. It explains the interconnectedness of all forces and fields suggested by particle physics and of all created matter as believed in eastern mysticism. In short, the subtitle of this book is entirely appropriate: An integral theory of everything.

Dr Howard A. Jones is the author of The Thoughtful Guide to God (2006) and The Tao of Holism (2008), both published by O Books of Winchester, UK.

The Creative Cosmos: Towards a Unified Science of Matter, Life and Mind
Creative Evolution: A Physicist's Resolution Between Darwinism and Intelligent Design: A Quantum Resolution Between Darwinism and Intelligent Design
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2015
Excellent book that lends further credibility to the survival of consciousness after death. Lots of interesting ideas here on the true nature of reality.
Essential reading.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2012
I'm still thinking about this book, and I've already read it twice. Laszlo is one of our greatest thinkers. The idea of Akasha is ancient, but Laszlo presents it here as being pertinent to the most modern of world views.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
Potential readers need to know that some familiarity with the basic concepts of science is required to understand what is discussed in "Science and the Akashic Field". While it remains accessible for the lay reader it could still be challenging for the uninitiated. But the explanations are always clear.

After watching an interview of the author on YouTube I decided to acquire his book. I was impressed by the views he expressed and was looking forward to find more about him. But even if I was already familiar with many of the ideas that are discussed here and consider myself open minded towards any bold proposition on the "fringe" of science, I was taken aback by the numerous affirmations that Laszlo wants to shove down our collective throat. It's one affirmation after the other, and there is no room for discussion. You take it or you leave it. It's almost as if God had revealed to Laszlo, and no one else, how the world was created. But even if the author appears to have some mystical inclination this does not necessarily mean that it is a spiritual book, like some reviewers have claimed. For it remains essentially a science book. Fringe science would actually be the best way to characterize this work. I know that many concepts of science were at one point considered "fringe science" before they were integrated to the mainstream, and this could indeed be the case one day for some of the ideas that Laszlo presents here. But he has not proven anything yet and most importantly he makes no predictions that could be verified in the future.

Laszlo is quick to dismiss some competing theories which in his mind are only imaginative working hypothesis that can be viewed as fables. But he doesn't seem to realize that what he himself proposes is every bit as "fabulous". For he makes extremely radical assumptions about the nature of the world. And these assumptions are presented as if they were facts. But in reality Laszlo brings forward a lot of unproven scientific claims in this book. This is not pseudo-science though. What is discussed in this book is real science, but it is not documented and demonstrated the way we would expect from someone who has an academic background like Laszlo. We have to keep in mind that he is more a philosopher than a scientist. Unfortunately he appears to be mixing the two together. Even though scientific arguments can be used for philosophical speculation we have to be careful not to confuse one with the other.

In that respect Laszlo went way too far and definitely crossed the line between philosophy and science. And just like when Caesar crossed the Rubicon, Laszlo never turned back. He never even looked back. It's all forward the moment we open the book and nothing will stop him. He charges all along and will take no prisoners on his way to the throne of the Universe.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
Fascinating! I recomend this book about the last discoveries of the cutting edge science. With this book I got the answers I had since years 1990, when I was reading David Bohm and Stanislas Grof.
Ervin Lszlo book is clear and easy to understand for somebody who is not a scientist but interested in science.
Everybody must read this book, because it opens the mind to a fantastic reality about our universe, our world and ourself. Science confirms the spiritual experiences at their highest level, and spirituality is not separated from science.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2009
Although many 'main stream' scientists might argue with Lazlo's point of view, this is mainly because they are excessively biased towards believing what they have been taught, and are reluctant to consider anything outside of this sphere. Lazlo argues the case for the 'Akashic Field' extremely well and produces overall a well written and compelling work which is the fruit of many years of deep thinking and study. I would recommend it to anyone with an open and inquiring mind.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2009
if you like your science cutting edge and far out, this is for you

hard-headed or incredulous readers to avoid it

good for speculation-lovers, and possibly an opening into where science is going to go... but possibly not
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)