Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 5 October 2015
This powerful book should be considered a "must read" for all those working with people with severe mental illness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2014
I no exactly what you went through ,the system sucks for the mentally ill people passed from pillar to post and always someone else's fault , fantastic read and you both are amazing people .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2017
One of best books I have read.It is truly a struggle for those that suffer and those that care.They should never be forgotten by society.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2016
A good read. More interesting when he actually writes about his son rather than when he writes letters to authorities etc when it gets a bit dull
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2014
Honest and brave especially on the newspeak what veils the horror of the dismissive neglect of both people with schizophrenia and their families struggling to cope.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2017
Interesting read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2015
A thoroughly enjoyable but sad story. A great insight into a young man's illness and his inspirational father. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2013
gave a real insight into living every day life with a loved one suffering in this way. written by a real person not a text book view .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2013
As a parent of a young adult suffering with schizophrenia, my wife and I were very interested to read Tim Salmon's book Schizophrenia: Who Cares? It turns out we are not alone after all, as this really is one of the biggest problems we've encountered - who really does care?

We had naively assumed that once sectioned, a wealth of care and assistance would be opened up to help our son, so it was a shock to discover how the system actually functions. Tim Salmon's book takes you through the fragmented mental health system lacking in government funding, the inadequacies of 'Care in the Community', alongside the moving accounts of dealing with his own son.

His book shows the problems faced by sufferers of schizophrenia as well as carers desperately trying to access any sort of care. It gives a real understanding of schizophrenia, balancing the often distorted, sensationalist media headlines. For us, as carers, it is a book to help us realise we are not alone. And hopefully those responsible for allocating mental health funding will take the time to read the problems faced at this current time.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)