Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • Run
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
46
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.03


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2017
The premise of this book is fascinating and it started really well despite a good deal of Catholic religion, which is really not my thing.
Two grown up adopted brothers have been watched closely, Unknown to them, by their birth Mother and her young daughter.
One snowy night they meet up in an unconventional way.
The trouble was all the characters were one dimensional and the author made that fatal mistake of only having a single outstanding trait that had to be mentioned every time the character was brought into the story.
Then it started to get more absurd and trashy and therefore had a very dull and disappointing ending. I am surprised I stayed with it
I am even more surprised this author has won prizes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
Run is an unlikely but somehow entirely credible story about an unusual family. An excellent narrative, brilliantly written, with new information revealed gradually over the entirety of the book. I loved it, even though I thought the ending too abrupt - perhaps because I wanted the book to go on and on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
Avery good read that develops momentum and envelopes the reader in its web of interesting relationship. Thoroughly worth while. Recommend this book
Sue Harries
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
I bought this after having read Bel Canto by the same author. This was very disappointing. Not in the same class at all, I was bored by the fourth page and it was a struggle to finish the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
A wonderfully drawn study of family relationships - I didn't want to finish it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Run is one of the most satisfying family novels I've read in some time. I was very impressed by the many ways that Ann Patchett gently portrayed love among family members within a smooth, comfortable story-telling flow. At another level, the book provides a subtle allegory for the ways that God's love is portrayed in the New Testament. The writing shines with a caring outlook for everyone that provided me with much joy, even among the sadness that will be any reader's natural reaction to parts of the book.

What is a family? Most people define that as a mother and father and some kids. Those from cultures where extended families are more important will include grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins. Ann Patchett clearly feels that wherever the family feeling is present there is a family. The book will give you much room for thought on that point.

Bernard Doyle and his sons aren't typical in some ways of most nuclear families, but in other ways they are. Sullivan is Bernard's oldest son, the surviving memory of his great love for his deceased wife, Bernadette. Wanting a larger family than God gave them biologically, Bernard and Bernadette sought to adopt. Because they didn't specify sex or race, a beautiful African-American baby boy, Teddy, joined the family. In an unexpected surprise, Teddy's mother asked if the Doyles would like to also adopt Teddy's brother, Tip. They did and the family was blessed with one more son.

Bernard had three loves, his political career in Boston (which led him to become mayor), his wife, and his boys. But due to Bernadette's death, his loves fell to two areas . . . and then to one as his political career evaporated. But he still wanted political success for his sons, much like Joe Kennedy once plotted for Joe Jr., Jack, Bobby, and Teddy.

But like all sons, the three boys developed loves of their own, none of which included politics. As the book opens, that tug of war is illustrated by a missing Sullivan, Tip reluctantly leaving his fish specimens at Harvard, and Teddy absent-mindedly leaving his priest uncle's side to join their father at a talk by Jesse Jackson at Harvard.

You can see their future spread out ahead of them . . . as they will inevitably grow further apart. But fate steps in, and none of them will ever be the same.

I felt like Run is one of the best new novels of 2007, and I definitely encourage you to read and enjoy it. I couldn't put the book down and didn't finish it until 1:27 last night. The character development is wonderfully done, even for the characters on which the story pays less attention like brother Sullivan and Father Sullivan. You'll feel like you know and like these people. What could be nicer?

After you read the book, ask yourself where and what you would be willing to sacrifice for those you love.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2008
Run is a story of a family, like many families today, it is inclusive and self-defined, rather than biological. Patchett clear-eyed examination of love, loss, jealousy, religion, expectations, guilt, and compromise is a complete joy.

All the characters are fully formed,complex, real characters, struggling with their lives and getting it part right and part wrong and you love them all the more for their foibles and mistakes.

The narrative flows beautifully and the writing is fantastic. Although this is a book that deals with this loss, it is an uplifting book, because it is about a family that finds a way of loving each other with out destroying each other, through the catalyst of a young girl called Kenya.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2010
A tender, lovely book, about Bernard & Bernardette Doyle who, after the birth of their son Sullivan are unable to have more children and decide to adopt. Teddy, an African-American infant is therefore welcomed into their family with open arms and soon after his older brother Tip joins the family too, much to their delight. Everything seems to be perfect until Bernardette dies prematurely.

Bernard finds himself to raise the three boys alone. He is very protective and has plans for them, however between his politically-oriented job and raising the family by himself, as the kids grow up some strain starts to develop between them. Sullivan, much older than Tip & Teddy, moves out very quickly and resurfaces only every now & then.

One snowy night, a stranger passing by with her daughter saves Tip from an accident, but she ends up badly injured. The Doyle's lives shall change forever after the accident.

My first book by Ann Patchett but I shall read more. The prose flows beautifully, despite the intricate backs & forths from past to present, from character to character. This shifting however is uncomplicated and it adds an interesting touch to the narrative style.
I gave it 4 stars (instead of 5) only because, despite my liking it a lot, I found some situations a bit far-fetched, and some of the characters with a goody-goody quality that I found a bit unreal given the circumstances.
All in all however, I would say that this book is quite a page-turner and I would certainly recommend it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2007
When this novel begins with the story of a statue that has been in Bernadette's family for several generations, we can already predict that this book is a winner. We can already see that Patchett's narration is flawless and has a rhythm that keeps us mesmerized until the tale is complete. In a sense, reading about the statue, I felt like a five-year old listening to a bedtime story read by grandma. And then the "real" story begins, and luckily we see our expectations completely fulfilled.

Years ago, Bernadette and Bernard Doyle had a son and wanted to surround him with siblings; but they were having trouble to conceive. Thus, they decided to adopt a baby. But fate had determined that they got two babies instead, a newly born and his thirteen-month-old brother, who the Doyle's named Teddy and Tip respectively. This event brought bliss to the family and this status quo remained the same until four years later, when the men were left all alone, to fend off by themselves.

Nowadays, Tip is fully committed to being an ichthyologist and cannot stay away from his fish, and Teddy is following his uncle's example and exploring faith and religion. This is not what former mayor Doyle had in mind for his sons, since he has always hoped to see them succeed in politics. Now Doyle is trying to take advantage of his last chance to exert parental pressure and is dragging his sons to a Jesse Jackson speech. As they come out of the venue after the speech, Tip and Bernard get in an argument in the middle of a snow storm, an event that will change their lives forever.

Have you ever noticed that when you go against your parent's advice something usually goes wrong? Even if it is not directly related to the matter at hand. This case is no different, and Tip is almost run over by a car, only to be saved by a woman who pushes him out of the way and takes the hit instead. And this is the catalyst of a series of events that will shake every belief the brothers had and that will change their lives forever.

There are many aspects to praise in Patchett's writing, but I think that the most important one is how well she works at character development. By the end of this novel you will feel like you know the motivations, dreams and fears of each and every one of the characters involved in the story. Also, the way in which the author shares the character's thoughts is unusual and refreshing. In most books the character's thoughts are directly related to the situation at hand, but if you think about it, this is not how reality works. How many times do you find your mind wandering and you start thinking about events unrelated to what you are going through at the time? This is what the author allows her characters to do, which gives them an added dimension and makes them more real to the reader.

This is a novel that has an enthralling plot, involving many secrets that Patchett reveals in layers, as if she was peeling an onion. But on top of that, the writing is so inspiring, that even when we figured out one of these secrets, we will get goosebumps when the truth is finally revealed in the beautiful prose. This is the first novel I have read by this author, but I have made the firm commitment to go back and visit her previous works. Her ability with the pen has to be present in those other novels too. I recommend this book without reservations!
11 Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"His soul swooned slowly as he heard the snow falling faintly through the universe and faintly falling; like the descent of their last end, upon all the living and the dead." James Joyce 'The Dead'

Ann Patchett has written her sixth book in the framework of a family and how the end justify the means. Each character is a study in love and the affection they have for each other. The gifts that are given by these people to each other is overflowing with meaning.

Doyle, an ex-mayor of Boston had given up his office, voluntarily, but in the realm of disgrace. His profession in politics was his love, and he had hoped that one of his sons would follow in his footsteps. On this cold winter's night he brings his two younger sons, Tip and Teddy to hear Jesse Jackson. Doyle's hope was that Jesse would put the 'fire' of politics in one of his sons. Tip and Teddy had been adopted as infants. Doyle and his wife, Bernadette had one son, Sullivan, and wanted more, and when the chance to adopt a black baby came they grabbed it. They then found his brother, 14 months old was also available, and their family became complete, or almost. Within a short period of time, Bernadette, the love of Doyle's life, became ill with cancer and subsequently died. Doyle was left to bring up the boys on his own.

On this night, Tip who goes to Harvard and is studying Ichthyology finally becomes tired of Doyle pushing his political preference in his face, and he starts an arguement with Doyle. It becomes more heated than either wanted, and Tip turns to go and walks in front of an on-coming car.
He is saved by a black woman who pushes him out of the way. She is injured and rushed to the hospital. Not knowing the extent of her injuries as of yet, Doyle volunteers to care for the woman's young daughter. A full family at best. Now the issues of the past come to haunt the entire family, and some answers must be found. Tip and Teddy must come to terms with their past. And, Doyle must answer to his children.

The life we lead is sometimes not what we think it is. The past may come to haunt us and decisions made for us and before us may not be what we want. Ann Patchett has the ability of taking a simple plot and making it into something it is not. The family and its center is the important aspect of her writing. This book was simplistic in plot, and the message was easy to grasp. It is a good novel, not one of her best, but enjoyable. After 'Bel Canto' the expectations were very high. There is something missing here and the plot though well devised is not as satisfying. But Ann Patchett's writing makes up for any deficit in plot- she is glorious in her use of the written word. Much to be admired.

Recommended. prisrob 05-27-13
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse