Yuriy Gurzhy (Russendisko... has been added to your Basket

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
& FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20.00. Details
Sold by: Fulfillment Express
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Yuriy Gurzhy (Russendisko) & Phil Meadley Present Eastern Bloc Funk Experience

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £7.07 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
17 new from £5.70 3 used from £16.71
£7.07 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 3 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Frequently Bought Together

  • Yuriy Gurzhy (Russendisko) & Phil Meadley Present Eastern Bloc Funk Experience
  • +
  • Rickard Masip Pres. Scandinavian Funk Experience
  • +
  • Big Bang Present Italo Funk Experience
Total price: £23.81
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (27 Feb. 2012)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Nascente
  • ASIN: B006LZC6WI
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 160,456 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Zloto Stu Slonc - Grupa Bluesowa Stodola
  2. Agent 008 - Zesp
  3. Hochzeitsnacht - Uschi Bruning
  4. Igraj Sa Njom - Ljubomir Sedlar
  5. Za Gór Gór - Gra yna Lobaszewska & Ergo Band
  6. Disco King - Centrum
  7. Gorila - Misa Blam
  8. Sluchaj Rytmu - Breakout
  9. Ne Haragudj Rám - Skorpio
  10. Coda - Czerwone Gitary
  11. Powrót - Andrzej Dabrowski & Zesp
  12. Tak Dej Se K Nám a Projdem Sv T - Marta Kubisova
  13. Definitivní Konec - The Rebels
  14. Fekete Beat - Sarolta Zalatnay
  15. Ko Vjecnu Tugu Nosi - Pro Arte
  16. Nehéz Fiúk - Neoton

Product Description

Product Description

Psych-funk, satellite soul, and cold war disco...

Rare & obscure funky licks from the ex-Soviet Bloc including Hungary, Poland, the Czech Republic, ex-Yugoslaiva and the German Democratic Republic.

Features Herbie Hancock style funk workouts, psychedelic sixties pop, prog-disco, satellite-soul and
Hendrix style funk rock from some of the biggest names in these countries during the 60s & 70s.

The Iron Curtain may have isolated these states from the rest-of-the-world yet whether slipped under
the curtain as illicit imports or manufactured in limited quantities and released domestically, records
by artists such as James Brown, Average White Band and Graham Central Station found their way to
this part of the world.

In the 60s and 70s the Eastern Bloc countries had no shortage of talented musicians hungry to experiment with these new funky sounds they were hearing and Eastern Bloc Funk Experience collects together tracks from these pioneering musicians.

Whether it s string-laden cinematic grooves, synth and guitar heavy psych-funk, jazz-tinged rare-grooves
or whacked-out funky disco, Eastern Bloc Funk Experience shines a light on these new kids from the eastern bloc .

About the Artist

1 Grupa Bluesowa Stodola Zloto stu slonc
2 Zesp Agent 008
3 Uschi Bruning Hochzeitsnacht
4 Ljubomir Sedlar Igraj sa njom
5 Gra yna obaszewska & Ergo Band
Za gór gór
6 Centrum Disco king
7 Misa Blam Gorila
8 Breakout S uchaj rytmu
9 Skorpio Ne haragudj rám
10 Czerwone Gitary Coda
11 Andrzej Dabrowski & Zesp Powrót
12 Marta Kubisova Tak dej se k nám a
projdem sv t
13 The Rebels Definitivní konec
14 Sarolta Zalatnay Fekete beat
15 Pro Arte Ko vjecnu tugu nosi
16 Neoton Nehéz fiúk

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This 2011 released CD on Nascente (Demon Music Group) which forms part of their Funk Experience series this time compile funk music that was released from nations that were ruled by Communist dictators, those nations that get a look in are Poland, East Germany, Yugoslavia, Hungary and Czechoslovakia.

The music is not straight forward Funk, it's mixed with Disco, Jazz Fusion, Psychedelic Rock, Progressive Rock and Soul, as for the tracks Yuriy Gurzhy and Phil Meadley chose the best tracks that anyone would want in a compilation, there is not a dud track in sight, after one spin it blew my mind.

As for the sleeve notes Phil Meadley commentates on each track, he also spoke to the artists but most notably he tells you in detail what the regimes were like to their people and what impact it had on the artists featured on here, there is a slight credit flaw, the excellent "Agent 008" track was released by the Jazz Funk Polish band Piotr Figiel Ensemble not by Zesp.

Even if you do not understand what they are singing about on these songs let alone pronounce the song titles and some of the artists names if you like the kind of genre on this CD I very much highly recommend you purchase this,
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Customer Discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?