Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
8


on 16 April 2011
I have to admit I love the sams 24 hour books, to the extent I even have a professional paranoia about them stopping making them.

This book is like the others, it gives you an excellent understanding of the topic in 24 relatively easy lessons, and by the end you will be a very capable WPF programmer. You'll need to brush up on MVVM but that's just a few online tutorials (it's just a pattern afterall).

Critics point out this book has a lot less pages that other WPF books and doesn't go as deep as a reference book. The point is, this book will get you very good a lot quicker than any other book and your understanding of the fundamentals of WPF (and it's differences from WinForms) will be excellent. What's the point of buying a 1100 page textbook if it's in a format that doesn't teach you anything?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2008
As an intro to WPF I bought myself some books (WPF 24 hours, Essential WPF, WPF Unleashed). The latter two are great books giving lots of in-depth information on WPF how to. WPF in 24 hours takes a different approach with the focus being on developing a WPF application. It does this very well with a light introduction to the Model View Presenter pattern. This sets you off on the right tracks on how to structure a WPF application.

The other books I've mentioned above go into a lot more technical detail on WPF and are also essential reading but WPF is vast and it is often difficult to see the wood for the trees. I'll go back to those books later and I'm sure they will ultimately become my standard references, but during the getting started phase I couldn't have wished for a better book than WPF in 24 hours.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2011
A clear and lucid introduction to the techniques and concepts required to develop applications using WPF. If you have read other books and found your eyes glazing over because chapter two is an in depth discussion of the mechanism of dependency properties, then this is the book for you. Clear explanations of the whys and wherefores of styles, templates, resources and user controls as well as good advice on organising your projects. It probably won't be the only WPF book you'll need, and eventually you may want to understand all the internal plumbing, but this is the best place to start.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2011
I have always been a bit suspicious about learning something complicated in 24 hours, however this book gives a pretty good introduction to WPF. Throughout the book a few usable applications are build to demonstrate concepts. But most importantly, the book explains how the features of WPF effects how backend logic can (and should) be designed, especially with focus on the MVP (model-view-presenter) pattern. This is valuable information that should be known by anyone who wants to use WPF to make their frontend shine.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2013
As someone who has been programming for over twenty years professionally I found this book to be an excellent way to approach WPF.
As everyone mentions WPF is a steep learning curve and what this book does is to take you up that curve holding your hand all the way - by going through a number of projects explaining them along the way.

Don't be tempted to just read the book - do the exercises and projects and you will benefit enormously.

Most of the other WPF books are reference books - where this book excels is in the area of training you how to code with WPF by explaining things along the way.
This book also does a very good job at explaining the MVP pattern which it uses within projects in the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2011
This is a decent beginners book to WPF. The book focuses more on user interface design, which wasn't to my taste personally, and doesn't mention MVVM (does briefly discuss MVP). If you're an absolute beginner and just want to get a little more comfortable using WPF without diving into too much of anything, then this will be good for you. Otherwise, I'd look elsewhere.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2015
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2011
I could not get hold of the sample codes.
Links to web sites were invalid.
This has wasted a lot of my time.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)