Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
15
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2017
"Anya's Story and Moscow Dreams" (Russian Historical Fiction) Kindle Edition
by Julia Gousseva. Against a backdrop of Russia in the 1990s and the Russian Northern Fleet's submarine tragedies comes this duology of a Russian girl's coming of age. As the Soviet Union falls and societal chaos makes paupers of some and millionaires of others, Anya finds love and fear, hope and strength. This two-book set is well written, thoughtful, and full of the realism that only an eye-witness to such events can impart. Read this book for its political and societal commentary, or for its wonderful story, or both. You won't be disappointed, particularly now, with the upheaval;s in Russia today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
Anya’s Story is an interesting story about Anya, a seventeen-year-old living in Russia. She struggles with life, love, and betrayal. This is a well-written remarkable book.

What makes this particularly interesting to me is this story takes place with the historical backdrop of the Gorbachev years and the dissolution of the old Soviet system.

Moscow Dream continues the story of Anya. She falls in love while Russia goes through dramatic changes. Both of these books are fascinating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
What a great way to combine a deep insight to the Russian culture in this wonderful fictional love story of two young people in love. “Anya’s story captured my interest from the start with the detailed and well written description of the Russian history. The story is set at a time when the country’s future is unsure. And here is lovely Anya coming of age with her somewhat old fashion expectation for a secure lifestyle, finding strength through all the turbulent and confusion. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
This is a gripping coming of age story that makes history exciting. The back drop is Russia and the author has certainly done her research. The heroine is complex and the plot is rich and deep. A great story on many levels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
As I'm watching the Olympics, I'm finding myself more and more interested in everyday life in Russia, away from politics and big global issues. I just want to know how people live. The two novels in this collection provide some great insights into lives of two young women. One novel is set in Moscow at the time of 1991 coup; the other takes place near Murmansk, on a submarine base.
Highly recommend. Five stars!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
This was my first read from author Julia Gousseva. I had not much knowledge of Russia’s history and the fall of the Soviet Union. Here is an author who lived the life and knows her craft to tell the tale of Anya and her life during a turbulent era, especially amongst the Russian coup. Her life as an army wife living on a military base was fascinating. She loved Victor enough to put up with the kind of lifestyle that went along with his position at that time. I think she was a strong woman. This novel has sparked my interest into learning more about that time period. I must also comment on how smooth the story flowed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
Moscow Dreams & Anya's Story (Russian History Stories) by Julia Gousseva

A Russian story that is descriptive, thought provoking and touches on emotional heart-felt events.

Anya's Story is a beautifully written historical fictional work which feels to touch on real life events and experiences. The sensuous and evocative writing of the main character is strong, developed and leads to a gripping story.

A well-written, lovely and atmospheric novel will grip readers throughout the pages of this great book.

Both books are excellent.

Super 5***** Pick this one up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
What a wonderful set of novels at this price. Both books are an astute look into the volatile period of Russian history. "Anya's Story" had me hooked by the first exciting chapter. I'm not one to give out spoilers, so I'll just say it's filled with drama, love, history, a tale of a young woman's coming of age journey. "The Russian Northern Fleet", was quite fascinating with submarines, drama, and if you want to learn more about the Soviet Union, you can't miss this excellent set. I am a fan of Julia Gousseva's works and looking forward to more from this brilliant author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
I have read and reviewed these two books separately but wanted to give a shout out to this cool box set. Both books vividly portray a changing Russia / and East vs West relations - via a coming of age story about a young Soviet girl who decides to change her life for the better. The evocation of time and place is faultless and the cumulative details make for a moving, authentic read. Anya's story ultimately transcends the historical context and becomes a powerful female narrative. Recommended to anyone who appreciates a good story about human (especially female) triumph over adversity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2017
Anya and Victor's story is an emotional one, being set in a time where Russia was making a veritable transformation and social standards were not what they seemed. This is an insightful fictional story with mouth-watering historical elements. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse