Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2015
Pretty bad book to be honest. I could have written most of that with almost no knowledge of the language. I'd probably make less mistakes too.
Either this was a quick and dirty attempt at making money from a language book or the author and publishers had little to no attempt at looking for errors and checking readability.
I can't tell if it is because I have the Kindle copy, but the use of accents to show the stress on words is just horrible. It separates the words up and makes it very very difficult to read.
There are much better books out there to learn something from. This is a glorified phrase book. The only way you could learn something from this in 7 days is if you had a photographic memory - and if you did, you'll have just learnt a lot of mistakes. Look elsewhere!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
You're expected to learn the Cyrillic alphabet and learn to read Russian and, more importantly, to pronounce Russian words (hopeless without a CD) in 7 days? I think there has to be a reality check here. There are better books which provide a good introduction to speaking Russian, but this isn't one of them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
We had a Russian guest in work, no one knew how we can communicate with him, he did not speak English and we did not know Russian. why buy this book: to surprise him. we learned the basics and we charm him and had a exclente time. It is an excellent book! I recommend it to all those who have little time to learn Russian
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2014
This is a very nice crash course in Russian on the whole, but it's in dire need of being proofread. The writer's grammar is poor when describing things, which can be forgiven, because we already speak English - but some of the translations between Russian and English are woefully incorrect too. For example there is a table about a 5th of the way into the book with translations for who, where, when, why etc - all the translations are jumbled.

However it is otherwise a nice and accessible course, so I'd simply recommend that if you choose this book, do another course along side it, or at the very least, run everything through a translator to double check it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2016
How can anybody learn a language in 7 days? It is impossible.

Dagny Taggart is a fake.

A recent article in The Washington Post exposes Taggart to be an Argentinian male named Alexis Pablo Marrocco. But he didn't write this book himself -- he contracted it out -- just as he did the other 84 books he has "written" in the past year; one book every five days. Then he paid people to write five star reviews

All of Taggart's books are reported to be full of mistakes.

Apparently Amazon didn't check him out.

This all came to light when a real author, Goans314, published a rant about Taggart in the forum /r/books on Reddit.

I have to give it a star rating to get this published, but it clearly is not worth even the one star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
My partner (who has a degree in Russian) pointed out that the translation for "I speak a little russian" is written as " I speak a liitle spanish", not a massive error but it seems poorly done, especially when you consider that the authors other books are in spanish, i suspect a copy and paste job.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
Author Dagny Taggart, who is a language enthusiast and polyglot, asks the reader to imagine yourself as the captain of your vessel. It is a life raft, small, but capable. In time, you can build it (your Russian) into a fully fledged ship (metaphorically speaking)! Taggart is offering a 7 day crash course. You get the nitty gritty. Words and phrases that will help you to survive, or maybe even just enough to help you (an absolute beginner) achieve your linguistic goals.

Will it work for you?

I believe it will if you are willing to accept yourself as an absolute beginner, little more than a baby, and trusting Taggart to have given you the phonetic sounds faithfully transcribed so that your pronunciation will be comprehensible (not perfect). In the end, this book is all about your tolerance of ambiguity, not knowing where your language learning will take you, but willing to give it a go in a hurry. You are the captain, you are the master of your language learning goals. In the final analysis, it's all about you, and not about Taggart. Highly recommended for those people who desperately need to achieve the impossible, to reach the unreachable star, to learn Russian in 7 days. You can do it.

Reviewed by Thomas Jerome Baker
Author of "How To Coach A Debate Team"
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
Lots of interesting stuff, however i believe this is a copy paste job, there are things in here in Spanish by accident as if they were translating it as they go.

Great otherwise for some quick learning, gets you interested fast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2014
This Russian learning method is not the best but will give you a lot of good stuffs to learn faster. However, of course you'll not be able to speak Russian in 7 days (even in one month... ).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
Lots to learn, a little hard to understand in places.
But good to start learning
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)