Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
10
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£9.60
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 April 2013
If, as I was you are thinking about reading this book because you are interested in human wildlife conflict in Africa, I can recommend that you look elsewhere. There is only a brief discussion of current practice and ideas in the final chapter of the book. The rest of it is full of errors, inaccuracies, speculation and poor writing. If you are looking for completely unsubstantiated anecdotes of hunters from a bygone era killing leopards by bashing their heads together or various estimates of the tallies of this or that man-eater then this is the book for you. If on the other hand you are only slightly amused by such tales and looking for a serious book about human wildlife conflict in Africa, a decent Wilbur Smith novel might make a better use of your time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2012
James Clarke's "Save Me From the Lion's Mouth" is an eye-opener for animal lovers. He infers that they, and not scientists, are guiding wildlife policy in Africa. He says that people in middle-class homes in Europe and America, fed on TV documentaries, have no idea of the realities of life in the wilder parts of Africa but as long as African governments receive million of overseas dollars from them they'll do anything the donors want.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2012
What will really upset people is that he claims hunting safaris are essential to wildlife management and in Kenya, which banned hunting 30 odd years ago, lions and elephants are now treated as vermin.

After last week's mass attacks on the elephants, buffalo and lions of Amboseli this book is very relevant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2015
This is an astute account of what happens in Africa when humans and human societies occupy the same space as potentially dangerous wild animals. The animal-by-animal chapters are particularly gripping.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2012
First, "Save me From the Lion's Mouth" is a riveting read and very difficult to put down - it is also challenging to the conservation lobby who Clarke says is driven by misguided sentiment.
Do some of us care more about wild animals than humans?

Link to another of Clarke's books - vastly different and incredibly funny! I have really enjoyed Clarke's style - weather it be challenging topics such as "Save me from the Lion's Mouth" or one of his light hearted adventure stories! Blazing Bicycle Saddles
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
This brilliantly written and absorbing book is about human suffering due to the northern hemisphere's wildlife lovers and donors dictating what Africa must do with its wildlife.

The book will make you really help you to gain insight and think from the perspective of those who live among wildlife. A highly recommended and informative read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
Sorry, but this is another apologetic view on how we ought to look with indulgence at "safari" hunting. And, quite frankly, with the rhino and elephant being slaughtered at the rate they are, I cannot see how the author's tally-ho views are either helpful or illuminating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2012
Having read what the book says about "Human Wildlife Conflict" (HWC) one is left feeling that the general public's view of wildlife needs rethinking.
I don't doubt the author's sincerity. Although he is not a hunter he strongly advocates safari hunting as a means of bringing income to rural communities. Some will find this hard to swallow but what is the alternative? Wildlife needs a value that is tangible to those who live among it - otherwise it's dead meat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2012
James takes an interesting perspective on the topic of human - animal relationship. I thought this was a thought provoking book and I am not sure I agree with all his points, but a very good read anyway!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
great book and definately i would read again and recommend to others. this book is exepionally hard to put down once started. fab book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)