Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
24
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.84

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2014
I don't usually do book reviews, and when I do, it's usually because they're so bad I feel a duty to warn others off. Not in this case! This SG1 novel is nothing short of superb. I've read them all, and this is undoubtedly the best to date. The authors capture the characterisations spot-on, you can hear the characters in your head and they sound absolutely right. We're immediately thrown into a crisis, with a team member seriously wounded, and things only get more tense from there.

With the team stranded in an unknown location, Jack is under intense pressure to get back to the SGC to meet with the Tollan, and stop Earth's allies abandoning her. Set between 100 Days and Shades of Grey, Jack is not on the best of terms with his team, and the cracks are showing when he can't reveal his upcoming undercover mission to root out the SGC traitor. So we think we know what's going on. A cracking adventure follows, and as the end of the book approaches, you wonder how things can possibly turn out well when it all looks so grim.

Then 97% of the way through, comes The Twist. And it's a corker. Not *entirely* original to anyone familiar with the wider SF genre, but nonetheless, a corker. The ending that follows close on its heels is both literally devastating, and entirely in character. Be warned - it's also a cliff-hanger of monumental proportions!

I look forward to the second book in this series with great impatience!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
Loved this story started and finished it in one sitting. The story is well thought out. There is a twist and the ending is great. I love how the authors have taken an episode from the series and looked at a what if this happened instead.
This is one of the best Stargate SG1 novels i have read in a while.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
Hostile Ground Apocalypse 1 is a companion book to the Stargate SG-1 TV series and is set after the TV episode called Stargate SG-1: One Hundred Days, for fans who like to ground themselves in the story timelines.

SG-1 are on a mission, they are under heavy attack, Daniel has been seriously wounded and they are under heavy fire as they throw themselves through the gate radioing for immediate medical assistance. However when the gate shuts, they are not at the SGC they are on a cold lifeless planet with a war-torn gate, no DHD and a landscape which looks like an apocalypse struck.

They urgently need to get home for two reasons, Daniel's severe wound and the secret secondary mission that Jack O'Neill is running. There is a rogue mole in the SGC one tipping the balance of peace for Earth with her current allies the Tollan and the Asgard and Jack is the only one the aliens trust to find the truth.

As time runs out the team try to find signs of civilisation and help. They run into a primitive people with advanced weapons who speak of flesh eating snatchers, and rumours of a resistance. SG-1 head off in search of a dangerous enemy but one who might hold the key to opening the stargate.

An aerial dogfight reveals to SG-1 that the Goa'uld are fighting the snatchers, but SG-1's choice to help one of these creatures lands them in real hot water. They witness the eating habits of their new captors whilst held in their ship, only just managing to escape.

Their only hope now lies with the illusive Dix, rumoured to be first prime of Hecate, a minor system Lord. Should they trust the enemy?

Back at the SGC, with SG-1 missing, the alien alliances break down, the Asgard withdraw their protection and the mighty Goa'uld plan to over-run planet Earth.

Wow! So much going on and all very believable, love the appearance of Maybourne, he can always be relied upon to stir things up. I could just imagine the on-screen characters acting and talking in exactly the way they are portrayed in this book. Fans of the series will soon recognise the flesh eating zombies, I for one was ready to shout at them from the side-lines about who they were. This book ends on a cliff-hanger just like some of the TV series, but luckily I have the next book lined up so I don't have to wait a week for the story to be continued.....(continue the story yourself in "Exile")

This review is based on a free copy of the book given to me by the author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
This is the best SG-1 story in a while! The banter and interaction as the team deals with the fallout of 100 Days and the approaching storm of a fracturing alliance keeps its pace the whole way through, and the final chapter contained a twist few will see coming. Can't wait for the next book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
I'm in tears. Such an incredible twist. At least I know SG1 and, more specifically, Daniel, are reasonably safe but, without giving the story away, it's a credible AU. Thank you for a great adventure, Sally and Laura, can't wait for the next one!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
Amazing story.

As I read it, I noticed I was getting close to the end and was wondering how it could reach a conclusion with the few pages remaining.

When I reached that conclusion it was stunning - quite a shock! I can't really say any more without giving the story away. However, definitely worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
Jack, Sam, Daniel and Teal'c sprint forth on another adventure involving Stargate travel, Goa'ulds (that's Snakeheads for fans of Jack O'Neill) and the rather nasty sounding Amam who think of humans as little more than a tasty snack to feast on.

Daniel is injured and the team are forced to dial up the Stargate and get out quickly. Carter dials whilst under fire and they all get through the other side expecting to see Stargate Command but instead they end up on a planet which looks like it is post-nuclear war and realise Carter must have misdialed. The planet has no way for them to dial back home and so their only choice is to venture deeper into the land and look for help. They find a people who are just surviving, barely seeming to know where they came from and who they are, but there is hope in the form of the resistance and a leader called Dix. First they just have to find him.

My other half and I have read enough sci-fi to know how difficult writing a good novel for this sort of franchise is and Sally and Laura do an excellent job with this Stargate SG1 adventure. My only gripe is that Jack and Sam STILL aren't together...*hint hint* Sally ;-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
Good book. The ending absolutely floored me, didn't see that coming, and kept thinking about it for a while. Bit drawn out in places, and i found myself skipping bits that didn't add to the story, in my opinion, just elongated it unnecessarily. Nevertheless would recommend as a good stargate read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
I chose this rating because the author's have managed to capture the very essence of the characters. The story is well written an laid out. I like the emotion and feel
that was captured. I enjoyed the book in its entirety and can't wait for more in the series.
In fact I struggle to find another SG-1 book that is as good as this one.

Thanks to the author's for this journey into this epic tale.
Time to see what more is on offer.

I recommend this to all stargate fans...
Fantastic book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
I finished this this morning and I was very surprised at the ending, like everyone else who has read this. If you like a touch of AU and a bit of SGA, then read this. If you don't like either, then still read this, as you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse